Providence, NY 
Hyzer Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
5 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Hyzered Out

1    8/4/2016   11/3/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course with 18 holes traversing across a beautiful Adirondack mountain forest. The course gives you a little bit of everything playing downhill, uphill, across slope, straight, left and right curves. The elevation is more hilly than mountainous and incorporated well into the course. All the holes are wooded and the fairways range from very generous to moderate to quite tight. Good mix of distances and pars. Course was well maintained with very little underbrush. Nice tees and baskets with decent tee signage. Two loops of holes back to parking lot.
Cons: Only one playable layout. Holes 12 and 17 have some interfering overlap mid fairway. Hole 18 is out of flow and backtracks to parking lot. Annoying flying insects.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great experience at Hyzer Creek as evidenced by giving this a "very good" rating. Rec to intermediate players will really enjoy the course the most and caters well to them challenge wise. For me it was a little on the short and easy side except for a couple poke and hopes.

The course was very solid on the whole front 9 and I was welcomed on hole 1 with a metal hit off the tee and hole 5 was probably my favorite. Then the course kind of hyzered out on the back 9 for me a little bit in places on 10, 11, the signature hole 16 tight winding "fairway" with the basket in the creek and the awkward flow to 18. Holes 12 and 15 were my favorites on the back 9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A rugged challenge

1    10/5/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 51  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.3 Years
18 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent, challenging layout with lots of variety. Reminds me of Nockamixon, only a bit smaller. Some serious elevation changes, left & right doglegs, a creek that very much comes into play, length in addition to short gauntlets. Rocky and stumpy fairways make the course play longer as you'll rarely be able to run up. Get off the fairway and you'll have trouble due to the trees, but won't have to worry about thorns or ticks either. There's a lean-to, presumably for some quiet partying. Front 9 ends back at the clubhouse, which is convenient.
Cons: The ruggedness is a con for casual players and families. No real facilities; there is an outhouse for ladies, but no potable water. No optional shorter tees or baskets for amateurs. "New" hole 17 was extremely swampy and borderline unplayable. Hole 18 is all by itself and out of the way... I'd call it poor design, but I like the hole a lot and would hate to see it change. Creek crossings are sketchy (bouncy ladders placed on the ground with wood on top). No teepads or tee markers, just a poorly defined gravel area. Would benefit from 1 or 2 more open holes.
Other Thoughts: You'll have to sign a waiver, and there is a suggested donation at the door. Glad to see someone loves the game so much to provide the land and put in the work, especially with nothing else in a 50-mile radius. I was about a half foot from an eagle on 16 due to some lucky shots, but ended up in the drink for a tap-in 5. If you're an advanced player, I'd say this is a must-play. Beginners beware.

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A good mix of long and short holes and wooded and open as well. Creek comes into play on a couple of holes and has one of the most unique basket placements ever. Basket on number 16 is placed in the middle of a creek. (about 8-10 feet wide) One man crew designed, cut and maintains the course and was much better than I originally was thinking it would be. Tees are marked well, but you should print out a map before going. A lot of walking between holes, and the flow of the course can be tricky at times. However, for a one man operation this is a great course. Not a roller course as the terrain is rocky, and lots of tree trunks.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged Terrain!

4/21/2007   8/10/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 338  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.5 Years
12 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Basket in the river = genius. Why haven't we seen this before? Very impressive tree-clearing. This course was carved like the Colorado carved the Grand Canyon. Oh, and there's serious elevation challenges (in a very good way).
Cons: LOTS of stumps on some holes and the limited open thing mentioned above. Lack of signage but if it's not open to the public year-round it's really not needed.
Other Thoughts: A must-play for everyone. I don't know how this could be called a novelty course even if you only consider #16's basket in the river.

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center