Boulder (South Boulder), CO 
Harlow Platts Park Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #7 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 College Town Disc Golf Course

2-4    9/19/2008   5/19/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets. The scenery is awesome just below the flat irons and the local (resident, not student) disc golfers are helpful and have a passion for the sport. The practice basket area is nice too. It is open from one side and has trees on the other side. This gives players the chance to practice all types short and mid range shots.
Cons: The park gets a bit crowded and unfortunately it has a college town demeanor to it, which brings many rude and often drunk college kids with little respect for other players. The few times I have played there we have been thrown into and the group ahead of us has been jacking around or sitting down to smoke a joint (but, I admit, I did choose to play in Boulder after all). We also got cut in front of just as we were getting to a tee pad. I highly recommend playing the course in the summer or in the morning hours.
Other Thoughts: The city was talking about putting another course in Boulder, but I am guessing the economy has delayed it a bit. Otherwise, this is not a bad little 9 hole course. There are not a whole lot of obstacles, but overthrows on a few holes can leave your disc wet and lost in thick over growth. I found depth/distance perception challenging with the few elevation changes and the flat irons/foothills right above the course. I recommend printing out and taking the map with you to help you judge distances as I do not remember seeing any distance markings on the pads. When compared with the two Broomfield courses nearby, this is the best 9 hole course in the Boulder area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Go Buffs!

1    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, this course is pretty good for a 9 hole course. The baskets are all in pretty good condition and the tee pads are in great condition and are numbered. There are some mature trees that provide some obstacles and some semi elevation changes. The park is well taken care of and all of the locals are very nice.
Cons: Some of the back holes are pretty open and short, easy to coast through. The park can be very busy, even on the weekdays, and dogs are running around everywhere and their poo is everywhere.
Other Thoughts: If in the Boulder area this courses is worth dropping by for a round. Great course for beginners and even for those more experienced players; a course where everyone can have a good time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flat Iron View!

1    11/5/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: philipbatalion@gmail
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, virtually no obstacles, can easily see holes & tees, some very long drives
Cons: no obstacles...i like them, too short and small,
Other Thoughts: i had a good time playing this course, i would recommend it for beginners, it def poses a challenge, i tend to like more obstacles and more scenery

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sooo under-rated

5+    10/25/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: pitcherofnectar
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has great tee boxes, great chains, a pretty good variation in altitude for where it is, and spectacular views of the Flatirons. Happy people abound and will always at least say "hi," if not more. It's located right in South Boulder, a 10 minute drive max from anywhere in town.
Cons: No official par numbers
Other Thoughts: The city has made great use of this patch of grass. The fact that they could squeeze this course into South Boulder outweighs the fact that there are only 9 holes. I don't think a course should be judged by the number of holes it has, but rather by the quality of holes it does have. This course is a fantastic place to spend Sunday afternoon with some friends and some beers. I have played this course at least 20 times, and have never had a bad experience. In fact, I've had nothing but a blast everytime I've played here!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Couse

5+    10/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: pjaxon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent short course for amateur play and solid setup for semi-pro practice. Great tees and baskets. As a 9-hole course, it can get crowded more easily than an 18 hole course & the park is popular for its other multi-use attractions... so don't expect to have this course to yourself unless it's early in the day. That being said, it's still a great course for a quick round with an awesome view of the mountains. It will help you work on your mid & short game.
Cons: Crowds can slow things down, wish there was a back 9.
Other Thoughts: Tuesday's at 5:30 (in summer and early fall) there is a group that plays best-shot doubles. New holes are sometimes improvised to make it more challenging.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    4/17/2007   10/17/2008
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2009
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a nice 9-hole and it is a good excuse to go up and see Boulder. Most of the holes are short which can be good for beginners and short game practice. There are some elevations changes that add character to this course. The tee pads are very nice. Green grass park makes play nice.
Cons: The shortness of the holes does not allow for long distance shots. There is a swampy area near hole 2 that can hinder easy access to bad throws on that hole. This course can be busy on weekends. There are some holes that intersect so when it busy be careful.

The distances of each hole is not marked.
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are nice to identify the holes you are on. Would like to see distances marked. They could do something like Expo Park In Aurora does with their tee pads. This course is nice because it is just down the Highway from Bird's nest so you can go play the wonderful monster of Bird's Nest in Arvada and jet on down the highway 15 minutes to cool off at Harlow Platts.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 school course

1    8/22/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course. basket to tee was easy to find. Good course for those thow are out for a quick play. Seemingly well kept.
Cons: Next to a middle school and a park setting. I played the course at a bad time-school was just released. Plenty of middle schoolers as targets (joke). Park was well used so a player must be alert.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 O.K. at best

6/1/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Right in front of the flatirons. Plays through rather quickly. Fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: Most holes are very dull with little creativity to their placement. Three of the holes shoot right beside or into a very busy street. Can get crowded at times due to the fact that it is Boulder's only course. Some fairways overlap.
Other Thoughts: I got pretty bored when I played here. Most shots are open. Good view though.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 the flat irons over your shoulder!

5/22/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Behind the local recreation center and just this side of the pond from the famous Flat Irons in Harlow Platts is Boulder's lone disc golf course. The setting is as pleasant as the scenery, a lush green park, complete with a creek and a fishing pond. The tee pads are huge enough for a run up and safe follow-through. The course is laid out so that each next tee pad is easy to find. Enough players populate the course so that the confusion is at a minimum. The course is in its own section of the park away from the rec center, the volleyball players, and those fishing at the pond. The course has a practice basket near the parking lot. Parking is plenty and the park is easy to find. There is also a course map by the practice basket and parking lot. There are a couple of memorable shots, the tee at number three is my favorite. The basket of number two plays uphill surrounded by a couple of trees, that is nice as well. A round can be played very quickly.
Cons: 1 and 5-7 are very short. Six plays with the street just beyond it, a player risks hitting nearby parked cars. I would have to say, the standard "nine hole park course" complaints apply. Mostly with the course being too short. Too many of the holes play out in the open with little obstacles. I was told by a local that the course is always windy, it was when I played it. Perhaps that can be seen as a positive though, for the added challenge.
Other Thoughts: Boulder is an amazing town, with hiking and jogging trails all over the place. For being a world class recreation town, one would expect more than one nine hole park course. Considering this is the only disc golf option in town it could be much worse. The course is well taken care of, the baskets are in good shape, and there is almost no trash.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Boulder DGC

2-4    5/19/2001   4/1/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Harlow Platts Park is located in the beautiful city of Boulder, CO tucked beneath the Flat Irons. This course was designed on a hill side that allows for elevation to come in to play on nearly every hole. Although minor, it helps add to enjoyment and challenge. The course is wide open with very few obstacles which made it easy to navigate. The course is clean, the cement tee pads are in great shape, and the baskets are all mach 3's. This is a great novice/amateur course to work on drives, accurate approaches, and open putts. Locals are very friendly and the views of the Rockies are beautiful.
Cons:
The course is very short and lacks difficutly for the most part. Although the designers made the most of what they had to work with, it would be great to find a way to incorporate more obstacles. However, I am happy to see that Harlow Platts is located so close to the University. It is the perfect way for students to get involved and learn the sport.
Other Thoughts:
Although a simple course, the rolling hills and scenic view make this course a lot of fun. This is a great course for a quick game whether you play it several times through or are looking to play more than one course in a day. Great place to bring kids and famalies for a day of discgolf.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.