Layout Extinct

Goose Creek, SC
Naval Weapons Station Charleston - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Gamecock Hole #1 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 255ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 horrible

1    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: deejmemixx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First 4 holes were fine. Great for a starting player.
Cons: After the first 4 there was no maintenance at all. Baskets overgrown and practically unplayable. The base should take better care.
Other Thoughts: 2 hole was marked at 200 and some yards but was at least 400 across the soccerfield.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NWS Charleston

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: scdarracott
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First four holes are nice. Well maintained and the course over all is easy. Good course for new commers.
Cons: No tee boxes. Last five holes are not marked very well. Also, grass around last five holes is extremely high and hides possible safety hazards.
Other Thoughts: Wear long pants and closed toe shoes. Becareful where you step or you might end up in a giant whole or on top of a snake.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Avoid this garbage!!!!

5+    11/10/2011   8/4/2010
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *For beginners or casual play. Most holes are around 230ft.
*No water hazzards.
Cons: *Baskets are in poor condition.
*The front 4 holes are set-up poorly....when a crowd builds around the nearby soccer and baseball fields, families will just walk right through the course.....not even realizing it's there.
*Course is not a challenge for a advanced player.
*All natural tee's
*Course maintance is very, very, very poor.
*Although the scenery is nice, the bugs, spiders, and tall grass can become a problem.
Other Thoughts: COURSE MAINTANCE NEEDED!!!!
I personally was very disapointed with the overall quality of this course. With this being on Military property, I expected alot better maintance and upkeep. The grass is always overgrown, the goals are in poor condition and the overall safety of this course is in question. The military funding must have overlooked this 9 hole course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Non Government personal

1    10/4/2008   1/3/2010
Review By: Shodai
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy course, and somewhat easy to follow and find tees and pins.
Cons: Not very challenging. Very short course except hole 9. It was a little bit further out and as a smaller person I had to fling it pretty decently.
Other Thoughts: Supposed to be for millitary or government personnel, however I was able to play without being checked or questioned. At the time I did not know this.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In the Navy!

1    2/16/2008   6/26/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Short distances allow for the Sailors to occasionaly make par.
McDonald's on the corner
Cons: Marines, like myself, and anyone else with a decent arm need only a putter to play here.
To close to base housing.
Other Thoughts: All joking aside, I felt like I was invading the privacy of the military families by playing here. The course runs along and through base housing. I couldn't help to but get in a jab at my Navy brothers in this review but, I really think they could use some privacy...they have certainly earned it. I am DOD so I can play here but the lax security never checked my I.D. No one else was on the course when I played and it was Saturday! For beginners, kids (and sailors) this is a 3 or 3.5 course.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's pretty much a simple pitch and putt course. #9 is the only long hole at 431 feet. Other holes are all in the 200 - 250 foot range.
-Trees are the only obstacles on the course. Most baskets are placed behind, or near, trees to provide some challenge.
- Course is easy to navigate. #2 was the only hole I had a hard time finding. If you're standing at the tee for #2, you only see the baskets for 3 & 4. The hole for #2 ended up being nestled against some trees along the side of the soccer field.
- Holes are close together, so you can play a round in no time. #6 - 9 are all in the same field. Field has tall grass, so make to pay close attention to throws or you may spend extra time looking for your disc.
Cons: Not much of a challenge for the average player. The course is clearly meant for the occasional player. In this case, it's another form of recreation for military people at the NWS.
- Baskets aren't in great shape, but are playable.
Other Thoughts: I had no problem getting a round in, but I played the weekend after Christmas. I don't know if it's more difficult trying to play when there's more activity going on there. There's no checkpoint, so I was able to drive right up the course.
- It should be a good introduction to personel at the NWS, which hopefully should lead to them trying some of the other area courses.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.