Jackson, TN 
Muse Park Share
Uploaded By: K_Woodcock Hole #8 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Possibly the best I've ever played

1    11/24/2006   3/3/2009
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not sure I have much to add beyond what other reviewers have said, but I can reiterate:
-Outstanding variety among holes; each one has something interesting to offer.
-Truly excellent use of terrain with plenty of elevation change.
-Very clear signage; we had zero problems finding our way from hole-to-hole.
-Easy parking.
-Makes me actually _want_ to go visit my in-laws since I don't live in TN.*
Cons: I'm kind of reaching here- no course is perfect, is it? Umm...
-I guess, as has been noted, if you don't like technical courses so much and prefer big throws, this wouldn't be as much fun for you to play regularly. But I'd still check it out- this course is so good you'll enjoy it at least once.
-We played in fall and had some trouble finding discs under thick layer of leaves. (Of course, we were having too much fun overall to really mind.)
Other Thoughts: I've been hesitant to review this course for a while because I didn't think I had much to add beyond the posititve things other reviewers have said. However, 5 reviews really isn't that many, and this course is very worthy of getting more attention. I really can't recommend this course highly enough- of all the courses I've loved and put in my Favorites, this is the only one where I had to genuinely think to come up with something to put under Cons.

*(In truth, my in-laws are great. But hopefully I gave a few of you a chuckle.)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course!

5+    8/15/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: whjcs23
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. It is my home course, so I may have a bit of a bias. The best thing about Muse is that it is never boring! I've been playing this course for years and still love it. I have played several courses in TN and none really compare to it. No hole mimmics another. It is short, but there are enough obstacles that a huge throw isn't going to give you a birdie on every hole. For those big throwers there are several holes that will allow you to stand out (#9 and #17, for example). Additionally, several tees have been moved back since the inception of the couse, so the tee signs no longer have the correct distances. It is well manicured. And to respond to a previous post, the course is very safe. The only problems at this park occur at night when no one is really present. Play Muse with no reservations about you safety!
Additionally, there is a tournament on the first sunday of every month. It always begins at 1:30. It's a partner scramble ... very laid back, but still very competative. Partners are usually chosen at random before we start. We try and match up partners so that every team has an equal chance to win. The entry is 5 dollars. The top three teams get prizes (gift certificates, discs, t-shirts). Come out and play!
check out:
www.jacksonareadiscgolf.com
Cons: I can't really think of any. It's definately not a "grip it and rip it" course. So, if you are a one-deminsional launcher, be wary (you would probably still love the course though).
Other Thoughts: I recommend coming to play here. Even if you are just driving down I-40 going to Memphis or Nashville. If you play disc golf, it would be worth your while to take a pit stop at Muse!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, Shady, City Course

2-4    3/30/2009   7/1/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Muse Park DGC is a new course that plays like it is more mature. Because it is on a city park, it is well kept and mowed and has good facilities. It has lots of topography and forces you to compensate for elevation differences. I would call it a medium length course, so big arms aren't a huge plus here, but will help on a few holes. I also was impressed by how nice the concrete pads, baskets and signs were. There also are two sets of tee pads (green and red) and they play very differently. Overall, the red course is longer, but it sets up at different angles to give you a fresh look. There are no water hazards on the course, so there is no need to worry about floating disks. The course is pretty well wooded and very shaded (good in summer). You will need a good mid-range and short game as well as a variety of shots if you hope to score well.
Cons: My main complaint about Muse Park DGC is that they city could use to get out the chain saw and open it up a little, but this is a minor complaint, as it is fair, just very challenging. Finally, in the past, Muse Park has had a reputation for being a pretty rough place. So, I would not go alone just to be safe.
Other Thoughts: Muse Park DGC is a great golf course and I would highly recommend playing it, even if you have to drive a little. I have only played 9 different courses in my time, but Muse Park DGC is in my top 2.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  play muse today

12/21/2007   12/21/2007
Review By: flippinpro69
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this is a good course for all skill levels. It is easy to get to and has plenty of parking. Most all the holes are carved thruogh the woods which makes for some challenging holes for a beginer like me but has been a great course for me to learn on. The fairways are clearly posted and the course is very easy to follow.
Cons: This is an old city park so things could always happen but we've never had a problem
Other Thoughts: Me and a buddy can play this couse in about an hour and a half

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.