Lebanon, MO 
Boswell Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #4 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good to pass time.

2-4    6/12/2010   9/9/2014
Review By: Grip N' Rip 944
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: It's nice and open. It's close to I-44. It has areas to bring the little ones and play. (Just be careful not to hit them while you play) You will have no issues losing or trying to find your disc unless a dog or random person take it. They have concrete tee pads and I love the baskets that seem to be slightly larger than normal baskets. Also this course is close to the in-laws. So it can be a good excuse to get out and play when needed. Also you won't waste a lot of time because the 9 holes it offers only takes about 30-40 minutes to play. I usually play it twice to get the 18 holes in and that takes around an hour. I do like the fact that someone was willing to put a disc golf course here and they seemed to do the best they could with what they had.
Cons: This is definitely not a course to increase your skills on (maybe putting) unless you are new to disc golf. Also you will not be able to play if there are a lot of people there due to all the play areas for kids and the walking trail. Also be leery of the pool goers nearby. Be extra cautious on holes 7 and 9. The signage is ok, but not really needed because you can basically see every tee pad and pin from the parking lot. Like some said in another review the pars are way off. Every hole is a par 3 and half of them could probably be changed to a par 2. Besides a few trees and pedestrians there are no hazards to speak of. For a little extra challenge I played every piece of concrete, any playground area and any water as OB. (probably not standard but added a little challenge) I would only recommend this course if you need a place to bring the wife and kid or if it's close. Otherwise I wouldn't go out of your way to play it.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place to bring a kid or adult who is just learning the ways of disc golf. It was a good try but just not an ideal place to put a course.

 Personal Injury Jackpot

1    9/16/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge, forgiving baskets wrap your discs in love whenever they approach. Concrete tee pads on every hole. Signage provided on the side of the restrooms. A somewhat logical flow (once you figure out the bat guano crazy layout) and you can take in the whole course from just about any tee. Good use of the available elevation and foliage on a couple of holes.
Cons: You have to throw at people in order to play this course. There's really no other way to describe it. Go, look at the photos, you'll see exactly what I'm talking about. Hole 1 has you playing from one side of the walking track to the other. Overshoot the basket (213 ft) by just a little bit and you're on the walking trail, in the parking lot, and/or a picnic area under the tree just beyond the trail. Hole 2 has you throw the long direction ALONG the walking trail, then over it where it turns (next to another large tree providing shade for a picnic table area) to get to the basket. Hole three has you throw anny up a hill along a road used for parking. Four has you throw back down the hill 220-ish feet toward a grove that is getting back near the walking trail. Hole five is up another hill toward the water park (not really in play though). Six is the manageable but you still end up skirting some playground equipment with a decent hyzer shot. Seven would be the most dangerous if not for nine. Hole seven forces you to throw over/between a jungle gym, swingset, and slide while also avoiding the maint. area beyond. 8 is pretty flat and long, but if your approach or drive goes awry you have a chance of being in the road or baseball field. Nine is the kicker though. DO NOT THROW THIS HOLE WHEN PEOPLE ARE PRESENT. You know, unless you WANT to get sued. You are expected (per the sign) to throw left of the concession stand (in order avoid the ballfield 30 ft to the right), right of the swingset, over the pedestrian bridge, miss the walking path and the splashpad and get in the basket in 363 ft. Redunkulous.

The signage provided is decent, and I appreciated it for attempting to explain the layout, but it leaves out some of the more useful landmarks. Hole one for instance could show the restroom that the sign is on as a basic navigation point sinc e the tee is just a couple of dozen feet away. The signs also don't have a consistent orientation of the holes and it gets confusing because they don't all include the walking path or road or ball field as navigation aids. Could use a north arrow or overall map but the real issue is the layout. If you have to denote things like a swingsets and jungle gyms and splashpads on your hole layout as thing to AVOID you probably shouldn't be putting a disc golf course in that location. I'm honestly surprised they didn't try to cram a hole in the little picnic area/playground on the south side of the park...
Other Thoughts: There are spots that hold water (based on the photos and look of the area) but it wasn't an issue on the day I played. Baskets are in great shape, but the fear of hitting park-goers is omnipresent. The only way to play this course is when it is vacant. That doesn't seem like an effective utilization of the park or the disc golf experience to me. It's dangerous and I would not recommend this course to anybody, even as a drive by since the last thing you'd want to do is brain a local and then leave the state.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 build some confidence

2-4    2/11/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very open, but presents some obsticals in the name of trees, and playground equiptment.

The holes are very easy to follow, and the course has a good flow (no getting lost out there.)

Baskets are HUGE, so you feel like your short game is top notch when really your target is almost 2 times the size it usually is.

Loads of ace runs, with a decent arm every hole is aceable. (most are reachable with a fairway or midrange driver)

Cons: I could see where people could get in the way on a nice day. The course shoots over MANY walking paths, and around playground equiptment.

There isnt a whole lot of variety, if you can throw straight, or on a hyzer (RHBH) getting through this course is a snap.

The pars (even 'pro' pars) are completely off. This is definitly a par3 course. Not really sure what conditions would warent a par 5 on an open hole under 400'?

Other Thoughts: The course is really close to 44, and the course is incredibly short so if you are on your way between springfield and st. louis, its a great place to take a 30min break from driving and shoot some disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Boswell Disc Golf

5+    5/23/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 145  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, open layout, few obstacles, rarely busy.
Cons: Some play can interfere with other park users. Some of the signs are missing, but finding the next hole is not a problem.
Other Thoughts: I'm a beginner and this course is great as it does not require tough shots or water shots. I'm sure as I get better I'll want more challenges.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Terrible

1    6/24/2007   12/2/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very well maintained with some very nice tee pads. Unfortunately, the course is in very good shape because no one ever plays it.
Cons: First of all the name of the park is Boswell Park, not Nelson Park. Literally, the only way you could shoot a 4 on any hole was to miss a putt. On some holes the only way you could shoot a 3 was to miss a putt. The whole 9-holes was on 3 or 4 acres, you had to shoot at and around playground equipment and a splash pad, and there was maybe three trees that came into play on the whole course. Needless to say, the fairways interfered with each other and the baskets and tees were right next to each other.
Other Thoughts: I had to ask several people by the pool to move out of my way. One lady said she brought her kids to the pool everyday and had never seen anyone use the course before. She had wondered why all the bar-b-que grills were painted yellow.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center