Providence, NY 
Hyzer Creek Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 162ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Part of the Wilderness

1    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads and descriptive signs at every hole
- Most amazing scenery I have seen on any course
- Hyzer creek is well used throughout the entire course. On one hole the basket is placed within the raging creek
- Lots of elevation including downhill and uphill throws
- You will have to utilize every kind of throw in your arsenal throughout this course
- Not heavily used so it is likely you and your group will be the only people on the course. It will be just you and the beauty of nature.
- Very good directional signage. My group and I navigated the course the first time we played without using a map. Around hole 14 the flow gets a little confusing but there are signs to lead the way. In fact they have signs anticipating wrong moves and telling you to turn back.
- The course is formatted in two loops so at hole 9 you are back at your car if you need to pick something up. You wont want to leave after 9 holes though
- Although the course is mostly wooded there are a few openings which allow for a couple 700 foot holes. These holes have huge boulders with distances printed on them to let you know how far you threw.
- Almost every hole is unique and provides a different challenge or different view. You will not get bored on this course
- Lawn chairs and tables at almost every hole to provide for relaxation and taking in the scenery
- There is protective fences at the tees where it might be possible for someone teeing of to get hit by someones errant throw on the previous hole.
Cons: - There aren't many open longer holes so it might not be appropriate for professional tournaments, however it is definitely enjoyable for all skill levels professionals included
Other Thoughts: I didn't know what to expect, but one glance at the first hole and my jaw dropped. I didn't look back for the rest of the course. I will say I had a lot of fun and did not want my round to end. It was definitely worth the four or five hour trip to play

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

From the ashes, Hyzer rises

2-4    8/18/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course carved out of a wooded plot in the southern edge of the Adirondacks.
- Devotion - Morgan took this course from blank slate and basically designed and built this on his own - felled trees, removed/burned (controlled) brush, moved boulders, dragged concrete tee pads - you name it, he did it himself
- Private course, so $5 donation is strongly encouraged to help continued upkeep and improvements
- Practice basket right near parking/hole #1
- Beautiful wooded course with a variety of hole types - many short tight holes, which are challenging and rewarding if you hit the line (#1, #3, #11, #18, etc.) - open drive holes gives you room to stretch your arm out (#5, #12, #15, #17, etc.)
- Elevation really comes into play - you get to tackle multiple uphill and downhill drives and approaches - combined with numerous trees and right/left turns makes for wonderful challenges
- Signature holes - some courses are lucky to have 1 hole that you clearly remember and look forward to playing, well...this course has 2 of them! With all due respect to the entire course (I love holes 1, 5, 13, 15), holes #12 (essentially a DG driving range, with an elevated tee, 600' of a wide open field, complete with distance markers painted on boulders, then a cool approach over a boulder filled creek to an elevated pin in a wooded cove) and #16 (wind your way down a tight, challenging fairway to eventually be greeted by the coolest pin I've come across, which is set in stones in the middle of the gentle creek, which is not so wide/deep/fast that a missed or errant throw would make you lose a disc)
- You don't have all of the short holes right in a row or all of the big open holes right in a row
- Concrete tees create consistent, even footing
- Excellent tee signs, with great info and distances
- Baskets have a bit of variety, but are all in good shape
- "Next tee" signs create very easy navigation
- Seating/benches
- Very little, to no, trash
- This course makes you work and improve your game - until playing this course, I didn't have to worry about a power uphill hyzer or the importance of laser lines through tight alleys - a par 3 hole can turn into a 5 or 6 quickly without finesse here
Cons: Not much and dwarfed by the pros:
- While the concrete pads are nice and certainly better than bumpy dirt/gravel, since they mostly sit an inch or 2 above grade (intentional to avoid water pooling/freezing), the small size makes a larger runup difficult for people who want/need it
- While the "new new" hole #17 (long tee) is very fun and challenging, your drive goes headfirst into the second half of #12's fairway, which could be a problem if someone from #12 is out of sight in the brush looking for their errant drive - some delays/spotters needed on crowded days or tourneys - also, the "walk" from the tee down to the creek is a bit cumbersome
- Hole #18 kind of takes you away from the parking lot, so you actually have to backtrack down the fairway once you're done (it's a short hole, though)
- Bridges and stone walkways over the creek are not incredibly sturdy
Other Thoughts: - Course map not on site, but it is available on the website and navigation is pretty easy anyway
- 2nd half of fairway #17 is a bit rough, since it was only recently carved out - soon enough, everything will be dead and trampled down
- Not much parking (save the land for quality DG holes), but not a problem on regular days - can be crowded for tourneys, so please car pool
- Bring bug spray during warm/muggy months

This course really in a gem in the Adirondacks. The course itself is varied, challenging and fun, but the real impressive thing is how it was just carved out from nothing (or burned out - check out the videos on youtube), rather than having a park or trails as framework.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful woods course

1    8/19/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
30 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through hilly woods with dense trees and enough underbrush to punish errant shots. There are usually recovery lines available, but you'll pay for missing your line. There is a really nice mix of hole lengths, with some ace runs and some long holes including the big open downhill bomb and some tight longer holes that make most players execute a fairway shot to get to the pin. There is also a really nice mix of hole shapes, you'll need all kinds of shots to be successful and it plays balanced between right and left turning fairways.

The signs are descriptive enough to give a good idea of hole distance and layout, and the course flow is excellent with no real navigation issues. Just about every hole has decent concrete pads, quite a feat getting them in all the way in the back of the course. There were some very creative basket placements on slopes and one in a creek adding some risk to the short game. The front and back 9s loop back to the beginning of the course which is a nice bonus.
Cons: A few holes still had natural pads when I played, and those weren't very level. A couple of the concrete pads were a little small and raised above the grade making them a bit awkward. Some of the creek crossings are a bit rickety, though having anything on a private course is nice. A few areas of the course were a bit muddy and eroded.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty rugged, though if you are up for the hike the holes are not terribly long. More experienced players will find some interesting challenges and variety, it's not the toughest course but it does make you hit some nice technical lines. I would definitely play here again, it's a fun layout and a ton of work has gone into making it a nice place to play.

30 of 32 people found this review helpful.

 Great Adirondack Course

2-4    8/29/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: swiltse
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Dedicated disc golf course
-Intelligent design utilizing the beautiful landscape
-Variety of holes from short tight to long and open
-Elevation on almost all holes
-Well designed fairways
-Starting to get concrete tee pads
-Looks like DGA Mach baskets with some custom stands
-Some very interesting pin locations
-Signs on all tees and trees marked for path to next tee
-Nestled on private land in the Adirondack mountains, a beautiful setting for a course
Cons: Can't think of to many so...
-Private, pay to play(optional)
Other Thoughts: Got a chance to play this course twice on my way to and from Lake George. The course is amazing in my opinion. I love the Adirondacks and it's great to see a course utilize such a beautiful natural environment. I was lucky enough to enjoy moderate temps(mid 70s) and didn't experience any bug problems, but I'm sure they exist as you are in the wilderness. The course could be tough on people not in shape as there is constant elevation change and it ends up being quite a work out by the end, but that makes it all the more worth while. The course is tough, but fair with quite a few risk/reward shots. I would probably recommend against bringing a beginner here as it could be quite tough on someone without accuracy and several different throws. For the seasoned player it is a gem that is probably underutilized given it's location. They were in the process of adding concrete tee pads with a few already installed. The gravel tees were in good shape and fairly level, much better than most natural tees I've used. I would highly recommend this course to anyone traveling in the area.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged ‘old school’ disc golf

1    7/5/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 122  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.4 Years
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: • Mainly technical woods holes with some open fairways
• Rugged 'old school' disc golf feel
• Secluded and private - disc golf only!
• Elevation integrated on practically every hole
• Hyzer creek appears as a hazard on a third of the holes (shallow and non-disc eating)
• Low disc loss possibilities
• For land available, its intelligently designed and flows well for the most part
• Signage at all of the natural/gravel tee pads
• Red circles painted on trees showing the path to next tee (as well as some 'next tee' signs and arrows)
• Tough mentally (tight woods) and physically (up/down elevation) but extremely fair
• Very creative pin placements (on rocks, in creek) and challenging (sloping, elevated, drop offs, by creek)
• Custom baskets in great shape
• Not for the casual or recreational player
Cons:
• Deer flies in summer were tremendously/immensely/immeasurably annoying even wearing bug repellent!
• lack of amenities (on private land)
• ruggedness may be turn off for some players especially novices or beginners
• some players may find natural/gravel tees to be a 'con'
• Pay to play/signing waiver (this is private land, course was created by owner so not a problem for me but it may be for some)
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing a course located on someone's private land and I have to say, it was quite an enjoyable experience even though in the mid-90's, ridiculously humid & teeming with continuous insect incursion.

Except for holes 5, 8, 12 and 16 (the latter which has an extremely generous par of 5 taking into account a layup stroke due to the basket in the creek), this course is old school par 3 disc golf. Meaning that many holes have a shorter length with most of the difficultly found in some combination of tight, technical wooded fairways, elevation changes, water hazards, trouble off the fairway and strategic basket placements.

Also reminiscent of 'traditional' disc golf was the rugged, secluded & unspoiled feel of the course. Being on private land and an exclusive disc golf area are also big plusses.

It's apparent how much thought, effort, hard work and dedication the owner has invested in Hyzer Creek as this hidden gem will only reveal itself to those fortunate enough to play it. So what are you waiting for? Go give it a play!

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Waaaay out-up in the BOONIES!

1    8/7/2007   2/7/2008
Review By: Shadwrack
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: gorgeous woods, unique basket placement, unique hole layouts,
great hike all the way through & around course, short hikes from tee to tee
Cons: hard to find, rugged parking areas, buggy at times, bigfoot interference,
disc loss, woods-woods-woods, tight fairways. now with concrete t-pads awesome!!!
Other Thoughts: NOT a course for beginners nor the casual disc golfer, play with Morgan...
he is very knowledgable, play with a group not alone...it will be more fun

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Toughest course I've played!

4/21/2007   8/10/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
10 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: every hole will challenge your skills. Definately not a novelty in my opinion. Very creative and scenic.
Cons: Not open to public. Unless your A course sponsor (?) you can't play this course except for the two tourney's they have each year.
Other Thoughts: Wish I had this course in my back yard!

10 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.