Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

North Ft. Myers, FL 
N. Ft. Myers Community Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Mid-Fairway: Basket is in clearing to the left. Alternate location is clearing to the right.



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 bagger dave.assistant course mgr

5+    3/10/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: discbeaden
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: there is no automovtive traffic to worry about.no lines to wait in for tee times.and a clean tee shot rewards the player with a birdie look on most holes.
Cons: lots of palmettos to hide a bad tee shot if no spotter is used.and little shade is available on several holes
Other Thoughts: I love the course and if you play to make par and take few risks, your score will be better than the field average.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Course layout is confusing

1    1/2/2014   1/8/2014
Review By: Capt Jim
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some baskets are marked with PVC pipes that help with locating the basket from the T pads. Most baskets have red tape streamers. Some holes have yellow cardboard arrows showing which was to the next T pad.
Cons: There is no accurate map available. The course changed after Library remodel was completed, old T pad 6 is now T pad 1 without new markers, which is the info written on a concrete T pad kind of near 18th basket. New T pads are concrete tiles or rubber mats.
Other Thoughts: The park folks need to get a new map on paper, and remove old T pad number markers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Somewhere in this rough, there is a diamond.

2-4    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two sets of Concrete Tee's (Pro/Am), *Tee Markers with distance of each pin location, Alternating Pin positions. Course bulletin board.

-Defined fairways that require shot shaping, narrow drives, and quite a few Risk/Reward holes. Accuracy is key here!

-Course plays back to the start at the parking lot.
(Worth a mention: Course plays out in one big loop. It doesn't allow for a quick 9 hole round.)

-The park is well maintained with scenic holes and a very enjoyable walk through the woods.

-Garbage & Recycling cans throughout the course, as well as benches and couple of picnic tables

-Mostly wooded course, with a few open shots. The tree canopy fairways will force you to keep your shot low, while the cabbage palms will force you to play conservatively. …an errant shot may cause a player to go home with one less disc.

-Designed for a more skilled player, this course is NOT beginner friendly.

-The AM tee's come with their challenges just like the Pro tee's. Don't think that AM means easier, it's just less risky. Keyword:Less

-Has multiple Risk/Reward shots. (One shot requires the thrower to throw over a treeline. Spotter recommended)

-Navigation is okay, but can be challenging to those playing for the first time. The only map I found was hanging in the bulletin board.

-Water comes into play on a couple of the holes. You'll play around the water from the AM's, but the Pro tee's require a water carry.

- The challenge was greater than the fun, but I still had a good time playing here.

FWIW
-Playground available
-Professional Shuffle board courts
(If you like Disc Golf and Shuffle Board, then you'll like this place)
Cons: -The majority of the fairways here have blind baskets. Sometimes we would have to walk the whole fairway to find the basket.

-*The pins are alternating, but there was no listing to find out which position the pins were in.

-Could use a fairway map at each pin, since sometimes you won't even see the pin location or the fairway.

-Navigation to the next pin in some places. Without a map, it could be hard to locate some pins.

-The Cabbage Palms and other roughage create an obnoxiously dense brush that will eat your disc. Couple this with a blind hole, and you could have serious trouble locating your disc. This was the cause of some frustration.
(NOTE: According my friend, a lot of the brush has been cleared out, along with "some" of the notorious cabbage palm areas being thinned down.)

-You will have a better experience here, if you come with a friend or hook up with a local. You WILL need a spotter on some holes. (See previous Con)

-Better directions to Hole #2. (Across the road and 90 degrees to the left of the park entrance.)

-Hole #1 plays alongside the road and along a sidewalk. Mind your shots.
Other Thoughts: I know that my review may have sounded negative, but please don't mistake that. I had a lot of fun playing here, and I'm looking forward to going back to play it again. There are some things that you need to know before you play here, otherwise you may walk away frustrated.
1. Come with a friend and/or hook up with a local. This should be a requirement! You WILL need a spotter on many of the holes. Trust me on this!
2. Bring some discs you may not mind parting with.
3. Snap a picture of the map at the bulletin board, or print the one off this website.
4. Wear pants and covered shoes. At some point you will be traipsing through some very dense brush.
5. Bring some liquid. You are in the woods, but there are plenty of sunny open areas. It can get hot.
6. Be prepared to walk down the fairway to locate the basket.

If you take these things into consideration, you may just have a good time here. It is a challenging course but it can be fun if you prepare for it. I was told by my friend that it looked like they had done a bunch of clearing on this course. Despite that fact, it's still possible to lose a disc in the rough. It is definitely a course worth visiting!

If you are up for the challenge, then I totally recommend playing here. If you aren't confident with your throws yet, or are still a beginner, then I would suggest you opt out of this course for now. I think the key here is to play a little more conservative and strategic. It's not an impossible course, it just has its challenges.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 it'll do

1    1/17/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: NoahPeterson
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Water hazards keep you on your toes. Long and narrow holes. Fun, but not a lot to it. Lots of trees to hit, this will make you work close to the ground.
Cons: Odd layout. Poorly marked.
Other Thoughts: Boots and jeans are necessary. Grab a local or you're never going to get through this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 1 - You actually walk across the street from where you park, toward how you drive in to hole 1's tee. This took me a minute to figure out.

18 holes of challenging disc golf. This course will challenge your game. This course has length if you have the arm to throw from the pro tees or is a little more merciful if you want to throw from the shorts. I like the fact that this is not a multi-use park. There aren't people in the way. I really liked hole 7 over the water and the two options on hole 8 where the left option is more of a tunnel shot and the right option is more of a hyzer route. I also like dual tees and pin placements as it gives the course that much more potential.

If I am back in the area this would be the course I would return to.
Cons: Locals were friendly although seemed like there were people off the beaten path smoking some weed or doing who knows what. I always love the "are you a cop" question when I meet people on the course.

This course needs signage...the cut phone polls just don't do it for me. They just aren't helpful when you can't see the pin on all the blind holes. You also can't tell if there is water present on many holes until you walk up there...would be great to have some better signs to help with this.
Other Thoughts: Lots of blind throws into palmettos which can be good or bad...it is a challenge. I only lost 1 disc and that is because it started raining as I was searching for it and had to give it up. The palmettos are numerous but not that bad if you are used to them. Just pay attention.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: gburggolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was fun for me since I am used to mtn. courses. I shot 5 over my first time playing so not bad.
Cons: I had a little trouble finding hole #1, but after that not bad. Also you could easily lose a disc if you have an erant throw.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better With Age

5+    12/30/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set mostly in an area of the park dedicated to disc golf. Two sets of concrete t-pads on most holes and some alt. pin placements. Very friendly locals. Some scenic holes, especially on the back nine. A good challenge for seasoned players, pro players will probably welcome the additional dificulty the pro t-pads offer.
Cons: Hole #1 runs alongside the exit road. The course is extremely dificult to navigate with no trailblazer signs telling you where to go from one hole to the next tee. The palmetto rough is brutal in some places, but is not as bad as when I previously played the course a few years ago. There seems to be some homeless people living in the park, but they didn't bother my group.
Other Thoughts: Do not bring beginers to this course as they will find it most frustating. Do try to play with locals on your first time through or you will have a hard time navigating the course. Spot each others throws or you will loose discs. Wear long pants and sturdy shoes.

That said I like this course! I can see where people visiting from other far off places don't care for the course as much, but this is the type of course SW Florida has. We only lost one disc out of our group of 5, and that was to the water not the rough!

Update: Course continues to improve every time that I go back down there and play it. Props to SWFDGA for continuing improvements!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Palmeto Hell

1    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 baskets with two concrete tee pads on each.
3 Signature holes:
6 throws over the lake, which is short enough to feel confident, but risky enough to loose discs. Hole 10 is featured on their tournament discs, it is striaght shot to an elevated basket into a field of palmettos, high chance of disc loss. 18 can be played numerous ways, but it has water right behind the basket.
Course gives you the opportunity to try a wide variety of shots, lots of risk vs. reward opportunities.
Cons: Biggest problem is hole 1. The fairway is a bike trail with a busy road on the left. It is a stupid unsafe hole.
There is no way you can just show up and figure out where to go, we had to grab some locals to show us around because the flow was so confusing.
No tee signs or navigational signs, just Peir posts with distances.
High risk of disk loss in the palmettos, you need to wear jeans or you will bleed.
Several of the holes were similar to others, lots of straight shots with slight turns at the end.
Other Thoughts: This is not a beginners course at all, This course is the best with a large group of expereinced players with spotters and an army of people to search for each disc. I would NEVER play this one alone.
No dogs allowed in park

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lousy Course

1    11/17/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: kfellmy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. The 18 hole putting practice course is nice. Also a bit challenging.
2. Holes 1-8 are okay.
3. Holes #2 and #3 are my favorite.
4. Fence is fixed and the hooker can't walk the fence line anymore.
Cons: 1. Homeless people live in the Palmettos. When you go to find a lost disc, you ARE going into someone's bedroom.
2. Palmettos everywhere, you will lose discs every time you play. I've lost as many as 4 in one round.
3. Basket placement changes every time I play the course. Leave them alone.
4. If you play on the weekends or when school is out, there are kids that ride around the course on their BMX bikes. When they find a disc laying on the ground, they pick it up and throw it in the pond.
5. No directions to the next tee.
6. Says "No Dogs" but there are plenty of dogs in the park.
7. Lots of crap on the course...dog and otherwise.
8. Fence line that eats discs. You can go get them, but the other side is trailer trash people with pit bulls. They have nothing of value but have nasty dogs to guard their stuff.
9. I never walk this course without Mr. Smith and Mr. Wesson.
10. Course is greener when it rains, now you can't see your disc at all when it goes off course.
Other Thoughts: A very hard course to play, NOT for beginners. This course is 8 miles from my house, but I drive 40 miles to play at the North Port course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fields of Palmettos

1    7/1/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Practice basket and information board near parking lot.
*Dual tees and alternate pin locations allow for different course settings.
*Great amount of variety throughout the course including open/tight holes, left/right turning holes, short/long holes.
*Landing areas and fairways are used throughout the course.
*Painted telephone posts at each tee designating Pro or Am tee and providing distance.
*Nice Mach III baskets.
*Trees near baskets are marked with ribbon to help show where basket it since many palmettos are taller than the basket.
*Good shots are rewarded and bad shots are punished.
Cons: *Walking path and road come into play on hole 1.
*Navigation can be tricky for the first timer, use a map or play with a local if possible.
*Palmettos are everywhere and will eat your discs. As Rollercoasters mentioned, a spotter is a must on many holes.
*Map lay-out of each hole not available. I had to walk half way up the fairway at most holes to see the basket before teeing off.
Other Thoughts: I played 3 courses while in Fort Myers area and this course was by far my favorite. Two sets of tees make the course playable for beginners and the experienced pros. I chose to play the pro tees and it was quite a challenge, but fun. Your shots really have to be on to score well here.

It is highly recommended to play with a spotter. There are many blind holes some holes where you are shooting over a massive field of palmettos. Without a spotter, be prepared to lose a disc or two.

If you are in Fort Myers area and are up for a challenge, definitley play this course. If you're afraid of losing plastic, skip it and go to Bay Oaks.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.