Jackson, TN 
Muse Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 200ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Decent Course, Lacks Variety

5+    5/29/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: NothingButChain
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros: -Course has two tee pads at every hole, which allows for a variety of ways to play the course
-Course is mostly wooded which adds an additional level of difficulty
-Practice basket in parking lot that allows you to warm up before playing
-Holes are all manageable distances and many provide decent chances at aces
Cons: -Park can be sketchy at times. History of violence and drugs in the past. Not the world's safest place, but chances of anything happening to you while out there are slim.
-With course being almost completely in the woods, there is a lack of variety that I would prefer in a course
-Bugs can be an issue during the summer months
-Not always maintained, which can provide some difficult shots from tee boxes.
-Most holes are short and require more finesse shots than strong driving. Would think a lot of pros could get away with playing most holes with just a strong mid-range disc off the tee.
Other Thoughts: I have only played this course a handful of times over the last 5 years or so. Some of this is due to not being close to me and partially just not being as fun for me. Playing in heavily wooded areas can be fun for a few holes, but after getting a number of unfortunate bounces off of trees, you begin to enjoy the course less. I did enjoy my last experience playing there, and hope that I begin to like the course more to add some variety to where I play.

All in all, not a bad course, but not enough variety to get me excited.

Nice Course

2-4    7/25/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: hawgman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2015
Pros: Most baskets are easily found. Nice Mix of trees and open shots. Good use of elevation. Next tee shots are clearly marked. Two sets of tees add to add distance for more experienced players. I found the red tees to be challenging but not to tough. Ace run on many holes.
Cons: Small tee pads, Baskets are in many B positions so the length on the tee signs are way off. B Pin on 15 on so way to the left that you have to shoot of the side of the tee pad. wasted lots of time have to go back and re-tee after throwing and walking only to find out the baskets are all moved and there is no notice on the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Still a lot of fun
I enjoyed this course and will come back to play again.

 I was thoroughly aMUSEd

1    1/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 851  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) There are plenty of directionals to direct you to the red and the green tees. It is always helpful to see such helpful navigation on a course . . . especially with a one time travelling disc golfer.
2) Nice elevation changes on this park. There is so much variety and use of the elevation that you cannot feel like any holes were repetitive.
3) There is very little underbrush really close to the fairways. The woods are very clean and beautiful looking as well as naturally healthy.
4) There are some benches out on the course for people to sit down.
5) There also are some garbage cans to help keep the course a little cleaner. It is a beautiful park and I would hate to see this course look terrible because of trash.
6) Awesome property with a ton of mature trees.
7) There is an adequate variety of foliage density on this mostly wooded course.
8) Green tees are very much beginner friendly. They are almost all 100's and 200's.
9) The red tees are where you would like to play if you want more variety and more challenge. There is much more distance variation from the red tees and a whole lot more challenge.
10) The basket location next to the pond was one of the most unique things I have seen. The beauty and evilness of it, is that you cannot see the water behind the basket (literally 5 feet) until you climb the hill, so the ideal shot is to leave your disc below the hill and putt up, or to miss to the side so you can take a putt without fear of ending in the water. I am unsure if it plays as OB, but if it does, it is sadistic!
11) This course is a lot of fun to throw. The holes are short enough that they have a lot of fun factor. You have some real ace chances and then there are plenty of holes where you will curse the first tree.
Cons: 1) This course looks like it could just use some volunteer help to take its maintenance up a notch. Mulch could be spread in places, sticks and logs could be moved, etc. It is far from bad, but a little volunteer help could take this course up a notch. Perhaps my timing was bad like if a recent storm had come through and left the course in its current condition. It is also the off-season so perhaps the volunteers just don't work much this time of year. Either way the conditioning could have been a little better than when I played.
2) There are some seriously dangerous areas where tees are very close to basket locations.
3) The concrete tees are a little small and many of them have settled creating some awkward tee areas.
4) There were no scorecards in the container by the 2nd tee. I hate it when amenities are put out there and not kept up.
5) The variety is not all that great . . . it is almost completely in the woods. While I prefer wooded to non-wooded holes, I do like variety better. There just wasn't enough variety in foliage density on this course.
Other Thoughts: All in all I was very happy I chose this route through Jackson as opposed to the extra driving I would have had to go through Memphis. I know there are good courses in Memphis, but this course coupled with my stop at Tombigbee in Tupelo was a nice exchange. I feel like the course and the disc golf portion of my rating is at least a 4 disc rating. The maintenance (compaction and erosion) along with the few safety issues here are enough to keep the rating below a 4 disc rating. I am giving it a 3.75 overall but it could easily be raised to a 4.0 disc with just a few alterations and maintenance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/21/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: matsfort
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-There is a Practice area where you can warm up on your putting before heading to the first tee box.
-The holes are for the most part short but offer some challenging shots.
-Nice wooded course with signage pointing you to the next tee box.
Cons:
-While in a nice looking park, this course is not in a good part of town. Plan to be done well before dusk.
-Tee boxes are extremely small and several slope down making the drive dangerous in same areas..
-The only holes near the parking lot and restrooms are 1 and 18 and it is a long back.
Other Thoughts: This course should definitely be on your to play list. Approach shot is the name of this course and with the two different tee boxes on every hole, it should always be a fun and semi challenging course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/6/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: NerdlyPeabody
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical layout requiring changing up your drives. No water hazards to eat your discs. Nice wooded landscapes giving ample shade.
Cons: Tees are abysmal. They are far to short to provided any approach to your drive. Some look like they were poured in a hurry and never finished. Red and Green tees are confused in a few spots. You want to be out of this park before the sun sets!
Other Thoughts: definitely worth playing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Short Technical

5+    6/24/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: kmvailes
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard narrow shots Lots of variety of shots required. Lots of shade. Water at various spots along the way. Holes are well marked.
Cons: Not overly long. Bring some bug spray. Lots of trees down from a recent storm. Course map is different on a number of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Jackson. Can be kinda dodgy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    6/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well put together course. Most of the shots are marked well. Challenges for hand style throwing and some easy for both as well.
Cons: The signs are not great, they do the job just seems like they could be better. Some shots are very ... very easy which is good and bad I suppose.
Other Thoughts: All together a cool course. Not my Fav. but good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: Mark Kelley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I really like the variety in holes. It was a great course.
Cons: some heavy traffic areas with cars. It is not in the greatest part of the city.
Other Thoughts: Very well marked and has two different tee boxes for each hole.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course for all players

5+    12/2/2012   11/14/2009
Review By: UKfan
Played: 51  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My orginal review was based on my first 3-4 times that I played the course. Someone had changed the design and baskets on the course when I played last spring which changed my review. .... however, I played it again on 2/18/11, and some of the worst changes were back to the orginal design.

I played on 12/2/12, and the course was back to its original design and despite the number of leaves on the ground it was a pleasure to play. This is one of my favorite courses in its original placements.

This course challenges you to make good throws. It is not too long but you have to make the right throw. If you do not, then you will have trouble making par. If you get into the trees or woods, it can be really tough. It has alternate tee boxes which is really good for beginners and advanced players.
Cons: Before some of the changes in the past this was one of my two favorite courses. BECAUSE of the new basket locations from time to time I have previously downgraded my orginal assessment. Last spring (2010) someone placed the #9 basket in overgrown woods with no real line to the basket. When I played on 2/18/11, they had changed it back to its correct place. The "two roads" hole has been changed into only "one road" by the someone's new poor design. The orginal design was better overall than any of the changes.

I played the course on September 8, 2013, and several of the basket positions had been changed. Most of the changes were simply to make the course longer without any consideration to the original design elements. Most of the changes were clearly by someone who knows nothing about design principles. The worst change was to #14 where they have moved the basket left about 70 feet from its original position and it is impossible to reach from the red tee. It was a great hole until someone messed it up. I really love this course and it is frustrating when people ignore the idea behind the design of a hole and what makes a good hole. The original designer did a great job.

I would have like to have had a couple more open holes to practice longer throws in open areas. Some advanced players might feel that the course is not long enough.
Other Thoughts: I have driven over 1 1/2 hours to play this course several times. After some of the changes, I was not as sure. Fast Food is not that far away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 very good technical course

2-4    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very nice and scenic area. away from major roads and such making it a very quite little area. trees made for a nice challenge. the signs at each hole were very nicely done and very informative. not much wind can get in because of the many trees. also makes for a nice walk through the woods with many terrain changes. great for players with shorter range and younger players.
Cons: tee boxes are rough, small, and uneven. can get slippery if it rains. lots of brush... easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: if you like short range and more technical holes, go here. nothing over par 3 though. good for some exercise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.