Course Extinct
Travis AFB, CA 
National/Johnson Field Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 When hope, determination & goodwill collide

1    7/25/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Legit distances, nice layout, and great use of elevation. Cool airplane adjacent to first hole; fun & unique way to start the round. Variety of tee shots with even a few tomohawk opportunities into the prevailing wind. The navy blue powder coated baskets are in decent shape. Using the course map link made it a breeze to navigate for first time.
Cons: No tee pads, and only about 6 barely legible signs. Very limited access to civilians.
Other Thoughts: I still cannot believe I was able to get on the course today! On a whim I decided to pull off on the Travis exit to at least ask what the situation would be. When I got to the entry gate, I asked if a civilian such as myself could play the DG course. The officer said I needed a Sponsor or guest pass & directed me back to the visitor center. I took a ticket & waited to talk to the guy at the front desk. After talking to the old timer, he profiled me & very kindly offered to sponsor me since his shift was done after lunch. I can now proudly say that I've played & reviewed every course in the greater Bay Area. Thank you W!!!
======================
Uniqueness: A- (awesome airplane, air force base, exclusivity)
Difficulty: B+ (decent wind, some elevation changes; would like more trees)
Fun Factor: A- (simply stoked to be there; fun & quick course too)
Aesthetics: B- (mowed, but not pretty grass, next to two baseball fields)
----------------------
Overall: B+

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Bit of a Bad Rap

1    6/18/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Baskets are in pretty good shape, though there is one leaner
Good use of terrain
Water fountains and bathrooms
Easy to find
Plenty of room to warm-up/practice
Cons:
Wind can be very strong. I'm not sure that this is a con per se but it can be perhaps over-challenging
A little too close to the road on a couple holes (#6 and #10)
Grass/dirt tees
Not easily navigable without a map, particularly the back/alternate 9
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Do take the map located here: http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../b893fdd3.jpg
Basket #1 has clearly been moved because.there's a plane in the way!
Tee #2 is MIA so do your best to pick a spot.
It is possible to sail your disc onto the baseball field so do watch your speed/strength and wind direction
One point of clarity: It states that you need "advanced permission" to play this course. That's not quite true. You just need someone to get you on the base. The course itself is open to anyone.

Random Thoughts:
After reading all those faaaantastic reviews of this course, I was expecting a real dump. But here's the thing: it's not that bad. It's actually a fun little course. It's certainly not on par with the big dog courses in this area but for the piece of land that it's on, it actually presents a fun time with a few challenges. First, there's a steep hill on the back side which introduces a good challenge on a few of the uphill holes, and some great opportunities to let fly and admire your lovely disks on the downhillers. Then there's the fact that most of the baskets are nestled into small groves of trees which means your approach angle on drives becomes critical. Putts are fun too if you're in positions where you can't see the basket clearly. I actually birdied a hole without actually seeing the disk finish. Then you throw in the length (particularly the back 9) and the wind (gusty as frick), and what you're left with is a pretty good challenge. The downsides are the lack of tees. I was slipping quite a bit on drives.

Bottom Line:
Ok, so it's not the hardest, it's not particularly scenic, and it was dayum hot, but it was quite a bit funner than advertised and where else can you say that you played a hole where a friggin' plane is in play?!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open hilly course

5+    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: wide open - can not lose disk....great for beginners
Cons: hilly....not much of a challenge for advanced players....windy at times
Other Thoughts: great starter course.....on a military base.....be careful of nearbye traffic

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unused park

11/4/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: On a military base
Cons: Small couse, not one to remember

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.