Boulder (South Boulder), CO
Harlow Platts Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #3
3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    4/8/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Some solid elevation here. 3 was a top of the world shot, 2 played mostly up the same hill and 6 and 7 were another up and down combo.
+Some trees. Hole 1 was pretty tight but you could easily bypass with a big RHBH hyzer. Hole 6 had some trees near the pin.
+Easy to navigate despite no signage on the course. Once you find the first tee, you're good to go.
+Tees are concrete, fairly large and grippy. They also have the number of the hole on them.
+You shouldn't lose a disc here. At least not this time of the year. Be careful around the creek when there is more water or more plant growth.
+This area is essentially only for disc golf. Other park users might walk through but there are no designated paths through the course.
+There are a few ace possibilities here. Most holes are aceable.
+A good course for kids, beginners, etc. It is approachable for many.
Cons: -The navigation for 6-8 was interesting. It wasn't hard to follow but it was potentially dangerous. While throwing back down the hill, you could easily hit someone walking to the next tee that is hidden behind the hill.
-Generally, the course is pretty open. There aren't a lot of obstacles.
-Being one of two courses in this somewhat large and active city, this place could get busy.
Other Thoughts: -There are lots of other things going on at this park. The course starts right behind the tennis courts. There is also a skate park, fishing pond, rec center, soccer fields, and more.
-The elevation and ace runs made this course have a decent fun factor for me. The holes were longer and had more obstacles than Valmont. I would play here if I lived in Boulder.
-This course is alright. I would recommend a stop here if you are a course bagger. It wouldn't take much of your time. It is easy to find and navigate.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Basic Urban Park Course

1    9/27/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: POLeary29
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short grass
-Concrete tees
-Beautiful views
-Nice hole stamps on tee pads letting you know which hole your on
Cons: -Not challenging
-Next to a high school (lots of kids at lunch and in the afternoon, they like to sit out on the course)
-Short holes (minus hole 2)
Other Thoughts: This is your average park course. Make sure to look at the map before heading out as there are no hole maps or next tee markers. There is a great lake to walk around after your round and great views of the Flatirons. Most of the holes are straight forward and not very far or challenging. With the course being so close to a high school there are lots of non-golfers walking around the park and waiting can become a pain. Try to plan your round when kids are in class. Overall good course for short game practice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

9 hole par 27

2-4    8/21/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: dooditsmealfredd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free to play, not usually to bogged down with lots of people playing, nice pin locations, well maintained playing field(grass isn't so high as to negate a roller) a few distance shots(one up-hill one down one flat) a couple of tree's make u hyzer or an-hyzer to get a good play.
Cons: the "marsh" area between the course and rec center tennis court/soccer field can swallow discs, also a few tall trees have a tendency to hold onto it. only a few over 300 feet, and not many obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Its a great course for free to play and its right down the street from where I live, i will be visiting on a regular basis to try to improve my midrange and short game. also proximity to the school means lots of traffic when it lets out(for a fast round go while schools in session)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    1/7/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: Blackmer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course for a lunch time round or if you want to play a quick game. Holes 4 through 7 were my favorite little more challenging than the other holes. some more work can hopefully be done Boulder needs to get their stuff in gear and create a great course for people.
Cons: Had a hard time trying to find where tee box 1 and 2 were, but after that it was pretty easy to find. There is a course map over by the recenter right off gillipsie road. not a lot of difficult shots to test someones skills, but fun for beginners to get started.
Other Thoughts: spoke to a maintenance guy working in the holes he said the Valmont course is going to get a big overhaul soon and back nine holes will go over the creek making longer holes, which will be fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A quick 9 in Boulder

5+    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 44  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Boulder scenery. The baskets are in decent condition, could be better but they still work. Tee pads are good, level concrete and have plenty of length. Baskets and Tee pads are numbered, navigation is mostly intuitive, but a map should be consulted the first time around.

The course circles around the park and loops back to the start. The landscape is well utilized with baskets placed on gentle slopes and tee pads from tops of some hills. The grass is kept nice and short making it really hard to loose a disc here. The park is very clean.

Parking is convenient. Restrooms and running water at the rec center. The course is free. The holes are well balanced with a pretty even mix of straight shots, left turns, right turns, uphill, downhill and flat; just not anything really extreme.
Cons: The practice basket has been removed, much to my dismay. While it's pretty easy to find the basket from each tee, there are no diagrams at the tee pads. The tee pad for hole 1 is on a slope. The path from 7 to 8 crosses the basket area for 5. Not a particularly challenging course; there are few shots that require a lot of technical finesse. It would be nice to have a couple longer holes too. Can also get a little crowded after school hours, as it's behind a big high school.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice recreational course. It's a great course for less experienced players and a good training course too. The scenery here is absolutely beautiful and it's a great place to meet other disc golfers in town. A nice place to spend some time for casual play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Quick 9

1    7/20/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads with numbers and the general direction of the hole stamped on them. What little trees there are in the park are used wisely on #1,2, 5,6,7 and demand wise play and well placed shots. Plenty of ace runs, and it would be a good place to introduce someone to the sport. Rec center next door has course map and all of the facilities you would want for a full day at the park.
Cons: No distances marked on tees or map. No signage or benches. It isn't a real challenging course. If there is any traffic, there are going to be some issues with crossing paths and "fore" calls. I would imagine that there would be regular citizens playing on the grass in the middle of the course from time to time.
Other Thoughts: Good for a lunch round, well maintained park, but not very challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

boulder is da bomb!

2-4    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: hellokristi
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great use of the space! the holes have a good flow and are easy to navigate, despite the lack of signage. the park is lovely and well maintained - and who could ask for a more stunning backdrop! it was so nice, i had to play it twice.
Cons: i went a little bit later in the afternoon. there were several pairs of players who also enjoyed a quick round. the holes are so short, waiting wasn't bad. on holes 5-8, though, the baskets are within the walking path of another hole's flight path. one guy didn't see me to warn me about his incoming shot, but i was able to duck in time. also, i would imagine that having a tee pad so close to the children's playground would be problematic during peak park times.
Other Thoughts: i was pleased that there was a map on the board before i made my way up the hill to the first tee. since there weren't any signs, i relied on the locals for guidance on the first couple of holes. fortunately, the tee pads were marked with a reasonably close basket in sight. it was a purely fun to play! short holes, lovely scenery... i wanna play it again before i go back home!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just Another Solid City Course!

1    7/20/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Harlow Platts Park is a smallish, green city park with enough elevation to incorporate some fun downhill throws. The concrete teepads have the nmbers etched in and while the baskets are older, they catch well enough. There are no tee signs so you are more or less guessing at the distances.
I like the variety of hole lengths here. The course features holes with allow most of us to air it out on #'s 2, 8 & 9. Meanwhile, #'s 5, 6 & 7 are short ACE runs but each one presents a unique challenge whether it's a hyser around a tree or a swampy area lurking just behind the basket. I found them enjoyable and interesting.
Cons: I don't really find a Con to this course. Granted it's only 9 holes. It's a great course to bring beginners but I wouldn't call it a beginner course. It's easily a recreational level course. The variety alone should keep most players motivated to come here often and if they change the basket locations often, that would also help.
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty, green, well manicured park with decent elevation and a variety of hole types. Here in the outdoor fitness mecca that is Boulder, there was a steady stream of players on a warm July afternoon. I believe this course is better than it's rating. I certainly enjoyed my nine this afternoon and could see myself enjoying a lot of rounds here at Harlow Platts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

sobo

5+    6/23/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: sick views, quick round, grab an ace or two!
concrete pads................
Cons: school foot traffic
only 9 holes, but play it twice!
Other Thoughts: sobo is always good for a quick round to get your fix, great course for beginners

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/28/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: gund
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: There are many better courses out there. Harlow is however, the best local course one could hope for. Depending on the current layout, half the course requires a good arm, and half allows a chance at par. It is the perfect layout to learn the art of disc throwing. Also, the park is at the base of the foot hills/flat irons at the front range of the colorado rockies. Quite a back drop.
Cons: Play this course on the off hours...Its very busy!
Other Thoughts: Lots of goose shit, wash your hands before eating

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.