Jackson, TN
Muse Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 205ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/21/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: matsfort
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-There is a Practice area where you can warm up on your putting before heading to the first tee box.
-The holes are for the most part short but offer some challenging shots.
-Nice wooded course with signage pointing you to the next tee box.
Cons:
-While in a nice looking park, this course is not in a good part of town. Plan to be done well before dusk.
-Tee boxes are extremely small and several slope down making the drive dangerous in same areas..
-The only holes near the parking lot and restrooms are 1 and 18 and it is a long back.
Other Thoughts: This course should definitely be on your to play list. Approach shot is the name of this course and with the two different tee boxes on every hole, it should always be a fun and semi challenging course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    6/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well put together course. Most of the shots are marked well. Challenges for hand style throwing and some easy for both as well.
Cons: The signs are not great, they do the job just seems like they could be better. Some shots are very ... very easy which is good and bad I suppose.
Other Thoughts: All together a cool course. Not my Fav. but good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Actual fairways in the Woods!

1    3/24/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good 18 hole wooded course in nice city park. Every hole has mature, well-defined fairways (often times a rarity for wooded courses!) Each fairway is challenging, but wide enough to provide opportunity to make good shots (no pinball!) Most of the holes are short compared to today's modern standards, but elevation is used extremely well to add to the challenge. Also, if you happen to miss the fairway you can easily find your disc since the rough is not dense.

There were 2 sets of tees for each hole. Not just a long and short, but many times the other tees played from different angles helping to add more variety if you wanted to play 36.

There is a practice basket in the grassy island of the parking area. The "goalpost hole" is the signature hole and is a pretty cool hole.
Cons: The course does not come back to the parking area until hole 18, which is only a problem if you really have to go mid-round!

This is a nice course for your average course, but it lacks variety and length. It is not extremely difficult and may not be much of a challenge for the experienced disc golfer.
Other Thoughts: This course provides for many birdie opportunities. Restrooms, picnic tables, and playground close to hole 1/18.

This is one of the nicest and best courses of the shorter, wooded variety that I have played. It is very well-designed, mature, and well-kept making for a solid course. This is by no means an easy course. You still have to make shots and avoid trouble. It is worth a stop if you are going between Nashville and Memphis.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this course because it has multiple tee pads and each one gives you a different look. It's not like there is one farther back just to make it a harder three. Matter of fact, on the back nine, two or three of the Pro pads are closer significantly, but the overall line is harder. I wasn't expecting that, and it was a nice surprise. Almost every hole is in the woods, but the fairways are, for the most part, wide and forgiving. Not to say easy - the layout was used well and there are some pretty hard shots on this course. The only wide open just throw in a field hole is #9. My favorite hole was probably 15 - "Two Roads" it's called. It has two routes and each one makes it a totally different hole. I think this is one of the ones that the pro pad was closer than the am pad, but I can't swear to it. Just a really neat hole, and like most of the holes on this course, fun to play.
Cons: Here is the problem: The tee pads SUCK! They are short and instead of making them horizontally flat, they made them match the lay of the land. Some of them are on hillsides and they actually point down! I would not recommend playing this course any time after a rain. It's too bad too, because other than that, this course was really fun. I would have given it at least a 3.5, maybe a 4. Someone has thrown down some wood chips at the back of the pads, though, so you can start there. I have a smallish run up and I ran out of room every time!
Other Thoughts: A great little course! I really enjoyed it and if you're in the area, stop and play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course...but only "good"

1    3/24/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had multiple tees on many holes. Tee pads and baskets were in good condition. Fairways were well defined. Not sure how old the course is but it seemed as though it was very mature. Excellent use of elevation. There was not a lot of flat area on the course which added to the challenge. The course required a variety of shot shapes to score well. The "schule" is very minimal so losing a disc would tend to be rare on this course.
Cons: It was really short, with only 1 hole that I can remember in excess of 300 feet and that hole was essentially wide open and rather plain. I wouldn't consider this a "tight" course either as the fairways were rather wide. There really was no challenge here.
Other Thoughts: Muse Park is a nice course. It makes a great stop on the journey from Nashville to Memphis. I would almost classify it as "a poor-man's Richmond Hill". The pine needle-strewn fairways and hills gave the ambience of Richmond Hill. This course, however, is extremely short and not nearly as challenging. It was a nice place to play. I don't feel that it is on the level that others have placed it.

I did not let the following factor into my review, but I think it bears mentioning. I had to make a Bathroom stop at the park during my round. It happens. I really don't expect much from park restrooms as a rule of thumb. After "assuming the position" I began to sweat profusely..and then I realized that it felt like about 125 degrees in there. There is no ventilation of anykind in this bathroom. The day was a 70 degree day with gentle breezes, but not in the bathroom. I would dare say that on a hot day, the bathroom temp could reach 130. Add the swirling of smells that cannot be released and....it's just plain bad.

Again, I thought this was a nice course and rated it as a good course. I believe it is above average, but only slightly above average. That assessment comes from the excellent groundskeeping and course maintenance and overall lack of challenge. If this course were located in a larger city, a city with multiple course options, I don't think it would have the rave reviews it has been given. But it is the best place to play in Jackson, TN and is definitely worth the stop if you are passing through.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.