Layout Extinct

North Ft. Myers, FL
N. Ft. Myers Community Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #18 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 252ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Am Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Somewhere in this rough, there is a diamond.

2-4    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two sets of Concrete Tee's (Pro/Am), *Tee Markers with distance of each pin location, Alternating Pin positions. Course bulletin board.

-Defined fairways that require shot shaping, narrow drives, and quite a few Risk/Reward holes. Accuracy is key here!

-Course plays back to the start at the parking lot.
(Worth a mention: Course plays out in one big loop. It doesn't allow for a quick 9 hole round.)

-The park is well maintained with scenic holes and a very enjoyable walk through the woods.

-Garbage & Recycling cans throughout the course, as well as benches and couple of picnic tables

-Mostly wooded course, with a few open shots. The tree canopy fairways will force you to keep your shot low, while the cabbage palms will force you to play conservatively. …an errant shot may cause a player to go home with one less disc.

-Designed for a more skilled player, this course is NOT beginner friendly.

-The AM tee's come with their challenges just like the Pro tee's. Don't think that AM means easier, it's just less risky. Keyword:Less

-Has multiple Risk/Reward shots. (One shot requires the thrower to throw over a treeline. Spotter recommended)

-Navigation is okay, but can be challenging to those playing for the first time. The only map I found was hanging in the bulletin board.

-Water comes into play on a couple of the holes. You'll play around the water from the AM's, but the Pro tee's require a water carry.

- The challenge was greater than the fun, but I still had a good time playing here.

FWIW
-Playground available
-Professional Shuffle board courts
(If you like Disc Golf and Shuffle Board, then you'll like this place)
Cons: -The majority of the fairways here have blind baskets. Sometimes we would have to walk the whole fairway to find the basket.

-*The pins are alternating, but there was no listing to find out which position the pins were in.

-Could use a fairway map at each pin, since sometimes you won't even see the pin location or the fairway.

-Navigation to the next pin in some places. Without a map, it could be hard to locate some pins.

-The Cabbage Palms and other roughage create an obnoxiously dense brush that will eat your disc. Couple this with a blind hole, and you could have serious trouble locating your disc. This was the cause of some frustration.
(NOTE: According my friend, a lot of the brush has been cleared out, along with "some" of the notorious cabbage palm areas being thinned down.)

-You will have a better experience here, if you come with a friend or hook up with a local. You WILL need a spotter on some holes. (See previous Con)

-Better directions to Hole #2. (Across the road and 90 degrees to the left of the park entrance.)

-Hole #1 plays alongside the road and along a sidewalk. Mind your shots.
Other Thoughts: I know that my review may have sounded negative, but please don't mistake that. I had a lot of fun playing here, and I'm looking forward to going back to play it again. There are some things that you need to know before you play here, otherwise you may walk away frustrated.
1. Come with a friend and/or hook up with a local. This should be a requirement! You WILL need a spotter on many of the holes. Trust me on this!
2. Bring some discs you may not mind parting with.
3. Snap a picture of the map at the bulletin board, or print the one off this website.
4. Wear pants and covered shoes. At some point you will be traipsing through some very dense brush.
5. Bring some liquid. You are in the woods, but there are plenty of sunny open areas. It can get hot.
6. Be prepared to walk down the fairway to locate the basket.

If you take these things into consideration, you may just have a good time here. It is a challenging course but it can be fun if you prepare for it. I was told by my friend that it looked like they had done a bunch of clearing on this course. Despite that fact, it's still possible to lose a disc in the rough. It is definitely a course worth visiting!

If you are up for the challenge, then I totally recommend playing here. If you aren't confident with your throws yet, or are still a beginner, then I would suggest you opt out of this course for now. I think the key here is to play a little more conservative and strategic. It's not an impossible course, it just has its challenges.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better With Age

5+    12/30/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: thrembo
Played: 79  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 38.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set mostly in an area of the park dedicated to disc golf. Two sets of concrete t-pads on most holes and some alt. pin placements. Very friendly locals. Some scenic holes, especially on the back nine. A good challenge for seasoned players, pro players will probably welcome the additional dificulty the pro t-pads offer.
Cons: Hole #1 runs alongside the exit road. The course is extremely dificult to navigate with no trailblazer signs telling you where to go from one hole to the next tee. The palmetto rough is brutal in some places, but is not as bad as when I previously played the course a few years ago. There seems to be some homeless people living in the park, but they didn't bother my group.
Other Thoughts: Do not bring beginers to this course as they will find it most frustating. Do try to play with locals on your first time through or you will have a hard time navigating the course. Spot each others throws or you will loose discs. Wear long pants and sturdy shoes.

That said I like this course! I can see where people visiting from other far off places don't care for the course as much, but this is the type of course SW Florida has. We only lost one disc out of our group of 5, and that was to the water not the rough!

Update: Course continues to improve every time that I go back down there and play it. Props to SWFDGA for continuing improvements!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fields of Palmettos

1    7/1/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 112  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Practice basket and information board near parking lot.
*Dual tees and alternate pin locations allow for different course settings.
*Great amount of variety throughout the course including open/tight holes, left/right turning holes, short/long holes.
*Landing areas and fairways are used throughout the course.
*Painted telephone posts at each tee designating Pro or Am tee and providing distance.
*Nice Mach III baskets.
*Trees near baskets are marked with ribbon to help show where basket it since many palmettos are taller than the basket.
*Good shots are rewarded and bad shots are punished.
Cons: *Walking path and road come into play on hole 1.
*Navigation can be tricky for the first timer, use a map or play with a local if possible.
*Palmettos are everywhere and will eat your discs. As Rollercoasters mentioned, a spotter is a must on many holes.
*Map lay-out of each hole not available. I had to walk half way up the fairway at most holes to see the basket before teeing off.
Other Thoughts: I played 3 courses while in Fort Myers area and this course was by far my favorite. Two sets of tees make the course playable for beginners and the experienced pros. I chose to play the pro tees and it was quite a challenge, but fun. Your shots really have to be on to score well here.

It is highly recommended to play with a spotter. There are many blind holes some holes where you are shooting over a massive field of palmettos. Without a spotter, be prepared to lose a disc or two.

If you are in Fort Myers area and are up for a challenge, definitley play this course. If you're afraid of losing plastic, skip it and go to Bay Oaks.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  NOFO

5+    11/14/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: Nutcheese
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has pro and am concrete tees w/ a good mix of long and short holes. League changes pin placement every so often. Unlike FGCU, you could still end up paring the holes w/ shanked or not so great drives. By far the best course Sw florida.
Cons: Not much Signage. PALMETTOS! Wildlife. Must have a spotter. Not uncommon to lose a disc in the rainy season.(hole9)
Other Thoughts: Moved out here from Miami in Jan 2009 and was used to playing open courses like Indian Hammocks and Tradewinds. Inicially it was a nightmare. Heavy palmettos and constantly looking for discs. Try not to get frustrated. The course will make you a better player.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Give Blood Play NFM

5+    10/27/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: poolsk8r
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My home course, good baskets and concrete pads, Rewards you will good controlled shots course is always being worked on by club gets better every year
Cons: Very wet in the rainy season, Def need a spotter playing the longs, super dense vegetation, an off shot can kill your round here
Other Thoughts: DO NOT WEAR SANDALS HERE!!! If this is your first trip out here wear pants and play the shorts you will be bleeding from razor palms LOL. The vegetation is brutal, but with controlled shots a very playable and fun course. If you are just passing through the area play in the winter the course is dry... in the summer the water hazzards increase 5 fold and without a local this is a losing battle and there is wildlife in that water. New pin placement on 14 and started looking into extending 15 for a third placement for very long par 3 at around 400+. Installing a new pin placement for 9 short. The new 9th hole short pin setting is complete and turned out great..The new pin set is in place for 15 long and the course is mowed and playing very nicely ENJOY!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Wear Pants

5+    7/6/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: emtptony
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course. It's the best I've played in Fl. I do not like wide open courses and this one definitely isn't wide open. You can easily bring a cooler on wheels full of your favorite beverage
Cons: Palmetto bushes. A spotter is needed on multiple holes. Wear pants you will be in the bushes looking for your discs

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.