Layout Extinct

Valley Springs, CA 
New Hogan Dam - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #13
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 240ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A great course getting better!

5+    4/21/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Leeb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the terrain provided. Lots of room to go up top, enough trees and rocks to keep you honest!
Back hand, fore hand, over hand, you'll have your opportunities! Short, long, downhill, uphill, it's all there!
The Fiddleneck Chain Rattlers are doing a great job there! No crowds to speak of!
Eight new baskets not on the map, but navigation is easy enough with well worn foot paths leading to the next tee.
Cons: Dirt tee pads-soon to be corrected.
27 baskets are great, but only the original 18 have tee signs. Excellent map available at the first tee, but again, only reflects the original 18.
I understand approvals are in place to cement tee pads and to expand to two 18 basket courses!!!!
Other Thoughts: New tee pads (cement) and new tee signs coming in pretty much rectifies my cons.
Early morning rounds have the benefit of some nice wildlife to be seen, coyotes, deer, raptors, rabbits.

Already a great course! Add new baskets, cement tees and it truly is A Great Course Only Getting Better!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stafford-esque Disc Golf

2-4    2/5/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery, mature trees and great views of the reservoir.
-Plenty of left, right straight shots. Many birdie chances with decent drives. Ace Runs as well.
-All teepads have plain and simple tee signs that give you possible flight path options and distances.
-Fairly straight forward layout, #1 and #10 are right next to each other as well as the parking lot so you can grab for beer for the back nine.
-#17-721 ft downhill bomb is an awesome shot that will make many people want to empty their bags.
-Bathroom right after 18th hole
-Course can be played quickly
Cons: -Dirt Tee pads, not really a con to me, kept in theme with the rugged wilderness. Some were a little muddy/slippery, so I just threw from right next to the pad with no problems.
A little difficult to find the disc golf in such a large park, but stick with it! Well worth it!
-$4 to park (worth it)
Other Thoughts: This course (as I think a previous reviewer stated) that this course resembles a shorter, more technical Stafford Lake in Novato. Both are mostly open, in big big parks that have huge lakes. Both also are very tranquil and serene, with minimal foot traffic. Both have a huge downhill shot, and both have lots more room for more holes. More ace runs and birdie ops here than Stafford, this course is not to be missed. I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 rounds here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/6/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing use of the land with near optimal flow starting and finishing at the same spot and no long walks to the next tee. beautiful scenery with wild life and great views. signage was great, even indicating a notch in a rock formation to show where the pin would be located. 18 very diverse holes with no issue of being repetitive, every hole is different from the last. very obvious paths lead from pin to next tee which is also indicated on the tee sign at the start of the hole. satellite course map provided at 1st tee which is located right next to the huge parks sign at the end of the parking lot. tall grass off the beaten path will promote an accurate tee shot adding some difficulty. picnic tables, running water, on site bathrooms, and tons of parking. never an issue of being overcrowded here.
Cons: 4 of the dirt tees could be leveled out a bit.
Other Thoughts: WOW! i have been planing a camping trip to go to this course for over a month and it was worth the work and the the long drive. i was able to get camping only .5 mile away with grill pits, running water, picnic tables, and firewood provided. several of my friends had built this course up to be the best ever so i had very high expectations. it was not super challenging but was hard enough to be just right. this course played great and was very fun becoming my 2nd favorite course of all time. i cant wait to play it again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 It has everything

1    12/10/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: J.Koeberlein
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bathrooms, Water, Tables, Garbage can, camping, boating. Satellite map of the course. Good mix of challenging and straight throws. A couple holes are blind but most have a rock or tree screen that if you throw your pathway you're golden. The rock rings are scary at first but once you get there the rocks are only waste high so you throw for bird or par no prob. The are 2x par four and 1x par five. The par five hole 17 is over 700ft. Wow down hill to the lake. At par five it's forgiving enough for newbies and old hand can throw birds.
Cons: The course is big and a bit confusing. The map helps but finding hole 1 was a chore. It's at the top near the gate. Expect a walk and ground is rough watch your step.
Other Thoughts: The course is not as hard as it seems. It's definitively a challenge but a fun course. Wear good shoes and long pants the ground is rough and full of weeds. Hole 17 looks scary but just open up and throw at the pin, call the parking lot inbounds and don't over throw.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center