Disc Golf Store
Clovis, NM 
Ned Houk Park Share
Uploaded By: ChampionWraith Hole #1 (Taken 4/2014)
4 / 254ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Open Course

5+    4/13/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: ChampionWraith
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open shots, Ace Friendly (I hit one on back 9) No water hazards, nice grassy terrain, great pin placement. Clean park.
Cons: No concrete tee's your throwing off of dirt/grass. Only 9 baskets so locals play a front, back, and a par 3 in one round with all 9 baskets. No trash cans or restrooms. Kids running through park, slowed our game. Baskets only have one placement.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and those awful times when we fall in a slump. A "Motivator" course I finished at -15 playing all par 3's. Oh yea I left this course feeling good.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/23/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. The grass was freshly mowed and the baskets were in great shape. Hole 4 was a fun hole with a tree line between the tee pad and the basket. There were many birdie/ ace holes which makes every hole exciting.
Cons: Before you go to this course read the directions to find the course because I spend 30 minutes looking for the course. I was by the main park not on the right side where you go up the hill. This course was fun but it didn't really present too much of a challenge. Many of the holes were wide open with very, very few obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course. This was a good course for a small town. The course had only one other couple playing so there were no waits. Hole 8 was 120 ft. I think which is either a pro or a con. Either it is really really short or it is an ace hole, take your pick.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ehh, It is what it is.

1    7/23/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a little pit stop, this course has nice circular design that is wide open and great for the first time player. The natural boxes are easy to spot, and a few holes like #3 and #9 provide just enough challenge to improve a beginner's skill level. This course is on a bigger park complex, so the kids can picnic or play by the lake while you hit a 20 minute round with minimal player traffic. Also, there are buffalo next to the park, which is just cool to see.

BEST HOLE/S: #3; #9
Cons: Unfortunately, like many courses of this caliber - it's just not very good for most rec. and above players. #9's length is the only challenge, and if you're halfway decent you should punch yourself in the face if you shoot a four or higher on any other hole. #8 is just silly at 125' and screams ace me because you are already throwing your approach shot off the tee.

There is minimal elevation change, minor tree cover (which is a big deal in the New Mexico summer heat), and only #4 uses the foliage as a real obstacle. The boxes are rutted from weather and use, and is just an annoyance to see 200' holes labeled a par 4 or a 450' hole labeled a par five. I missed some shots and still played ten under according to the posted par my first time out. Finally, this could have been a fluke or time of year - but I was bombarded by flies the entire time on the course and that's just nasty.

WORST HOLE/S: #8
Other Thoughts: I didn't hate this course, based on the premise that I knew what level of course I was about to play. It's a pit stop short open nine-holer out in the middle of nowhere. Looking at it from that angle - the course was then pretty good.

My ultimate suggestion is if you are more than a novice player - simply keep your expectations low and be grateful there is even a place out here to bang some chains and you too can enjoy a quick round or two of golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice starter

2-4    7/13/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: esweat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park, well maintained. Good starter course. Visiting relatives and took my boys and a nephew out for their first time. Course ensured they would experience some level of success on the course.
Cons: Your score will not reflect your ability. There isn't one hole that should be over a par 3 and #8 could easily be a par 2 if that were even possilbe.
Other Thoughts: Take your family and work on your putting, but don't feel too good when you throw underpar.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Starter Course

5+    2/26/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to find and not crowded, good course for new players and it is easy to follow the course from hole to hole. Great for beginners.
Cons: Wind is a major factor, dirt tee boxes that are really rutted out.
Other Thoughts: The par levels that are stated on the tee boxes seem a bit high when compared to other courses with similar holes. If you knock one stroke off and make all the par 4's be a par 3 and the par 5's be a par 4, and the 8th hole be a par 2 the course par levels would better compare to similar courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/17/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: SmittyDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great looking, well maintained, and easy to navigate. A great course for beginners and casual players and pretty decent course for advanced players as well. Lots of different shots, plenty of obstacles and not too crowded.
Cons: There's a pond on the course that never comes into play and a picnic/playground area that can bring up the occasional pedestrian obstacle.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to play with a local, so they can show you the alternate back 9 and the "short 10" that they've come up with, very fun, bringing it to 28 distinct holes.

also, it would be great if someone really familiar with the course could update the par and tee lengths here on the site.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good starter course.

5+    3/29/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: samuelson2484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy 9 hole course with green grass and some trees. Great course for beginners.
Cons: Not very challenging. Hole 8 is under 100 ft. There are only 9 baskets, and the natural tee pads are worn and provide little traction
Other Thoughts: Playing for tags on Sunday adds a level of excitement and competition.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 Hole Course

5+    3/14/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: manuel_g85
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only 9 holes so the course plays quick and does not tire you out. Playing one of the alternate back 9s allows you to play 18 holes total and still have time and energy to keep going! There are several wide open shots with many tree hazards, a water hazard on hole 2, and a few long shots. The most enjoyable holes are the signature hole 6 with an ace or birdie opportunity at the short basket nestled in between the trees and the aceable hole 8. The course has a great secluded location back behind the 3rd pond of Ned Houk park. The 1st tee is right off of the parking.
Cons: Although the terrain is somewhat hilly, the elevation changes are not great. Not very challenging with only a few difficult shots, generally a beginners course. Has dirt run ups which can get muddy if it rains (although rain is rare in Eastern NM).
Other Thoughts: If you play this course with locals, we can guide you on playing the back 9 with alternate pin positions and tees. There is a long back 9 and also an alternate short back 9. Both play the course backwards and add completely different elements to the course. The short back 9 gives lots of ace and birdie opportunities. Locals usually play for tags on Sundays at 2:00 P.M. and anyone is welcome to join us.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.