Providence, NY
Hyzer Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
5 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Diamond in the Rough

5+    10/3/2008   4/3/2009
Review By: Wino249
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hyzer Creek is one man's maniacal desire to carve out 18 holes of disc golf on about 50 acres of thick woods located in the foothills of the Adirondacks. Oh, by the way, there is a creek that runs through the middle of the course that comes into play on many holes (1, 3, 9, 12, 16, and 18). Morgan has done an excellent job in creating one of the most difficult courses I have ever played. Due to the ruggedness, verticals, length, woods, and pin placements, you are both mentally and physically tired after playing 36 holes here.....but damn, you feel so good when you are done playing.

Due to it's location, it is not very crowded.

You need all your shots (except roller due to tough terrain) to play this course.

Some of my favorite holes and why:
#2- long uphill shot from the teebox that requires a RHBH hyzer around a tree in the middle of the fairway.
#3- a possible ace hole except long skinny fairway with lots of tree and pin protected by a creek and boulders.
#5- this hole is uphill dogleg right that just keeps on going and going. Be real happy is you take a 4 on it.
#12- Morgan cleared about 2-3 acres. tee box is on top of the hill and the pin is 600 feet away with a creek about 100 feet in front of the pin. the pin is nestled inside a cutout shoot of woods. It's been dueced, once.
16- you either love or hate this hole. You can even do both several times while playing this hole. really long, s shaped hole to start with before a gradual fade to the right at the end. BTW, the pin is located on a rock in the middle of the creek and water is OB. Which I had a nickel for every circle ever taken on a score card.
#18- tee box on one side of a gulley and the pin is on the other. You need to throw a straight shot across the gulley, under the canopy to ace it. Greg Kurtz has done this twice, in tourneys, to win ace pots. Good luck to the rest of us.
Cons: Not recommended for the light hearted or folks just begining to play.

A bit rough around the edges (stumps in fairways and brush cut from the fairways still on the sides of the fairways) but one guy with some help, did build this course.

I also wish this one was closer to my house. It is a bit far from civilization.

No running water.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to Morgan. One great course that any serious disc golfer must play. Once you play it, you will definitely come back.

Make a big fat donation when you play to keep the course going.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 A rugged challenge

1    10/5/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.6 Years
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent, challenging layout with lots of variety. Reminds me of Nockamixon, only a bit smaller. Some serious elevation changes, left & right doglegs, a creek that very much comes into play, length in addition to short gauntlets. Rocky and stumpy fairways make the course play longer as you'll rarely be able to run up. Get off the fairway and you'll have trouble due to the trees, but won't have to worry about thorns or ticks either. There's a lean-to, presumably for some quiet partying. Front 9 ends back at the clubhouse, which is convenient.
Cons: The ruggedness is a con for casual players and families. No real facilities; there is an outhouse for ladies, but no potable water. No optional shorter tees or baskets for amateurs. "New" hole 17 was extremely swampy and borderline unplayable. Hole 18 is all by itself and out of the way... I'd call it poor design, but I like the hole a lot and would hate to see it change. Creek crossings are sketchy (bouncy ladders placed on the ground with wood on top). No teepads or tee markers, just a poorly defined gravel area. Would benefit from 1 or 2 more open holes.
Other Thoughts: You'll have to sign a waiver, and there is a suggested donation at the door. Glad to see someone loves the game so much to provide the land and put in the work, especially with nothing else in a 50-mile radius. I was about a half foot from an eagle on 16 due to some lucky shots, but ended up in the drink for a tap-in 5. If you're an advanced player, I'd say this is a must-play. Beginners beware.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A good mix of long and short holes and wooded and open as well. Creek comes into play on a couple of holes and has one of the most unique basket placements ever. Basket on number 16 is placed in the middle of a creek. (about 8-10 feet wide) One man crew designed, cut and maintains the course and was much better than I originally was thinking it would be. Tees are marked well, but you should print out a map before going. A lot of walking between holes, and the flow of the course can be tricky at times. However, for a one man operation this is a great course. Not a roller course as the terrain is rocky, and lots of tree trunks.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Waaaay out-up in the BOONIES!

1    8/7/2007   2/7/2008
Review By: Shadwrack
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: gorgeous woods, unique basket placement, unique hole layouts,
great hike all the way through & around course, short hikes from tee to tee
Cons: hard to find, rugged parking areas, buggy at times, bigfoot interference,
disc loss, woods-woods-woods, tight fairways. now with concrete t-pads awesome!!!
Other Thoughts: NOT a course for beginners nor the casual disc golfer, play with Morgan...
he is very knowledgable, play with a group not alone...it will be more fun

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

world class course

5+    12/13/2007   12/13/2007
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 42.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2013
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation. Lots of parking. Top quality chains (Strokesavers, best chains ever!!) Some par 4 and 5 holes make for good eagle opportunity. Beautiful rugged Adirondacks, clean air. Hole 12 is awesome. Pro shop, score cards, course maps, news bulletin board, two tournaments PDGA sanctioned per year. Hole 16 is famous.
Cons: No place to buy beer within 4 miles.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzer is fir Huckers

5+    10/19/2007   12/11/2007
Review By: Greg Kurtz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, beautiful woods and creek, Variety of shots needed to score well. Plenty of birdie opportunities
Cons: Needs more players to trample down ferns. There is a black fly season in the Spring
Other Thoughts: One of the most fun courses in New York State

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Toughest course I've played!

4/21/2007   8/10/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
9 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: every hole will challenge your skills. Definately not a novelty in my opinion. Very creative and scenic.
Cons: Not open to public. Unless your A course sponsor (?) you can't play this course except for the two tourney's they have each year.
Other Thoughts: Wish I had this course in my back yard!

9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged Terrain!

4/21/2007   8/10/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 239  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.9 Years
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Basket in the river = genius. Why haven't we seen this before? Very impressive tree-clearing. This course was carved like the Colorado carved the Grand Canyon. Oh, and there's serious elevation challenges (in a very good way).
Cons: LOTS of stumps on some holes and the limited open thing mentioned above. Lack of signage but if it's not open to the public year-round it's really not needed.
Other Thoughts: A must-play for everyone. I don't know how this could be called a novelty course even if you only consider #16's basket in the river.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the drive from the thruway

8/20/2006   5/24/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: Points for originality.
Cons: Most holes too overgrown with too many trees and stumps.
Other Thoughts: This is a novelty course.

1 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging on nearly every hole!

1    9/15/2010   5/24/2007
Review By: jim owens
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2011
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Simply one of the top 3 best courses I've played out of nearly 50. Amazing work has been done to0 this place. Each hole is creative, beautiful, and enjoyable. Has anyone mentioned flying squirrels and snakes? :) Beautiful place!
Cons: What others could list as cons for me really aren't cons. It is rugged, can be punishing at times, and I don't mind that I have to pee on a tree. ;)
Other Thoughts: If you can go there to play it---don't hesitate. Great course!!!

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.