Suffield/Kent, OH 
Mulligan Springs Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 1/2008)
Sign by entrance drive



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Uniquely Entertaining

1    11/21/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~One of a kind baskets and tee signs
~Imaginative layout
~Well manicured course
~First and last holes form a close loop
~Clubhouse for beverages and food.
~Good mix of holes
Cons:
~Shared use with golfers (recommend playing during the off season)
~Home made baskets can be unforgiving when putting
~Layout is a bit choppy, bring a map
Other Thoughts:
Played an afternoon Autumn round. Only one pair of golfers in a cart ahead of me the entire time so I was fortunate to not have to worry about the paying customers. This course is insanely fun with home made baskets and tee signs. Imaginative layout that seizes full use of the land. Intermingled amongst a small par three golf course most of the disc golf holes coincide with the ball golf, but do not directly follow them either. Numerous small ponds are sprinkled around the entire course providing small occurrences of finding the drink, however decent skill removes most chances of a wet disc. Minimal elevation is present. Hole 8 was pulled during my visit, hopefully it will be reinstalled. Great use of trees, angles, water, and a mixture of distances keep it interesting. Hole 10 finishes right behind 1 allowing you to keep going until your content. Fairway driver is all you need to hit distances for birdie chances. With Wingfoot close by, this course is a must visit and would provide a worthy destination for playing both. Recommended for it's ingenuity and uniqueness.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Was a fun day

2-4    2/13/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking. As you pull in, drive past the Clubhouse and continue around the bend in the road and park at hole #1.
- Pavilions/benches around back of the Clubhouse, with bathrooms and food inside during the ball golfing season
- Full bar at the Clubhouse!
- If you are a golfer, you could easily make a day of playing ball and disc golf
- There is no 'Disc Golf' sign at the entrance, but turn into the driveway with the Mulligan Springs Par 3 Golf - Pub sign.
- The map is very accurate and helpful
- The tee signs are very unique and well done
- The baskets are in great shape and have a very unique look to them as well
- The scenery and landscape are very pretty and manicured as expected on a golf course
- I have not been there during a golfing season, however, I have heard that there is only light traffic on this course by disc golfers and ball golfers.
- There are trashcans at the Clubhouse and the course is very clean
- There is no vandalism
- The distances on this course is simply average. For the average arm, much of the course will be your max distance drives. For the big arm, this course only has one challenging hole, #5, that you may not be able to reach the basket on your drive.
- This course is fairly flat overall but #1, #5 & #10 sit on a hill and provide some fun elevation
- The water is everywhere! Plan your shot carefully! The water really adds to this course and may even scare the big arms into playing it safe.
Cons: - Course is located on a ball golf course. It is free to disc golf, but playing ball golfers would have the right-of-way.
- Because of the flow of this course, tee signs with basket location would be very helpful. This course would be highly difficult to play for the first time without a map. Some Next Tee signs would be very helpful.
- The natural tees are in good condition but could really use some kickboards. The rating on this course would really jump much higher with a concrete tee makeover.
Other Thoughts: - The flow is neither a Pro or a Con. It goes in a circle but can be sporadic at times. For example, switching from hole #3 to #4 can be confusing because #4's tee is somewhat in #3's fairway. The walk between #4 to #5 is quit long. #7 tee can be difficult to find the first round you play there after finishing #6. But in the end, #10 does finish at #1 where the parking lot also is.
- I suggest only hitting this course in the winter. There are sure to be no golfers and most likely no disc golfers. There are water hazards for 5 holes and in the winter, on thick ice, it's easier to get your disc back.
- This is not a challenging course overall but it was fun to play. There were no really technical heavily wooded shots. Most were fairly open with maybe one or two obstacles to go around downrange.
- The most challenging hole is #6. Even after the second round I was still undecided on what path to take through the narrow tree entrance to the more open area where the basket is.
- My favorite hole is #7. It has a beautiful layout and I loved throwing out over the water to have it fade back at the basket.
- This not a destination course, but if you are in the area it's fine to stop and do a round. If you have never played disc golf on a golf course then I would suggest making the trip here just for the experience.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 H2O Considerations

1    6/28/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Map was very useful in navigating the course - an employee there who had never seen it commented it was quite accurate! As you might expect on a ball-golf course, it was very pretty, well-manicured, had an on-site clubhouse for bathroom and food access, etc.
Cons:
Every hole but #1 plays along/across/near the ball-golf greens/fairways/tees, and I'm assuming they, the paying customers, would have priority when the course is crowded.
Other Thoughts:
Water, in the form of small ponds, potentially comes into play on six of the ten holes, typically near the basket, except for #7, where it plays along your right-side the entire length of the hole. Course is quite flat, except for down-a-wooded-slope #1, elevated tee-position #5, and up-wooded-slope #10. Some holes I found particularly interesting were: #2, the most open path to the basket is a sweeping right-turner, but that brings the edge of a pond into play - do you go for it? #5 is fun, as you tee from the same elevated area as the ball golfers. It has a huge, open-n-flat fairway, with a row of trees running down the middle. The ball golfers go down the left half, while the disc golfers thrown down the right half. Both the ball golf green and the basket are about the same distance away.

The large, light-maroon "Frisbie #" signs that marked indicated the tee location were kinda unique. 18-hole ball-golf course just south of this course, so don't pull into their parking lot instead.

Despite losing my go-to driver, a Champ-Valk, on #9 when I threw too far and too right :-(, I really enjoyed this course and would certainly play it again if in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 snowy winter round

1    1/4/2010   1/4/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: impressed with the hole selections here, fun and challenging holes. Interesting pin locations. Baskets are red and home made but still work very well. Map REALLY helps! ty Eric. nice flow to the holes, and easy to find next hole. Water does not come into play for sure throwers. Was able to disc here although the golf course was not open. (parked at the gate and walked in)
Cons: Not long enough. Only 10 holes. Tee signs had no pin location map or distances. I'm sure discing here while people were golfing would not be fun as fairways overlap. 1, 5 and 10 are the only holes with real elevation changes. Some sure birdies and then some impossible birdies. In the middle of nowhere. Had to play three rounds to actually feel disc golf satisfaction.
Other Thoughts: DON'T GO IN THE WINTER! Lots of snow drifts make it easy to lose discs.Also, water hazards can look like greens and vice versa when frozen and snow covered.

I agree this place would be a fun spot for an event if ball golf course was closed and more holes added.

Overall, check it out if you are in the area. But not worth making a long trip.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is right on a nine hole ball course and is well maintained other then a few areas where they do not care much for the disc golfers. Hole five sits on top of a hill parallel to hole 3 for the ball golfers. if you look at the yards for the ball golfers it is 220 yards. That equates to 660 ft for us disc golfers. I would say that has to be at least a par 4. The rest could be a par 3. The lakes add to the beauty of the course.
Cons: You are no longer allowed to rent the carts. I was really bummed when I was told that the whole way up there I was looking forward to renting one because I never was on a cart for disc golf. Signs are marked where the tees are and you can see where to throw. Baskets are not too hard to find. The down fall is there is nothing telling you how far it is and no pars marked.
Other Thoughts: All in all I liked the course other then it was raining the whole time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/10/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This one is not a hard course, but more less a pratice course. The longest tee is 5 , and im gonna guess its well over 500ft. There are 2 hidden holes between 4 & 5 located in the woods. Looks like they were just thrown together in hurry. The setting is beautiful, The lakes Don't get in the way to much, unless you try to get cute....then i would worry.
Has a bar and grille and you can rent golf carts for 5 bucks
Cons: No tee pads.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cobbled together

7/25/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: basmith42
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes and (as mentioned before) cute signs. The grounds are well maintained and the facilities are good. Water and terrain make for a scenic course without really affecting play. Since the course is on a Par-3 Ball course, the holes look harder than they generally are.
Cons: Its on a plot of land that is a ball golf course first, a DG course second. This means the DG course is sandwiched in where holes can fit. Throwing across a DG fairway is annoying. Throwing across a golf ball fairway can be down right dangerous.
Other Thoughts: There is a club house for the golf course that had a full bar. This would be a good place for a DG event IF the ball course could be closed for the day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent ten holes

2-4    7/17/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Free to play on a manicured ball golf course that's very well maintained. #5 is a 500+ foot hole from the top of a large hill to a fairway down the middle with a line of trees; pretty cool hole. Water is in play on five holes, but never really directly in line to the basket, usually off to the sides to punish poor throws. The course plays around in a large circle, conveniently starting and ending at the rear parking lot. A nice mix of different holes.
Cons:
No course map available until I created one and posted it to DGCR. Cute tee signs but no distances or hole diagrams on them. Homemade baskets, although high quality (dual chain), lack that rewarding "ching" sound when you sink that putt. On the weekends the course is usually dominated by ball golfers who get preference, so plan to play during the week or be quick and dodge the golf balls. Abundant poison ivy.
Other Thoughts:
Check in at the office and just let them know you're playing "Frisbie" and you should get an "Okay".

This is actually a pretty well designed little course. But the lack of a map, informative tee signs, and preference to ball golf hurt it's rating. As a dedicated DG course it would rate higher.

There are ten official holes with the same style baskets and tee signs. I searched the woods and found one of the rumored other two baskets. Start from tee #5 and head back into the woods and you should find it behind the yellow and brown bench. It was a lesser (Mach II?) basket in a sea of poison ivy. There was no tee pad to speak of and unless you count an orange ribbon around a tree up the hill, but even then there was no real fairway to the basket. It didn't seem playable. So I stuck to the obvious 10 tee/baskets holes.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.