Providence, NY
Hyzer Creek Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 544ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 I love this course

5+    5/11/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Anna Baker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/16/2013
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I love being out there, there is no encroachment of humanity, no pollution, just wilderness, a clear unpolluted creek, wild animals, and it is extremely quiet and peaceful because the nearest town is many miles away. The fairways are all open at least 20 feet wide so if you miss them it's your fault and if you pure them it's to reward a good throw not "tree love". Pro quality baskets and concrete tee pads on all the holes. One downhill bomb hole is 700 feet long with boulder rocks that mark 400 and 500 feet like on a ball golf driving range to test your Testosterone level even if you're a woman. Good accurate course maps in the pro shop and on every tee sign which give accurate view of each hole. An outhouse with toilet paper near hole 1. The pro shop has a nice selection of discs both new and used, and other disc golf equipment.

Hole 1 is a great downhill shot into a gully, you need to know how to throw down because it drops off 30 feet. Hole 2 is the opposite, it's only 250 feet but it goes up a steep hill at the end so you have to be able to throw 350 feet to reach 250. Hole 3 is very short but goes over the creek, try to slam it into the rocks to stop at the basket. Hole 4 is very tricky as the fairway goes 10 feet uphill and then it's level for the next 300 feet. The next few holes are nice but hole 12 is disc golf paradise because it's a 700 foot downhill shot and the fairway is a 200 feet wide field so you have no excuse not to open up and goose it. More tricky woods holes, then 15 is also an open field, and everybody's favorite is 16 because you have to be able to precisely calculate your upshot within putting in your comfort zone to putt because if you miss the putt it's going to be OB because the basket is in the creek which is 4 feet wide. Makes you decide if you should layup again for the drop in or dig deep into your putting repertoir of your brain and make the 25 footer so your competition has to layup and lose a stroke on you, or go for the putt and go OB and lose 2 strokes on you. Because of this, you never know whose winning until the tides are turned by 16. 17 is a 650 foot crazy dogleg from a huge bomb tee shot over a field and then dogleg into a wooded fairway, for another 350 feet. But my favorite is 18 because it goes over a canyon and the creek is OB. The scores range from 2 to 6 on this, or higher, and it gets aced all the time too. Not unusual to gain or lose several strokes on your competition at the last hole. Some people question that you have to walk back to the tee pad when you finish the hole but it's only 150 feet and it brings you right to hole 1 so it's a good design.
Cons: Blackflies in May, are very bad and swarm around you unless you keep walking or unless it's windy. In the middle of the summer there are also deer flies which can bite right thru your shirt. Both can be handled with copious amounts of DEET. Bring coffee and all provisions because the nearest store is 4 miles away (Stewarts). Only one tee pad per hole, no amateur tees.
Other Thoughts: I just love going there. There are usually cool people on the premises for hanging out some of them even camp overnight, camping is free. Bring your dog or dogs the owner is dog friendly. Don't leave your garbage please take it with you Carry In Carry Out. No illegal substances are allowed.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best!!!

2-4    4/30/2011   4/16/2013
Review By: Semimental
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Hyzer Creek is an Amazing course that everyone should play at least once or more in their lifetime! Well thought out and designed to accommodate any disc golfers who are up for the challenge!!!
Cons: 2 1/2 hrs. from Westchester County, other than that-no complaints
Other Thoughts: Don't pay attention to any negative reviews, No matter how Good a couse is there's always going to be someone who doesn't like it, I'm definitely not one of them, Always have a good time at the Creek!!!

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

2-4    12/5/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
6 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Well planned hyzer and anyzer shots, alternate combination of long holes and short holes, good solid pins and cleared greens, concrete pads, lots of OB, short walking distance between holes, not crowded, no waiting, beautiful unspoiled woods, lots of elevation changes, maps printed out, score cards with pencils in the drawer, fair but difficult flight paths, this is not a course for beginners but helped me improve my game because you have to work for par on every hole, no GIMME birdies here. I love the fact that many of the holes are par 4 and even 5. Morgan built this course and i was honored that he played a round with me and gave me the red carpet treatment by telling me the run down on each hole. He basically carved this course from woods as opposed to most courses at home which are in parks. Some of the pins are installed in rocks! Check out hole 14!!
Cons: Parking lot is not shoveled in the winter and people were getting stuck. Park on the highway there is no problem there.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while staying with family in northern New York (Lake George) and was not expecting anything here, I was told there wouldnt be anything but was very surprised to find this amazing gem of a course.

6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 A must-play course, wherever you are

1    12/4/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.8 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The course. The whole course is excellent with a variety of holes. From small, compact shots through the woods to the virtual driving range of more than 700 feet. And that one has water to worry about (I know, I splashed down there!).

- Design. The course has all sorts of holes from doglegs, to straight, to long, to short. There's water and creativity. Why wouldn't someone want to play here?

- Terrain. If you are looking for a place where it's all flat and open, go elsewhere. This course has a couple of "flatter" holes, but you're going to go up and down and really feel like you've had a bit of a workout when done. It's really nice.

- Upkeep. Everything here seems excellent. There were a couple of wet spots, but unless Morgan is tapped into Mother Nature's phone, I'm not sure how this would be done. The fairways are easily seen and the signs are very helpful.

- Serenity. With this being in the Adirondacks and being private, there's no worry of people just hiking around or doing something else. People you'll see are disc golfers and that's excellent. We were out there and didn't hear hardly anyone. So nice. Peaceful, too.

- Tee signs. There are signs at each tee and arrows or orange blazes to lead you to the next tee. Very nice, especially when in the woods!

- The beginning. Scorecards. Maps. A spot for found discs. It's very nice before you get going. It's well worth donating to the cause here. Be generous if you can!
Cons: - It's a hike for me to get here, or I'd play it a bit more to get a better feel of it!

- Beginners beware. Though you can easily play the course, don't expect to put up great numbers right away. The course isn't a pitch-and-putt and it's going to challenge your physical abilities and mind. I felt all of this and then some. But when done, I realized I wanted to play this one more than this time to see if I can continue to improve here!

Neither of these are a true con. This course is really awesome. Any little things that might be an irk are quickly wiped out by a great course and everything else.
Other Thoughts: Awesome!

If you like disc golf, hiking and the outdoors, this course is everything you could possibly want and then some. You're in the woods, hiking with elevation changes on an incredible course that makes you realize how wonderful this game is.

It's not easy, however. This course is tough as can be and reels you in when you think you can figure things out. For a newcomer (such as myself), it was difficult and frustrating, but makes you want to come back again and again to try and figure it out.

My favorite holes were No. 12, No. 16 and No. 18.

On 12, I will like it even more when I can grip it and rip it a little better. No. 16 is simply incredible and creative beyond what I would think. Way too cool. And No. 18 is my favorite on the course. That is absolutely wild. I really enjoyed that one and could have played it over and over. I honestly can't think of a hole I really didn't like. I had some "least favorites," for this reason or that, but I loved the whole course.

I look forward to coming back and playing this as many times as I can!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  Zen + The Art of Hyzer Creek

5+    5/20/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: scoontar
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Great Course-Incredibly fun design. Many Birdy Opportunities-Extremely liberal Pars.
Morgan has truly created a genius masterpiece of a course.
I play Pro, and this course is great for the experienced Disc Golfer.
One of the best I've ever played.
Other Thoughts: Thanks Morgan!!!

If there was a Disc Golf Hall of Fame in the Albany Area-Morgan would be the first one inducted.

9 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    12/24/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The Adirondack Mountain Region needs more courses like this one. There are some tight technical holes where if you stray from your line you will be in trouble. However, there are enough open fairways to balance it out. The course starts out with three birdie attempts in a row. However, do not let that fool you, holes 4 and 5 should have no problem adding any stokes that you might have shaved off on the first three holes. Holes 6 and 7 are two more birdie able holes. Some of the holes are short but the risks are great. Hole 12 is a beautiful 700 ft wide open down hill par 4, which will test how far you can throw a disc. That hole alone makes me keep coming back for more. I dred playing hole 16, a long snake through the woods. I have seen some great players get 7s. There are many chances to hit trees and hole 18 in not any different.
Cons: The only con to this course is that it is not close to many people. It also might be hard to find for some first timers.
Other Thoughts: The amount of personal time spent on this course is unbelievable! It is privately owned so BYOB! Hyzer Creek is worth the drive.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 unbelievable course

5+    11/5/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: discgirly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Elevation, elevation, elevation. Creek, clear fairways, beautiful land, quality chains (what are they?) dedicated course (no strollers or pedestrians) well designed fairways. Just a gorgeous course.
Cons: Needs concrete tee pads to be world class. But the gravel pads are ok. Also, I don't like pay for play and prefer courses that are free.

6 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    9/16/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: tuskalosadizzle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 11/13/2009
5 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Even though I've been to many courses, this is the best by far. LOTS of elevation, the fairways are fair, the pins are excellent, and the land is gorgeous unspoiled land. The creek comes into play on many holes. There are no park users to interfere with your throw or make you wait.
Cons: I can't think of anything wrong with this course. One of the holes is a little swampy but it rained right before I was there. The tee pads could use a little work.

5 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.