New Ulm, MN 
Nehl's Park Share
Uploaded By: freddy_j Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 441ft.   4 / --   3 / 474ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/27/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: regularstormy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: relatively open. spinning slide is the highlight of the course
Cons: broken tiles in tee boxes, construction makes 4 holes unplayable, extremely buggy, not well mowed, not very big.
Other Thoughts: unless you live in new ulm, go somewhere else

Nice quiet course

1    4/10/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mstephens627
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Many open holes make the course friendly for beginners
-Many 300+ long holes for more experienced players to throw some bombers
-Clear signage and course navigation
-Nice DiscCatcher baskets
-Dogleg left and right holes
-Practice basket (labeled as #10)
Cons: -Holes 1-4 unplayable due to water tower construction
-Mostly flat
-Few opportunities for ace runs
-Some of the tile tees are sunken or broken toward the front end
-Sometimes the wind can be a factor with this course located at a high point in New Ulm
Other Thoughts: I played this course while I was in the area to camp at nearby Flandrau State Park and found it to be a pretty enjoyable course. Aside from the fact that I could not play the first 4 holes, I found holes 7 and 8 to be the most enjoyable since they offered the technical challenges of weaving through trees and throwing a steep LHBH hyzer over a hedge. Besides these interesting holes, I found the majority of the course to be a bit monotonous with several straight, open 400+ length holes that I primarily used to experiment with my long game. Nevertheless, I must say this course was very straight forward and a joy to play despite the openness. I walked holes 1-4 to investigate whether they were open, and wish they were since holes 2 and 3 offered a couple of LHBH anhyzer shots. Altogether, once these baskets are reinstalled this will once again be a well-rounded course. The only con is the condition of a few of the tile tee pads. With a little bit of attention and minor repairs, this course will look good as new again. I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tile teepads...

1    5/12/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24
Pros: holes were wide open for power distance drives. there was an aceable hole on number 4. also 8 i think it was, is a cool short and sharp dogleg to the right. baskets were nice. signs for the holes were pretty handy.
Cons: tile teepads were cracking and overall just janky. i slipped on hole 5 because of the cracked raised one and it tore a hole in my shoe. on half the holes i would tee off in the grass next to the pad.

generally a wide open course. a few trees but nothing much. power drives are key here.

playground in with the course. also some runner trails too that could pose a problem if you were to hit one. street runs right along the side of hole one.
Other Thoughts: probably wont ever be back. would only play if in the area.

 Nostalgia

5+    5/25/2004   9/25/2011
Review By: evilduck
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course for the beginner. Very forgiving.
Cons: Fewer obstacles than other places.
Other Thoughts: This is where i learned to play, and it works well for every skill level. For the beginner, it allows the opportunity to make mistakes and still get back on track. For the more experienced, there are still obstacles and challenges to get in the way.
Great memories of playing this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Alright

1    6/5/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Signs with distance, hole # and general direction of basket
-Portable bathroom at start/finish
-Easy to follow layout
-Holes 7 and 8 had a different feel than the rest of the course and were very enjoyable
-Doubles Monday nights
-Right next to a state park
-Practice basket before first tee
-Good for a very quick 9
-A little use of elevation
Cons: -Too much distance for most
-Not many obstacles
-Tee boxes cracking and crumbling. I found it better to throw off to the side of some.
-Many holes not very original and/or hard, not many trees and no water.
-Only parking is on street
-Has playground that could come in play on 6 and an exercise loop/equipment that could on many holes
-Most holes play to RHBH- most players so that eliminates even more challenge
Other Thoughts: A decent course that was well designed with the land available. An overall better maintained course than South Park, also in town. South Park may be a little more of a challenge. I would recommend a stop if you would like to experience a quick nine at a new course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nehl's Park in New Ulm, MN

5+    11/20/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 337  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 37.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A great course to work on your drives. Lots of longer holes to let 'er rip!
- A good use of the land available.
- Good practice basket area for working your putting game.
Cons: - Very RHBH/LHFH biased. Hole 8 is more of a "leftie" hole...but other than that, if you aren't RHBH/LHFH with a BIG drive, you're more than likely in for a LONG round.
- Tee pads are in very rough condition, plus they get slick when wet.
- Not a great deal of diversity. Most holes, you can miss your line off the tee by 50+ feet and you're fine. A little TOO open on some holes.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play a quick 2-3 rounds of nine. More hole diversity would be nice, but with the way the land and course lays out, it makes complete sense why the course looks/plays like it does.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open course, well designed

1    11/7/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many wide open holes, moderate obstacles. Good distance variety. Makes use of wooded area very well. Maps were clear. Open environment was welcoming.
Cons: An information booth would be helpful.
Some tee pads were cracked/rough.
Though the holes were not difficult, possibly frustrating for beginners due to distance.
Other Thoughts: This course stands out in that you can actually drive on the majority of the holes. It would get a 3 rating regularly, but most courses are not open with minimal obstacles - very enjoyable to work on/show off power drives!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/4/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: mnjugg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Nice course for distance throwers
* Agree the designer did what he could with available space
* State park next door
*Holes nicely marked
*New baskets
Cons: * Street parking
* Tee boxes need attention
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 is the signature hole. I've never played a hole like that one and I enjoyed it. I would play this course more often if I lived closer. Worth your time if in the area

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

2-4    11/14/2008   6/10/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is something about this course that I like but I just cant figure out what it is. Its pretty open but I feel the designer did the best he could with what he had. Pretty good mixture of long and short holes(Although more long than short) and a couple creative holes. If I lived in the area I would play this course frequently.
Cons: Only nine holes and its pretty open. It co-exists with a lot of other park like things. Tee boxes could use a little help.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Driver time

1    5/31/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pretty good course design given the room available. Has nice signage showing the distance to each basket and basic layout. Most fairways are what I would guess is typically nicely mowed grass. Teepads are pavers, some in better condition than others but none were unreasonable or unplayable. Check your plant foot area before driving.

Has a few pretty good holes given the limitations of the park. Hole 8 is probably the signature hole. 264 feet with a row of bushes in front of the teepad. Plays like a steep anhyzer for the rhbh thrower. Most holes however are pretty basic in design but much longer than you would expect, with 4 of the 9 holes being over 400 feet. Fairways are pretty free of obstacles on most holes.

Has a putting basket labeled number 10.
Cons: Like I mentioned above most holes are just long and sort of straight. Hole 2 is a good example. 360 feet and just a long slow hyzer. Most are just straight. Hole 6 plays very near a playground. Also it has a biffy near the landing area for a reasonable drive

There is a workout station-to-station thing that follows the outside of the park. It does come very near play areas in a few places. Do those things ever see use?
Other Thoughts: Has a Monday evening doubles league. Looks like it sees low-moderate use. Parking is on the street.

Although I seem to be a bit down on this course, with better teepads it would be a very nice place to get a quick round or 2 in and practice both putting and driving after.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.