Harrison, OH 
Miami Whitewater Forest Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Marker



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Great 9-hole-r

2-4    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a beautiful park that offers a wide variety of activities for the entire family. The holes are designed as though someone were installing a 9 hole ball golf course. There are many mounds on each hole that adds a distinct feeling to the course. It feels better for some odd reason to have manicured grass fairways, well trimmed trees, and mounds highlighting the fairways.

5 of the 9 holes are over 300 feet and one is 400 on the nose. This...in my opinion makes it a little long for beginners...but the tee signs show these as being Par 5's so I guess it doesn't bruise their egos that much.

In my oh so humble opinion....Ohio women rank almost dead last in the looks department..however, this course had me quickly re-evaluating my thinking. The women that rollerblade, walk their dogs, fitness trail....whatever...all had me and my friends straining our necks. This course is notorious for having some sights.
Cons: The baskets are single chain and a little worse for wear. Hitting an ace here is pretty difficult since you need to have the disc actually stay in when it hits. Most 20ft putts stay in..but if you put too much juice on it...it is popping out.

For local tournaments we add 9 temp holes...this course is a beautiful 9 holes..and there are thousands of acres here...so why not a full 18?
Other Thoughts: There are clean restrooms, a snack bar with hotdogs, gatoraid, cokes, candy bars, chips, whatever...even a little soft serve ice cream to settle bets made during the rounds. The Hamilton County Parks Department takes very good care of this park...and it shows.

If you have a $5/yr parks pass that is good at other area parks...you don't even think of pay to play...but since out of towners don't have a parks pass....$2 to play a 9 holer may be too much to ask.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    6/15/2008   2/10/2009
Review By: eck_03
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 Holes with a decent distance between tee and basket.
Nice setting with enough traffic in the area to help find discs.
Quick to play with great facilities near by.
Well kept course that is great for beginners/intermediate.
Cons: The course is not heavily wooded, so be prepared with water or play in the morning/late evening.
Sometimes on hole 9 the grass on the right side can be high and full of thorns, be careful.
Other Thoughts: The course is great for beginners to start on, it is forgiving with a lot of buffer space between the obstacles and the fairway. I have never seen anyone lose a disc here.
I love to make a day out of this by taking my bike up to the 8 mile trail that is available and then stopping and discing in the afternoon.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Engraved Tee Maps

7/27/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Detailed engraved stone tee signs
The tee signs showed exactly where the basket is located with distinguishing landmarks.
Map at the beginning of course and tees easily located - good flow
Beginner friendly-one family of first time disc golfers followed me
Fairways mowed and well kept
Use of knolls and a few trees to partially conceal some baskets
Cons:
Must pay two dollars to enter the park . Park has lake with paddle boats and fishing boats that can be rented. It also has a playground, bike trail, and campground nearby which was full the last weekend in July.
The course was somewhat crowded with campers, but I was still able to complete the course in 45 minutes.
The baskets were surrounded with asphalt rather than mulch so you could possibly scuff a low grade disc.
May want to use a soft putter since the baskets are worn.
Some holes easily birdied
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed it for a nine hole course. It's a great place to introduce a beginner to the sport.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 baskets from the 70's

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you have a solid back hand and forehand course is very easy, after the first 3 last 6 are just back and forth which makes it a nice course to practice...also course is not crowded
Cons: pay to play especially since money will not go to new baskets, easy, broken/bent/ugly baskets

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 baskets need replaced

3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: LANGDON
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice back and forth lay out quick play
Cons: pay to play (unless you have the annual park pass), pretty short and open. baskets are the worst i have ever seen or played. sporadic height, single chain set-up, bent rims, the worst ever.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.