Jackson, TN 
Muse Park Share
Uploaded By: C.. Lohmann Frolf Hole #1 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
I was thoroughly aMUSEd

1    1/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) There are plenty of directionals to direct you to the red and the green tees. It is always helpful to see such helpful navigation on a course . . . especially with a one time travelling disc golfer.
2) Nice elevation changes on this park. There is so much variety and use of the elevation that you cannot feel like any holes were repetitive.
3) There is very little underbrush really close to the fairways. The woods are very clean and beautiful looking as well as naturally healthy.
4) There are some benches out on the course for people to sit down.
5) There also are some garbage cans to help keep the course a little cleaner. It is a beautiful park and I would hate to see this course look terrible because of trash.
6) Awesome property with a ton of mature trees.
7) There is an adequate variety of foliage density on this mostly wooded course.
8) Green tees are very much beginner friendly. They are almost all 100's and 200's.
9) The red tees are where you would like to play if you want more variety and more challenge. There is much more distance variation from the red tees and a whole lot more challenge.
10) The basket location next to the pond was one of the most unique things I have seen. The beauty and evilness of it, is that you cannot see the water behind the basket (literally 5 feet) until you climb the hill, so the ideal shot is to leave your disc below the hill and putt up, or to miss to the side so you can take a putt without fear of ending in the water. I am unsure if it plays as OB, but if it does, it is sadistic!
11) This course is a lot of fun to throw. The holes are short enough that they have a lot of fun factor. You have some real ace chances and then there are plenty of holes where you will curse the first tree.
Cons: 1) This course looks like it could just use some volunteer help to take its maintenance up a notch. Mulch could be spread in places, sticks and logs could be moved, etc. It is far from bad, but a little volunteer help could take this course up a notch. Perhaps my timing was bad like if a recent storm had come through and left the course in its current condition. It is also the off-season so perhaps the volunteers just don't work much this time of year. Either way the conditioning could have been a little better than when I played.
2) There are some seriously dangerous areas where tees are very close to basket locations.
3) The concrete tees are a little small and many of them have settled creating some awkward tee areas.
4) There were no scorecards in the container by the 2nd tee. I hate it when amenities are put out there and not kept up.
5) The variety is not all that great . . . it is almost completely in the woods. While I prefer wooded to non-wooded holes, I do like variety better. There just wasn't enough variety in foliage density on this course.
Other Thoughts: All in all I was very happy I chose this route through Jackson as opposed to the extra driving I would have had to go through Memphis. I know there are good courses in Memphis, but this course coupled with my stop at Tombigbee in Tupelo was a nice exchange. I feel like the course and the disc golf portion of my rating is at least a 4 disc rating. The maintenance (compaction and erosion) along with the few safety issues here are enough to keep the rating below a 4 disc rating. I am giving it a 3.75 overall but it could easily be raised to a 4.0 disc with just a few alterations and maintenance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/21/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: matsfort
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-There is a Practice area where you can warm up on your putting before heading to the first tee box.
-The holes are for the most part short but offer some challenging shots.
-Nice wooded course with signage pointing you to the next tee box.
Cons:
-While in a nice looking park, this course is not in a good part of town. Plan to be done well before dusk.
-Tee boxes are extremely small and several slope down making the drive dangerous in same areas..
-The only holes near the parking lot and restrooms are 1 and 18 and it is a long back.
Other Thoughts: This course should definitely be on your to play list. Approach shot is the name of this course and with the two different tee boxes on every hole, it should always be a fun and semi challenging course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/6/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: NerdlyPeabody
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical layout requiring changing up your drives. No water hazards to eat your discs. Nice wooded landscapes giving ample shade.
Cons: Tees are abysmal. They are far to short to provided any approach to your drive. Some look like they were poured in a hurry and never finished. Red and Green tees are confused in a few spots. You want to be out of this park before the sun sets!
Other Thoughts: definitely worth playing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Short Technical

5+    6/24/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: kmvailes
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard narrow shots Lots of variety of shots required. Lots of shade. Water at various spots along the way. Holes are well marked.
Cons: Not overly long. Bring some bug spray. Lots of trees down from a recent storm. Course map is different on a number of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Jackson. Can be kinda dodgy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    6/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well put together course. Most of the shots are marked well. Challenges for hand style throwing and some easy for both as well.
Cons: The signs are not great, they do the job just seems like they could be better. Some shots are very ... very easy which is good and bad I suppose.
Other Thoughts: All together a cool course. Not my Fav. but good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: Mark Kelley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I really like the variety in holes. It was a great course.
Cons: some heavy traffic areas with cars. It is not in the greatest part of the city.
Other Thoughts: Very well marked and has two different tee boxes for each hole.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course for all players

5+    12/2/2012   11/14/2009
Review By: UKfan
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My orginal review was based on my first 3-4 times that I played the course. Someone had changed the design and baskets on the course when I played last spring which changed my review. .... however, I played it again on 2/18/11, and some of the worst changes were back to the orginal design.

I played on 12/2/12, and the course was back to its original design and despite the number of leaves on the ground it was a pleasure to play. This is one of my favorite courses in its original placements.

This course challenges you to make good throws. It is not too long but you have to make the right throw. If you do not, then you will have trouble making par. If you get into the trees or woods, it can be really tough. It has alternate tee boxes which is really good for beginners and advanced players.
Cons: Before some of the changes in the past this was one of my two favorite courses. BECAUSE of the new basket locations from time to time I have previously downgraded my orginal assessment. Last spring (2010) someone placed the #9 basket in overgrown woods with no real line to the basket. When I played on 2/18/11, they had changed it back to its correct place. The "two roads" hole has been changed into only "one road" by the someone's new poor design. The orginal design was better overall than any of the changes.

I played the course on September 8, 2013, and several of the basket positions had been changed. Most of the changes were simply to make the course longer without any consideration to the original design elements. Most of the changes were clearly by someone who knows nothing about design principles. The worst change was to #14 where they have moved the basket left about 70 feet from its original position and it is impossible to reach from the red tee. It was a great hole until someone messed it up. I really love this course and it is frustrating when people ignore the idea behind the design of a hole and what makes a good hole. The original designer did a great job.

I would have like to have had a couple more open holes to practice longer throws in open areas. Some advanced players might feel that the course is not long enough.
Other Thoughts: I have driven over 1 1/2 hours to play this course several times. After some of the changes, I was not as sure. Fast Food is not that far away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 very good technical course

2-4    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very nice and scenic area. away from major roads and such making it a very quite little area. trees made for a nice challenge. the signs at each hole were very nicely done and very informative. not much wind can get in because of the many trees. also makes for a nice walk through the woods with many terrain changes. great for players with shorter range and younger players.
Cons: tee boxes are rough, small, and uneven. can get slippery if it rains. lots of brush... easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: if you like short range and more technical holes, go here. nothing over par 3 though. good for some exercise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 solid all but the concrete

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Man, where do I start. Well hole one.
Nice short hyzer that starts out open and closes up real quick-like. #2 is a putter shot that should be so easy. It's not.
You have everything here but water shots. You have extreme left shots and flick hyzer nightmares. You have downhill and uphill shots. Tunnel shots and overhead shots. Low ceiling and high hyzers. All put together makes this a pleasure to play.There were water faucets and bathrooms at the park. Restuarants were 5 minutes away.
Very clean nice park.
Cons: Concrete pads are uneven/out of level/too short. Fix this and you have a 4.5 out of me.
The out of bounds was hard to understand. I never saw the brush pile.
My buddy had a touch of poison ivy and some mosquitos were bothering me.
Other Thoughts: Green tees are a pleasure and while some are very hard, making a three is pretty common. Some of the holes from the red tees were easier but the majority were a whole lot harder. Most times tossing from the red tees means you'll have trees in your way or you have to change the line you threw from the green tee. Red tees means having to choose a completely different disc than you threw on the green tees.
Great layout and use of elevation. The course flowed nicely from hole to hole. The smell of the woods was fantastic and the weather was even better.
All in all I was in Awe. Great course you have in Jackson guys. Consider yourself lucky.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Actual fairways in the Woods!

1    3/24/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good 18 hole wooded course in nice city park. Every hole has mature, well-defined fairways (often times a rarity for wooded courses!) Each fairway is challenging, but wide enough to provide opportunity to make good shots (no pinball!) Most of the holes are short compared to today's modern standards, but elevation is used extremely well to add to the challenge. Also, if you happen to miss the fairway you can easily find your disc since the rough is not dense.

There were 2 sets of tees for each hole. Not just a long and short, but many times the other tees played from different angles helping to add more variety if you wanted to play 36.

There is a practice basket in the grassy island of the parking area. The "goalpost hole" is the signature hole and is a pretty cool hole.
Cons: The course does not come back to the parking area until hole 18, which is only a problem if you really have to go mid-round!

This is a nice course for your average course, but it lacks variety and length. It is not extremely difficult and may not be much of a challenge for the experienced disc golfer.
Other Thoughts: This course provides for many birdie opportunities. Restrooms, picnic tables, and playground close to hole 1/18.

This is one of the nicest and best courses of the shorter, wooded variety that I have played. It is very well-designed, mature, and well-kept making for a solid course. This is by no means an easy course. You still have to make shots and avoid trouble. It is worth a stop if you are going between Nashville and Memphis.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center