Disc Golf Center
Providence, NY 
Hyzer Creek Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2010)
5 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
ton o fun

1    7/19/2013   8/8/2014
Review By: boursin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beautiful a combination of long holes and short holes.Great scenery. a fantastic variety of shots. Lots of elevation. (coming from Florida this means a lot). A great deal of "hiking". The pay for play is not a problem, and the cost very reasonable. This course will test your management and your skill level. If you have big arm this is for you. Very little to no water issues except for a couple of creeks.the scenery is wonderful and wild. No crowds when we went.My friends and I love this course and when we are in town again we will most certainly play here again. .
Cons: NONE AT ALL :)
Other Thoughts: come and play the owner(s) are great the course is great and it will test your skill level, maybe not the best course for the novice thrower but you can still have a great time. Be prepared to hike and enjoy the great upstate NY wilderness. We love this place.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great surprise

1    7/14/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: krob190
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The entire course keeps you guessing with a variety of hyzers and anhyzers. There are tight windows that require the occasional thumber or tomahawk and elevated pins that present a lot of challenging putts from the backside of greens.
Cons: The hole signs on the tee markers are small and it is tougher to navigate the map of the hole than it should be. Some baskets should really have flags posted above them to allow for easier spotting along the tree lines.
Other Thoughts: This place is literally in the middle of nowhere and it was a great surprise in terms of quality. There are a few bomber holes where you can unleash the driver, but the majority of the holes require planning and precision. I will most definitely return after the deer flies are gone for the season. Killer track!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Part of the Wilderness

1    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads and descriptive signs at every hole
- Most amazing scenery I have seen on any course
- Hyzer creek is well used throughout the entire course. On one hole the basket is placed within the raging creek
- Lots of elevation including downhill and uphill throws
- You will have to utilize every kind of throw in your arsenal throughout this course
- Not heavily used so it is likely you and your group will be the only people on the course. It will be just you and the beauty of nature.
- Very good directional signage. My group and I navigated the course the first time we played without using a map. Around hole 14 the flow gets a little confusing but there are signs to lead the way. In fact they have signs anticipating wrong moves and telling you to turn back.
- The course is formatted in two loops so at hole 9 you are back at your car if you need to pick something up. You wont want to leave after 9 holes though
- Although the course is mostly wooded there are a few openings which allow for a couple 700 foot holes. These holes have huge boulders with distances printed on them to let you know how far you threw.
- Almost every hole is unique and provides a different challenge or different view. You will not get bored on this course
- Lawn chairs and tables at almost every hole to provide for relaxation and taking in the scenery
- There is protective fences at the tees where it might be possible for someone teeing of to get hit by someones errant throw on the previous hole.
Cons: - There aren't many open longer holes so it might not be appropriate for professional tournaments, however it is definitely enjoyable for all skill levels professionals included
Other Thoughts: I didn't know what to expect, but one glance at the first hole and my jaw dropped. I didn't look back for the rest of the course. I will say I had a lot of fun and did not want my round to end. It was definitely worth the four or five hour trip to play

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course

5+    5/11/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Anna Baker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/16/2013
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I love being out there, there is no encroachment of humanity, no pollution, just wilderness, a clear unpolluted creek, wild animals, and it is extremely quiet and peaceful because the nearest town is many miles away. The fairways are all open at least 20 feet wide so if you miss them it's your fault and if you pure them it's to reward a good throw not "tree love". Pro quality baskets and concrete tee pads on all the holes. One downhill bomb hole is 700 feet long with boulder rocks that mark 400 and 500 feet like on a ball golf driving range to test your Testosterone level even if you're a woman. Good accurate course maps in the pro shop and on every tee sign which give accurate view of each hole. An outhouse with toilet paper near hole 1. The pro shop has a nice selection of discs both new and used, and other disc golf equipment.

Hole 1 is a great downhill shot into a gully, you need to know how to throw down because it drops off 30 feet. Hole 2 is the opposite, it's only 250 feet but it goes up a steep hill at the end so you have to be able to throw 350 feet to reach 250. Hole 3 is very short but goes over the creek, try to slam it into the rocks to stop at the basket. Hole 4 is very tricky as the fairway goes 10 feet uphill and then it's level for the next 300 feet. The next few holes are nice but hole 12 is disc golf paradise because it's a 700 foot downhill shot and the fairway is a 200 feet wide field so you have no excuse not to open up and goose it. More tricky woods holes, then 15 is also an open field, and everybody's favorite is 16 because you have to be able to precisely calculate your upshot within putting in your comfort zone to putt because if you miss the putt it's going to be OB because the basket is in the creek which is 4 feet wide. Makes you decide if you should layup again for the drop in or dig deep into your putting repertoir of your brain and make the 25 footer so your competition has to layup and lose a stroke on you, or go for the putt and go OB and lose 2 strokes on you. Because of this, you never know whose winning until the tides are turned by 16. 17 is a 650 foot crazy dogleg from a huge bomb tee shot over a field and then dogleg into a wooded fairway, for another 350 feet. But my favorite is 18 because it goes over a canyon and the creek is OB. The scores range from 2 to 6 on this, or higher, and it gets aced all the time too. Not unusual to gain or lose several strokes on your competition at the last hole. Some people question that you have to walk back to the tee pad when you finish the hole but it's only 150 feet and it brings you right to hole 1 so it's a good design.
Cons: Blackflies in May, are very bad and swarm around you unless you keep walking or unless it's windy. In the middle of the summer there are also deer flies which can bite right thru your shirt. Both can be handled with copious amounts of DEET. Bring coffee and all provisions because the nearest store is 4 miles away (Stewarts). Only one tee pad per hole, no amateur tees.
Other Thoughts: I just love going there. There are usually cool people on the premises for hanging out some of them even camp overnight, camping is free. Bring your dog or dogs the owner is dog friendly. Don't leave your garbage please take it with you Carry In Carry Out. No illegal substances are allowed.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best!!!

2-4    4/30/2011   4/16/2013
Review By: Semimental
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Hyzer Creek is an Amazing course that everyone should play at least once or more in their lifetime! Well thought out and designed to accommodate any disc golfers who are up for the challenge!!!
Cons: 2 1/2 hrs. from Westchester County, other than that-no complaints
Other Thoughts: Don't pay attention to any negative reviews, No matter how Good a couse is there's always going to be someone who doesn't like it, I'm definitely not one of them, Always have a good time at the Creek!!!

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Substantial but Somewhat Confounding 

1    6/22/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6 Years
31 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Pros: The land is well worked into 18 fairways. The regrowth forest offers some character and ambiance to the course and grounds. Good seclusion and natural beauty.

A wide variety of types of holes exist here, so if a nice diverse scoring experience is what you are after Hyzer Creek will be fun for you. You will find a number of easy deuces, some respectable deuces, some tweeners, and a handful of two shot holes some better than others.
Cons: Cons: The layout is choppy and somewhat convoluted. Two long walkouts across a central area break up the flow of play. Some buffers between holes are too small.

Some greens are less than desirable (3,11,16). 3 and 16 are in a creek. 11 and 16 are just small.

16 in it's totality is not a good hole from initial fairway, to landing area, to approach, to green. No lines and the what could be a cool downhill hole ends up being best played with a series of putter layups.

The tweener holes (4,9,10,14) range from kind of fun (10), to almost ok (9,14), to poor (4). 4 is an unreachable hyzer with the angles of the fairway but a boring and straightforward three. Not only is hole 4 a bad design in terms of golf it is also a safety issue as it plays straight towards hole 5's tee pad with very little buffer. There is a net for protection but it seems unnecessary with plenty of space to work with. 9 is unreachable but has an intreasting drive. It boils down to two approach shots and a three though. 14 is a fun uphill drive through trees but is essentialy unreachable and will result in a boring approach after most good drives. 10 is more reachable but just a bit awkward as it is guarded and uphill so to me it makes a better par 3 or par 4 (depending on your skill level) than any of the other tweeners.

Finally hole 18 is forced at best, completely separate from the rest of the layout. It is a cheap but punishing putter shot across a ravine, and causes you to double right back to where the hole started in order to complete the round.
Other Thoughts: The owner does not always serve his course. His efforts to make his course available to the public range from ambivalent to manic. This is perhaps best demonstrated by the progression of driving onto the property. First off, arriving in the parking area causes a question as to if you are in the right place, as it could be confused with just another mountain camp. Meeting the owner does not quite alleviate the feeling that you are in the wrong place either. While assuring you that it is indeed the correct address the question seems to linger as to whether the owner wishes you even knew that address. Intentionaly or not he does not always make his guests feel very welcome.

31 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

2-4    12/5/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
7 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Well planned hyzer and anyzer shots, alternate combination of long holes and short holes, good solid pins and cleared greens, concrete pads, lots of OB, short walking distance between holes, not crowded, no waiting, beautiful unspoiled woods, lots of elevation changes, maps printed out, score cards with pencils in the drawer, fair but difficult flight paths, this is not a course for beginners but helped me improve my game because you have to work for par on every hole, no GIMME birdies here. I love the fact that many of the holes are par 4 and even 5. Morgan built this course and i was honored that he played a round with me and gave me the red carpet treatment by telling me the run down on each hole. He basically carved this course from woods as opposed to most courses at home which are in parks. Some of the pins are installed in rocks! Check out hole 14!!
Cons: Parking lot is not shoveled in the winter and people were getting stuck. Park on the highway there is no problem there.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while staying with family in northern New York (Lake George) and was not expecting anything here, I was told there wouldnt be anything but was very surprised to find this amazing gem of a course.

7 of 24 people found this review helpful.

From the ashes, Hyzer rises

2-4    8/18/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course carved out of a wooded plot in the southern edge of the Adirondacks.
- Devotion - Morgan took this course from blank slate and basically designed and built this on his own - felled trees, removed/burned (controlled) brush, moved boulders, dragged concrete tee pads - you name it, he did it himself
- Private course, so $5 donation is strongly encouraged to help continued upkeep and improvements
- Practice basket right near parking/hole #1
- Beautiful wooded course with a variety of hole types - many short tight holes, which are challenging and rewarding if you hit the line (#1, #3, #11, #18, etc.) - open drive holes gives you room to stretch your arm out (#5, #12, #15, #17, etc.)
- Elevation really comes into play - you get to tackle multiple uphill and downhill drives and approaches - combined with numerous trees and right/left turns makes for wonderful challenges
- Signature holes - some courses are lucky to have 1 hole that you clearly remember and look forward to playing, well...this course has 2 of them! With all due respect to the entire course (I love holes 1, 5, 13, 15), holes #12 (essentially a DG driving range, with an elevated tee, 600' of a wide open field, complete with distance markers painted on boulders, then a cool approach over a boulder filled creek to an elevated pin in a wooded cove) and #16 (wind your way down a tight, challenging fairway to eventually be greeted by the coolest pin I've come across, which is set in stones in the middle of the gentle creek, which is not so wide/deep/fast that a missed or errant throw would make you lose a disc)
- You don't have all of the short holes right in a row or all of the big open holes right in a row
- Concrete tees create consistent, even footing
- Excellent tee signs, with great info and distances
- Baskets have a bit of variety, but are all in good shape
- "Next tee" signs create very easy navigation
- Seating/benches
- Very little, to no, trash
- This course makes you work and improve your game - until playing this course, I didn't have to worry about a power uphill hyzer or the importance of laser lines through tight alleys - a par 3 hole can turn into a 5 or 6 quickly without finesse here
Cons: Not much and dwarfed by the pros:
- While the concrete pads are nice and certainly better than bumpy dirt/gravel, since they mostly sit an inch or 2 above grade (intentional to avoid water pooling/freezing), the small size makes a larger runup difficult for people who want/need it
- While the "new new" hole #17 (long tee) is very fun and challenging, your drive goes headfirst into the second half of #12's fairway, which could be a problem if someone from #12 is out of sight in the brush looking for their errant drive - some delays/spotters needed on crowded days or tourneys - also, the "walk" from the tee down to the creek is a bit cumbersome
- Hole #18 kind of takes you away from the parking lot, so you actually have to backtrack down the fairway once you're done (it's a short hole, though)
- Bridges and stone walkways over the creek are not incredibly sturdy
Other Thoughts: - Course map not on site, but it is available on the website and navigation is pretty easy anyway
- 2nd half of fairway #17 is a bit rough, since it was only recently carved out - soon enough, everything will be dead and trampled down
- Not much parking (save the land for quality DG holes), but not a problem on regular days - can be crowded for tourneys, so please car pool
- Bring bug spray during warm/muggy months

This course really in a gem in the Adirondacks. The course itself is varied, challenging and fun, but the real impressive thing is how it was just carved out from nothing (or burned out - check out the videos on youtube), rather than having a park or trails as framework.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 high expectations, but i still liked it

1    9/7/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: JAKE master
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
53 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: very challenging. concrete tee boxes. seating at most holes.mostly shaded. some holes had great signage others ok but they are faded and showing signs of wear. use of all throwing styles needed. it was layed out so you could really play any combination of holes in various random orders if you were short on time or just wanted to throw a few more after 18. ie you could skip 5 and 6 and play 7 and 8 without much walking distance. i did not see garbage anywhere.
Cons: challenging. therefore could be discouraging. i did not see garbage cans. thickly wooded outside fairways, or rough, while still having the intended fairway wooded. tee boxes had no standard size. at 6' tall some tee boxes were too small for a one step backhand. in addition they were elevated about ground level. stumps, rocks , and other debris make for an ankle busting oasis in the fairways. if you have weak ankles or poor balance you might want to skip this one. most all the baskets had no back side putting green. it seemed 8ft behind every basket was wooded rough. just seemed poorly planned. map seemed out of scale. we found our way fine, but the intended route descriptions seemed off.
Other Thoughts: im sure locals will hate me for posting this rating, but this course was just not a 5 star course. just because its " 2nd" best in NY does not make it a 5 star. i wish i would have had the time to play the course twice because i did feel some holes were a little deceiving. there were alot of up hill shots i would have liked another shot at. 5 in particular. it was pretty dry when i played but i imagine this place good be loaded with mosquitoes and deer flys early in the season. might want to bring bug spray with you. mud also inevitable year round as you will be crossing the creek several times. i would suggest a light hiking shoe to conquer the terrain. my girlfriend wore running shoes and she did not fair so well with traction. all in all it was a weird, perhaps unique, course but one none the less.

53 of 62 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful woods course

1    8/19/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
30 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through hilly woods with dense trees and enough underbrush to punish errant shots. There are usually recovery lines available, but you'll pay for missing your line. There is a really nice mix of hole lengths, with some ace runs and some long holes including the big open downhill bomb and some tight longer holes that make most players execute a fairway shot to get to the pin. There is also a really nice mix of hole shapes, you'll need all kinds of shots to be successful and it plays balanced between right and left turning fairways.

The signs are descriptive enough to give a good idea of hole distance and layout, and the course flow is excellent with no real navigation issues. Just about every hole has decent concrete pads, quite a feat getting them in all the way in the back of the course. There were some very creative basket placements on slopes and one in a creek adding some risk to the short game. The front and back 9s loop back to the beginning of the course which is a nice bonus.
Cons: A few holes still had natural pads when I played, and those weren't very level. A couple of the concrete pads were a little small and raised above the grade making them a bit awkward. Some of the creek crossings are a bit rickety, though having anything on a private course is nice. A few areas of the course were a bit muddy and eroded.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty rugged, though if you are up for the hike the holes are not terribly long. More experienced players will find some interesting challenges and variety, it's not the toughest course but it does make you hit some nice technical lines. I would definitely play here again, it's a fun layout and a ton of work has gone into making it a nice place to play.

30 of 32 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.