Jackson, TN 
Muse Park Share
Uploaded By: K_Woodcock Hole #8 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I was thoroughly aMUSEd

1    1/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) There are plenty of directionals to direct you to the red and the green tees. It is always helpful to see such helpful navigation on a course . . . especially with a one time travelling disc golfer.
2) Nice elevation changes on this park. There is so much variety and use of the elevation that you cannot feel like any holes were repetitive.
3) There is very little underbrush really close to the fairways. The woods are very clean and beautiful looking as well as naturally healthy.
4) There are some benches out on the course for people to sit down.
5) There also are some garbage cans to help keep the course a little cleaner. It is a beautiful park and I would hate to see this course look terrible because of trash.
6) Awesome property with a ton of mature trees.
7) There is an adequate variety of foliage density on this mostly wooded course.
8) Green tees are very much beginner friendly. They are almost all 100's and 200's.
9) The red tees are where you would like to play if you want more variety and more challenge. There is much more distance variation from the red tees and a whole lot more challenge.
10) The basket location next to the pond was one of the most unique things I have seen. The beauty and evilness of it, is that you cannot see the water behind the basket (literally 5 feet) until you climb the hill, so the ideal shot is to leave your disc below the hill and putt up, or to miss to the side so you can take a putt without fear of ending in the water. I am unsure if it plays as OB, but if it does, it is sadistic!
11) This course is a lot of fun to throw. The holes are short enough that they have a lot of fun factor. You have some real ace chances and then there are plenty of holes where you will curse the first tree.
Cons: 1) This course looks like it could just use some volunteer help to take its maintenance up a notch. Mulch could be spread in places, sticks and logs could be moved, etc. It is far from bad, but a little volunteer help could take this course up a notch. Perhaps my timing was bad like if a recent storm had come through and left the course in its current condition. It is also the off-season so perhaps the volunteers just don't work much this time of year. Either way the conditioning could have been a little better than when I played.
2) There are some seriously dangerous areas where tees are very close to basket locations.
3) The concrete tees are a little small and many of them have settled creating some awkward tee areas.
4) There were no scorecards in the container by the 2nd tee. I hate it when amenities are put out there and not kept up.
5) The variety is not all that great . . . it is almost completely in the woods. While I prefer wooded to non-wooded holes, I do like variety better. There just wasn't enough variety in foliage density on this course.
Other Thoughts: All in all I was very happy I chose this route through Jackson as opposed to the extra driving I would have had to go through Memphis. I know there are good courses in Memphis, but this course coupled with my stop at Tombigbee in Tupelo was a nice exchange. I feel like the course and the disc golf portion of my rating is at least a 4 disc rating. The maintenance (compaction and erosion) along with the few safety issues here are enough to keep the rating below a 4 disc rating. I am giving it a 3.75 overall but it could easily be raised to a 4.0 disc with just a few alterations and maintenance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Short Technical

5+    6/24/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: kmvailes
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard narrow shots Lots of variety of shots required. Lots of shade. Water at various spots along the way. Holes are well marked.
Cons: Not overly long. Bring some bug spray. Lots of trees down from a recent storm. Course map is different on a number of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Jackson. Can be kinda dodgy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: Mark Kelley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I really like the variety in holes. It was a great course.
Cons: some heavy traffic areas with cars. It is not in the greatest part of the city.
Other Thoughts: Very well marked and has two different tee boxes for each hole.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 very good technical course

2-4    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very nice and scenic area. away from major roads and such making it a very quite little area. trees made for a nice challenge. the signs at each hole were very nicely done and very informative. not much wind can get in because of the many trees. also makes for a nice walk through the woods with many terrain changes. great for players with shorter range and younger players.
Cons: tee boxes are rough, small, and uneven. can get slippery if it rains. lots of brush... easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: if you like short range and more technical holes, go here. nothing over par 3 though. good for some exercise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 solid all but the concrete

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Man, where do I start. Well hole one.
Nice short hyzer that starts out open and closes up real quick-like. #2 is a putter shot that should be so easy. It's not.
You have everything here but water shots. You have extreme left shots and flick hyzer nightmares. You have downhill and uphill shots. Tunnel shots and overhead shots. Low ceiling and high hyzers. All put together makes this a pleasure to play.There were water faucets and bathrooms at the park. Restuarants were 5 minutes away.
Very clean nice park.
Cons: Concrete pads are uneven/out of level/too short. Fix this and you have a 4.5 out of me.
The out of bounds was hard to understand. I never saw the brush pile.
My buddy had a touch of poison ivy and some mosquitos were bothering me.
Other Thoughts: Green tees are a pleasure and while some are very hard, making a three is pretty common. Some of the holes from the red tees were easier but the majority were a whole lot harder. Most times tossing from the red tees means you'll have trees in your way or you have to change the line you threw from the green tee. Red tees means having to choose a completely different disc than you threw on the green tees.
Great layout and use of elevation. The course flowed nicely from hole to hole. The smell of the woods was fantastic and the weather was even better.
All in all I was in Awe. Great course you have in Jackson guys. Consider yourself lucky.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A short, shady, hilly, fun course!

8/8/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played the shorter green tees. There was only one hole over 300' with the shortest being 130'. So it's just a little longer than a pitch and putt. But with the hills and trees, it makes for a nice challenging throw. The tee pads were fine and this was probably the most clearly marked course that I have ever played. There are two sets of teepads (green and the slighly longer reds). Both were more than clearly marked. There are a few slightly confusing walks between holes but because it's so well signed, it's easy to follow. I saw no signs of any vandalism yet or else someone has been replacing missing or disfaced signs. Probably my favorite thing about this course was the fact that I really enjoyed each and every hole. I didn't encounter any boring or throwaway holes. There were lots of over-the-gully type shots, an equal amount of right, lefts and straight shots.The course is predominately in the shade for those warm Tennessee days.
Cons: Big arms types will miss those opportunities for the epic throws. I would have liked to see a couple of the tee pads poured on even ground instead of sloping slightly up or downhill.
Other Thoughts: I'd love to have this for my home course. It's the kind of course I want to go back and throw again and again. Kudos to the course designers, I think you did an awesome job designing Muse Park DGC.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

6/7/2006   2/7/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Other Thoughts: Very nice course. Wooded but if you miss the fairway you usually have a decent shot. Very well kept.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.