Disc Golf Store
Providence, NY
Hyzer Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / 544ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A must-play course, wherever you are

1    12/4/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.8 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The course. The whole course is excellent with a variety of holes. From small, compact shots through the woods to the virtual driving range of more than 700 feet. And that one has water to worry about (I know, I splashed down there!).

- Design. The course has all sorts of holes from doglegs, to straight, to long, to short. There's water and creativity. Why wouldn't someone want to play here?

- Terrain. If you are looking for a place where it's all flat and open, go elsewhere. This course has a couple of "flatter" holes, but you're going to go up and down and really feel like you've had a bit of a workout when done. It's really nice.

- Upkeep. Everything here seems excellent. There were a couple of wet spots, but unless Morgan is tapped into Mother Nature's phone, I'm not sure how this would be done. The fairways are easily seen and the signs are very helpful.

- Serenity. With this being in the Adirondacks and being private, there's no worry of people just hiking around or doing something else. People you'll see are disc golfers and that's excellent. We were out there and didn't hear hardly anyone. So nice. Peaceful, too.

- Tee signs. There are signs at each tee and arrows or orange blazes to lead you to the next tee. Very nice, especially when in the woods!

- The beginning. Scorecards. Maps. A spot for found discs. It's very nice before you get going. It's well worth donating to the cause here. Be generous if you can!
Cons: - It's a hike for me to get here, or I'd play it a bit more to get a better feel of it!

- Beginners beware. Though you can easily play the course, don't expect to put up great numbers right away. The course isn't a pitch-and-putt and it's going to challenge your physical abilities and mind. I felt all of this and then some. But when done, I realized I wanted to play this one more than this time to see if I can continue to improve here!

Neither of these are a true con. This course is really awesome. Any little things that might be an irk are quickly wiped out by a great course and everything else.
Other Thoughts: Awesome!

If you like disc golf, hiking and the outdoors, this course is everything you could possibly want and then some. You're in the woods, hiking with elevation changes on an incredible course that makes you realize how wonderful this game is.

It's not easy, however. This course is tough as can be and reels you in when you think you can figure things out. For a newcomer (such as myself), it was difficult and frustrating, but makes you want to come back again and again to try and figure it out.

My favorite holes were No. 12, No. 16 and No. 18.

On 12, I will like it even more when I can grip it and rip it a little better. No. 16 is simply incredible and creative beyond what I would think. Way too cool. And No. 18 is my favorite on the course. That is absolutely wild. I really enjoyed that one and could have played it over and over. I honestly can't think of a hole I really didn't like. I had some "least favorites," for this reason or that, but I loved the whole course.

I look forward to coming back and playing this as many times as I can!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the drive

1    10/13/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: In the thick woods of the Southern Adirondack Mountains. Just a perfect spot for DG. Woods, elevation, rocks and a creek. Plus it's a private course so you don't need to worry about dodging park users, or getting caught sipping a brew in public. The woods are thick so you really feel like you're all alone in the world while playing. Most concrete pads are in place. Morgan was finishing the rest while I was there. Next year they'll all be in. Current natural pads were not a problem. Navigation was easy and there are signs at every tee showing layout and distance. Baskets are all in excedllent condition. Great variety. Some ace runs, a few long holes, tons of uphill and downhill throws. Never bored. Just fun freaking golf.
Cons: All the concrete pads weren't in while I was there.

I only had time for 1 round.

It's too far for me to play very often.
Other Thoughts: I went to Hyzer expecting a super-difficult course with extremely tight fairways, big uphill throws, and punishing climbs. I got some off that. But the design is so well done that, and the course flows so nicely that you never feel like you're being worked over. Once it beats you down a little, it throws a nice little tight, short ace run hole at you. You get a breather, and then it comes back at you on the next hole. There is such great variety that you don't mind the long uphill holes that kick your rear. The first few holes warm you up with nice, short birdie or ace opportunities, then the course heats up and starts throwing longer uphill challenges in front of you.

#12 is a 711' down hill throw over an open field. There are huge boulders in the field with footage markers on them so you can gauge your distance. IT"S A DG DRIVING RANGE!!! Very cool. Unless you can't reach that first boulder (400') like me. Made me sad. Then you must get over the creek and throw into the woods towards the basket. As some would say, AWESOMESAUCE!

#16 is a 461' downhill shot through some very tight woods. The basket is conveniently located on a rock in the middle of the creek. Just another great hole.

Kudos to Morgan for building this course. It is one of the best. Make sure to leave him as nice a donation as you can. He's obviously put a lot of time and effort into the property.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  Zen + The Art of Hyzer Creek

5+    5/20/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: scoontar
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Great Course-Incredibly fun design. Many Birdy Opportunities-Extremely liberal Pars.
Morgan has truly created a genius masterpiece of a course.
I play Pro, and this course is great for the experienced Disc Golfer.
One of the best I've ever played.
Other Thoughts: Thanks Morgan!!!

If there was a Disc Golf Hall of Fame in the Albany Area-Morgan would be the first one inducted.

9 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Great Adirondack Course

2-4    8/29/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: swiltse
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Dedicated disc golf course
-Intelligent design utilizing the beautiful landscape
-Variety of holes from short tight to long and open
-Elevation on almost all holes
-Well designed fairways
-Starting to get concrete tee pads
-Looks like DGA Mach baskets with some custom stands
-Some very interesting pin locations
-Signs on all tees and trees marked for path to next tee
-Nestled on private land in the Adirondack mountains, a beautiful setting for a course
Cons: Can't think of to many so...
-Private, pay to play(optional)
Other Thoughts: Got a chance to play this course twice on my way to and from Lake George. The course is amazing in my opinion. I love the Adirondacks and it's great to see a course utilize such a beautiful natural environment. I was lucky enough to enjoy moderate temps(mid 70s) and didn't experience any bug problems, but I'm sure they exist as you are in the wilderness. The course could be tough on people not in shape as there is constant elevation change and it ends up being quite a work out by the end, but that makes it all the more worth while. The course is tough, but fair with quite a few risk/reward shots. I would probably recommend against bringing a beginner here as it could be quite tough on someone without accuracy and several different throws. For the seasoned player it is a gem that is probably underutilized given it's location. They were in the process of adding concrete tee pads with a few already installed. The gravel tees were in good shape and fairly level, much better than most natural tees I've used. I would highly recommend this course to anyone traveling in the area.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged ‘old school’ disc golf

1    7/5/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 114  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: • Mainly technical woods holes with some open fairways
• Rugged 'old school' disc golf feel
• Secluded and private - disc golf only!
• Elevation integrated on practically every hole
• Hyzer creek appears as a hazard on a third of the holes (shallow and non-disc eating)
• Low disc loss possibilities
• For land available, its intelligently designed and flows well for the most part
• Signage at all of the natural/gravel tee pads
• Red circles painted on trees showing the path to next tee (as well as some 'next tee' signs and arrows)
• Tough mentally (tight woods) and physically (up/down elevation) but extremely fair
• Very creative pin placements (on rocks, in creek) and challenging (sloping, elevated, drop offs, by creek)
• Custom baskets in great shape
• Not for the casual or recreational player
Cons:
• Deer flies in summer were tremendously/immensely/immeasurably annoying even wearing bug repellent!
• lack of amenities (on private land)
• ruggedness may be turn off for some players especially novices or beginners
• some players may find natural/gravel tees to be a 'con'
• Pay to play/signing waiver (this is private land, course was created by owner so not a problem for me but it may be for some)
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing a course located on someone's private land and I have to say, it was quite an enjoyable experience even though in the mid-90's, ridiculously humid & teeming with continuous insect incursion.

Except for holes 5, 8, 12 and 16 (the latter which has an extremely generous par of 5 taking into account a layup stroke due to the basket in the creek), this course is old school par 3 disc golf. Meaning that many holes have a shorter length with most of the difficultly found in some combination of tight, technical wooded fairways, elevation changes, water hazards, trouble off the fairway and strategic basket placements.

Also reminiscent of 'traditional' disc golf was the rugged, secluded & unspoiled feel of the course. Being on private land and an exclusive disc golf area are also big plusses.

It's apparent how much thought, effort, hard work and dedication the owner has invested in Hyzer Creek as this hidden gem will only reveal itself to those fortunate enough to play it. So what are you waiting for? Go give it a play!

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    12/24/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The Adirondack Mountain Region needs more courses like this one. There are some tight technical holes where if you stray from your line you will be in trouble. However, there are enough open fairways to balance it out. The course starts out with three birdie attempts in a row. However, do not let that fool you, holes 4 and 5 should have no problem adding any stokes that you might have shaved off on the first three holes. Holes 6 and 7 are two more birdie able holes. Some of the holes are short but the risks are great. Hole 12 is a beautiful 700 ft wide open down hill par 4, which will test how far you can throw a disc. That hole alone makes me keep coming back for more. I dred playing hole 16, a long snake through the woods. I have seen some great players get 7s. There are many chances to hit trees and hole 18 in not any different.
Cons: The only con to this course is that it is not close to many people. It also might be hard to find for some first timers.
Other Thoughts: The amount of personal time spent on this course is unbelievable! It is privately owned so BYOB! Hyzer Creek is worth the drive.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 unbelievable course

5+    11/5/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: discgirly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Elevation, elevation, elevation. Creek, clear fairways, beautiful land, quality chains (what are they?) dedicated course (no strollers or pedestrians) well designed fairways. Just a gorgeous course.
Cons: Needs concrete tee pads to be world class. But the gravel pads are ok. Also, I don't like pay for play and prefer courses that are free.

6 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    9/16/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: tuskalosadizzle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 11/13/2009
5 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Even though I've been to many courses, this is the best by far. LOTS of elevation, the fairways are fair, the pins are excellent, and the land is gorgeous unspoiled land. The creek comes into play on many holes. There are no park users to interfere with your throw or make you wait.
Cons: I can't think of anything wrong with this course. One of the holes is a little swampy but it rained right before I was there. The tee pads could use a little work.

5 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  Worth the going, worth the ride

2-4    9/12/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: Roscoe
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Just beautiful, challenging, fair, and at times awesome. Sweet wooded mountain terrain, with the course obviously cut out of the thick. Fun rugged land and elevation changes and water presence and bridges to traverse throughout the course. And some memorable details.... The ridiculous (in a good way) tee shot at 12, with the 300- and 500-ft. markers way down in the open field. The pin IN THE WATER on 16. The crazy drive through the tight chute on 18. Lots more to remember. What a blast.
Other Thoughts: If you're anywhere near the area (and just driving around camping like I was), this course is worth the going. Just pack in water and whatever, there's not much around (a good thing). Thanks to the people who made/make this course happen.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    6/13/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: dmbill
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is very beautiful with rolling hills and great elevation changes. The owner did a great job maintaining the fairways.
Cons: This course is in the middle of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: For what it is it is a great course, I did not think the difficulty level was too high. Walking between holes was harder than throwing on the holes. Again for being a private course it is very nice, however the Grange down in VA has it beat.(maybe an unfair comparison)

6 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.