Boulder (South Boulder), CO 
Harlow Platts Park Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #5 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
9 hole par 27

2-4    8/21/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: dooditsmealfredd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free to play, not usually to bogged down with lots of people playing, nice pin locations, well maintained playing field(grass isn't so high as to negate a roller) a few distance shots(one up-hill one down one flat) a couple of tree's make u hyzer or an-hyzer to get a good play.
Cons: the "marsh" area between the course and rec center tennis court/soccer field can swallow discs, also a few tall trees have a tendency to hold onto it. only a few over 300 feet, and not many obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Its a great course for free to play and its right down the street from where I live, i will be visiting on a regular basis to try to improve my midrange and short game. also proximity to the school means lots of traffic when it lets out(for a fast round go while schools in session)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 boulder is da bomb!

2-4    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: hellokristi
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great use of the space! the holes have a good flow and are easy to navigate, despite the lack of signage. the park is lovely and well maintained - and who could ask for a more stunning backdrop! it was so nice, i had to play it twice.
Cons: i went a little bit later in the afternoon. there were several pairs of players who also enjoyed a quick round. the holes are so short, waiting wasn't bad. on holes 5-8, though, the baskets are within the walking path of another hole's flight path. one guy didn't see me to warn me about his incoming shot, but i was able to duck in time. also, i would imagine that having a tee pad so close to the children's playground would be problematic during peak park times.
Other Thoughts: i was pleased that there was a map on the board before i made my way up the hill to the first tee. since there weren't any signs, i relied on the locals for guidance on the first couple of holes. fortunately, the tee pads were marked with a reasonably close basket in sight. it was a purely fun to play! short holes, lovely scenery... i wanna play it again before i go back home!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Boulder Course

5+    9/15/2008   7/21/2009
Review By: The Crit Piece
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I happen to be very fond of this course because it was where I played my first few rounds and learned the game with a couple experienced buddies. Its really really easy and a great course to learn on. Its perfect for beginners because even with questionable drives you can still have alot of chances for pars and birdies to get you locked into the game right away. There are enough trees to make it challenging for the novice and some longer holes (specifically hole 2)
Cons: The easy difficulty may make this course boring for more experienced players who can end up with some pretty ridiculous scores like -7 on 9 and -12 to -15 if you play it twice. It can get pretty crowded in prime times. Its also a dog park where owners and their dogs wonder aimlessly across holes. Theres also a school right there so you occasionally have to deal with kids playing games all over the course and the misled junior high youth (usually wearing ICP hoodies. It makes them easy to spot) go their to smoke cigs (its the cool thing to do obv) behind trees and stuff so hitting someone with a disc is something you have to concern yourself with. Ive also been hit a few times because like I said there are alot of inexperienced players who, not necessarily at their own fault, will throw into you on holes that are harder to see. Also some trees really lend themselves to snagging your discs but its not a huge concern as their generally easy to avoid and not too tall so you can get your plastic down.
Other Thoughts: A great place to take your first timer buddy to learn the game without getting too down about a terrible score first time out. Its also a great place to pad your stats and ego so if youre in the area hit it up for a quick 9 and enjoy the great view of the flat irons.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Go Buffs!

1    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, this course is pretty good for a 9 hole course. The baskets are all in pretty good condition and the tee pads are in great condition and are numbered. There are some mature trees that provide some obstacles and some semi elevation changes. The park is well taken care of and all of the locals are very nice.
Cons: Some of the back holes are pretty open and short, easy to coast through. The park can be very busy, even on the weekdays, and dogs are running around everywhere and their poo is everywhere.
Other Thoughts: If in the Boulder area this courses is worth dropping by for a round. Great course for beginners and even for those more experienced players; a course where everyone can have a good time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Couse

5+    10/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: pjaxon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent short course for amateur play and solid setup for semi-pro practice. Great tees and baskets. As a 9-hole course, it can get crowded more easily than an 18 hole course & the park is popular for its other multi-use attractions... so don't expect to have this course to yourself unless it's early in the day. That being said, it's still a great course for a quick round with an awesome view of the mountains. It will help you work on your mid & short game.
Cons: Crowds can slow things down, wish there was a back 9.
Other Thoughts: Tuesday's at 5:30 (in summer and early fall) there is a group that plays best-shot doubles. New holes are sometimes improvised to make it more challenging.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.