Boulder (South Boulder), CO 
Harlow Platts Park Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #7 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A quick 9 in Boulder

5+    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Boulder scenery. The baskets are in decent condition, could be better but they still work. Tee pads are good, level concrete and have plenty of length. Baskets and Tee pads are numbered, navigation is mostly intuitive, but a map should be consulted the first time around.

The course circles around the park and loops back to the start. The landscape is well utilized with baskets placed on gentle slopes and tee pads from tops of some hills. The grass is kept nice and short making it really hard to loose a disc here. The park is very clean.

Parking is convenient. Restrooms and running water at the rec center. The course is free. The holes are well balanced with a pretty even mix of straight shots, left turns, right turns, uphill, downhill and flat; just not anything really extreme.
Cons: The practice basket has been removed, much to my dismay. While it's pretty easy to find the basket from each tee, there are no diagrams at the tee pads. The tee pad for hole 1 is on a slope. The path from 7 to 8 crosses the basket area for 5. Not a particularly challenging course; there are few shots that require a lot of technical finesse. It would be nice to have a couple longer holes too. Can also get a little crowded after school hours, as it's behind a big high school.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice recreational course. It's a great course for less experienced players and a good training course too. The scenery here is absolutely beautiful and it's a great place to meet other disc golfers in town. A nice place to spend some time for casual play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just Another Solid City Course!

1    7/20/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Harlow Platts Park is a smallish, green city park with enough elevation to incorporate some fun downhill throws. The concrete teepads have the nmbers etched in and while the baskets are older, they catch well enough. There are no tee signs so you are more or less guessing at the distances.
I like the variety of hole lengths here. The course features holes with allow most of us to air it out on #'s 2, 8 & 9. Meanwhile, #'s 5, 6 & 7 are short ACE runs but each one presents a unique challenge whether it's a hyser around a tree or a swampy area lurking just behind the basket. I found them enjoyable and interesting.
Cons: I don't really find a Con to this course. Granted it's only 9 holes. It's a great course to bring beginners but I wouldn't call it a beginner course. It's easily a recreational level course. The variety alone should keep most players motivated to come here often and if they change the basket locations often, that would also help.
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty, green, well manicured park with decent elevation and a variety of hole types. Here in the outdoor fitness mecca that is Boulder, there was a steady stream of players on a warm July afternoon. I believe this course is better than it's rating. I certainly enjoyed my nine this afternoon and could see myself enjoying a lot of rounds here at Harlow Platts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Short, and Easy.

5+    3/2/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: petsounds85
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Nice mixture of short and long holes. Some challenging, some easy. It's a great course for beginners to start out at and it's a great course for more experienced players to practice and have fun!
Cons: At times: too small- it can get easily congested and crowded. Too many kids. Lots of big groups don't let smaller groups play through...
Other Thoughts: Aced #5 & #6. Woot Woot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 College Town Disc Golf Course

2-4    9/19/2008   5/19/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets. The scenery is awesome just below the flat irons and the local (resident, not student) disc golfers are helpful and have a passion for the sport. The practice basket area is nice too. It is open from one side and has trees on the other side. This gives players the chance to practice all types short and mid range shots.
Cons: The park gets a bit crowded and unfortunately it has a college town demeanor to it, which brings many rude and often drunk college kids with little respect for other players. The few times I have played there we have been thrown into and the group ahead of us has been jacking around or sitting down to smoke a joint (but, I admit, I did choose to play in Boulder after all). We also got cut in front of just as we were getting to a tee pad. I highly recommend playing the course in the summer or in the morning hours.
Other Thoughts: The city was talking about putting another course in Boulder, but I am guessing the economy has delayed it a bit. Otherwise, this is not a bad little 9 hole course. There are not a whole lot of obstacles, but overthrows on a few holes can leave your disc wet and lost in thick over growth. I found depth/distance perception challenging with the few elevation changes and the flat irons/foothills right above the course. I recommend printing out and taking the map with you to help you judge distances as I do not remember seeing any distance markings on the pads. When compared with the two Broomfield courses nearby, this is the best 9 hole course in the Boulder area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    4/17/2007   10/17/2008
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2009
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a nice 9-hole and it is a good excuse to go up and see Boulder. Most of the holes are short which can be good for beginners and short game practice. There are some elevations changes that add character to this course. The tee pads are very nice. Green grass park makes play nice.
Cons: The shortness of the holes does not allow for long distance shots. There is a swampy area near hole 2 that can hinder easy access to bad throws on that hole. This course can be busy on weekends. There are some holes that intersect so when it busy be careful.

The distances of each hole is not marked.
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are nice to identify the holes you are on. Would like to see distances marked. They could do something like Expo Park In Aurora does with their tee pads. This course is nice because it is just down the Highway from Bird's nest so you can go play the wonderful monster of Bird's Nest in Arvada and jet on down the highway 15 minutes to cool off at Harlow Platts.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner course

9/7/2007   9/8/2007
Review By: mrdoug
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: easy straight forward layout, a few obsticles, but no major disc eating ponds, creeks, etc.
Cons: only 9 holes, and no par ratings
Other Thoughts: Excellent course to introduce friends to the sport

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.