Milton, FL 
NAS Whiting Field DGC Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 approach



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My favorite course by far.

5+    11/24/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: Bimbambogart
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a tight knit 9 hole course with a nature trail and a awesome view of the air strip.

Beware of "Spider Gully" at hole 5, I skipped my disc half way into the drain pipe and had to stuff my friend in there on the other side to get it out. Its full of thorns and spiders larger than your hand.

Hole 8 over looks the air strip and has a distance of over 400 ft,theres a possiblity of throwing into a drainoff gully w/ small cactus at the top of it.

If you're military you can rent disc on the base.
Cons: Lots of flying/stinging/biting insects in the summer.
Rattlesnakes are common,so be careful.
And watch out for slow moving beavers when you leave,I had one go through the front of my car.
Other Thoughts: Bring insect repellent!
A machete would be wise ,in case you throw into the woods.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/29/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: dggator
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Peaceful and quiet course. Just 9 holes but plenty of room for expansion(why don't they?). Fairly tight course but played fair if you keep it straight.
Cons: A little out of the way, but easy to get to. Needs some maintenance around the bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Looked to be enough room to add 27 more holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Miss 9

2-4    3/15/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: westflagator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Basic small course. Good for short play. Very private. We where the only ones playing. Trees and brush where not to bad. Just don't get to far off the fairway.
Cons: Baskets where very hard to find. They just need to have some yellow paint on them to see them easier.
Other Thoughts: Once you get to 8 do not follow trail. Look to your far left and you will find hole 9. We walked around before we looked at the sign where it told us 9 was.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Short, tight, clean and fun course.

1    1/17/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: GulfCoastGolfer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had the course all to myself. Peaceful and quiet. Nice variety of mid range shots off the tees. Course is well maintained and marked with small ground signs pointing to next hole.
Cons: Bathroom was disgusting. No running water in bathrooms. No distance markers or hole maps.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play 18 holes in about 45 minutes in between work meetings. Very convenient if you are in the area. Alot of blind holes where you either walk up to find the basket or just sit something down in the middle of the fairway and then walk out and figure out which direction the dogleg goes. Fun course overall.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/4/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: gdizzle08
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect if you just wanna go out real quick and get some mid range practice in. Cement tees, a little small but better then nothing.
Cons: very tight with only 2 open holes at 3 and 8. absolutely not the course you wanna play on a windy day
Other Thoughts: a very average course and not one to go out of your way to play unless you r stationed at nas whiting field because it is literally right outside of the base

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    4/9/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: Manson
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees at all holes.
Signs pointing out direction of next tee.
Generally empty and you do not have to be in a hurry or worry about other players.
Cons: No tee signs-pretty much have to figure out where the basket is and distance, left or right turn.
Mach 3's are pretty hard to see unless you are right on top of them.
Seems like upkeep has gotten a bit slack as of late.
***Update 11/29/11 Course looks great. Mowed and friends and I picked up all trash.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot and it helps me with my game. 3 & 8 are big, grip it and rip it kinda holes which I enjoy. 5 is a fairly long distance hole where your tee shot has to have some thought and execution. A couple of holes are a bit too tight and more poke and pray instead of skill. Overall, challenging and if you can score below par, you've had a pretty good round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loved the challenge

1    12/25/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on each hole, good signs telling you where the next tees are. Apparently there is disc rental available but I do believe you have to be a military member because everything is on base.
Tight holes but I felt they were fair and had a good variety for shot selection.
We had the place all to ourselves.
Nice bathroom and picnic facilities at hole 1/9 common area.
Cons: No distances on the signs or anywhere so you pretty much had to guess where you went.
I can imagine that the summer overgrowth would make things rough but it was ok in the winter.
Tees on the very small side, but only really matters on the 2 long holes, the others don't need a run-up.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little 9er that needs a play or two if you are in the area. You will feel all by yourself out in the woods (you most likely are). The Mach 3 baskets catch pretty well and are hard to see like all mach 3s so you probably have to scout ahead to see where you are throwing for most holes.

There are 2 holes (3 and 8) that you can really air it out, other than that, bring your mid and putter game and hope it is on!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Scary but not that bad

1    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: requires more skill than just throwing a disc straight, challenging, almost had an ace the first time I played it.
Cons: very tight in some places, easily can lose a disc with a bad throw, not for beginners, next to WNAS and can fly onto base near the long water drain
Other Thoughts: Very scary when first looked at and requires skill to set up next shot, can be a monster when in the trees and have to lay up just to get to the next shot

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/25/2008   10/25/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has 2 open holes to balance out the 7 short tight holes. There are tortoises on the 3rd hole!
Well maintained, free to play. Tough. Well marked, cement tees.
Cons: Most of the tight holes are unrealistic. Jets may go overhead and blow you away with the boom.
Other Thoughts: Though really tight and you can expect to miss many fairways, the rough is not nasty and the woods are pleasant.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.