Layout Extinct

Valley Springs, CA 
New Hogan Dam - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #5
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 307ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Valley Springs Road Trip

1    8/1/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course. No crowd whatsoever. We were the only golfers on a Saturday afternoon! 17 is epic. Other than the valley heat, a great afternoon of disc golfing. Camping on the lake. Would be a great winter course. Picnic area on hole 7/8 is awesome.
Cons: No shade. Dirt tees need to be leveled. Beach at seventeen is a tease. Wanted to jump in and swim, but the water is green and brown, too much algae and not cold.
Other Thoughts: It's a shame no local players are there to maintain the course, cut down weeds, put up some benches and improve it. It is a hidden gem. Layout is first class.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/6/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing use of the land with near optimal flow starting and finishing at the same spot and no long walks to the next tee. beautiful scenery with wild life and great views. signage was great, even indicating a notch in a rock formation to show where the pin would be located. 18 very diverse holes with no issue of being repetitive, every hole is different from the last. very obvious paths lead from pin to next tee which is also indicated on the tee sign at the start of the hole. satellite course map provided at 1st tee which is located right next to the huge parks sign at the end of the parking lot. tall grass off the beaten path will promote an accurate tee shot adding some difficulty. picnic tables, running water, on site bathrooms, and tons of parking. never an issue of being overcrowded here.
Cons: 4 of the dirt tees could be leveled out a bit.
Other Thoughts: WOW! i have been planing a camping trip to go to this course for over a month and it was worth the work and the the long drive. i was able to get camping only .5 mile away with grill pits, running water, picnic tables, and firewood provided. several of my friends had built this course up to be the best ever so i had very high expectations. it was not super challenging but was hard enough to be just right. this course played great and was very fun becoming my 2nd favorite course of all time. i cant wait to play it again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/23/2008   3/23/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course through the oak studded foothills of the Sierra. The area is beautiful with lots of oak trees crusted in yellow and orange lichens and wildlife (I saw a few deer and deer trails everywhere). Hogan has a nice mix of long/short/straight/dogleg/open/blind/etc... The use of the land is excellent, maximizing the terrain with lots of elevation and cross canyon shots.
Cons: It's HOT in the summer. I played two rounds in 100 degree heat, but when your there and the course is there... you have to play. To make things worse, you have to wear pants because there is an abundance of weeds and rattlesnakes.
It could also be a little bit confusing as to where in the lake the course is. I went in the wrong entrance and then had to double-back to the other side of the lake.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course. I played it twice, mostly because I had driven so far to get there... but then again if the course would have sucked, I would have left. Because I played it twice, I ran out of water. There seems to be an argument about the Par on hole 17, with people graffiti-ing their preferred par on the tee-sign. Par 5, Par 3, Par 5, Par 3... Can we comprimise on Par 4? Either way... it's a big 700' Par 3... I almost aced it (3' over the top) and my resultant 50' birdie putt spit.
My score: -5

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 finals 2005

1    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: KENDOG
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very nice course with a great view of the lake. when I played it was just a 9 hole course. I did enjoy the time I spent there. Also has a camp site just a cross the lake.
Cons: Course is set up in a lot of trees so be ready to feel like a lumberjack.
Other Thoughts: Would love to go back and play the course now that it is 18 holes.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It has everything

1    12/10/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: J.Koeberlein
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bathrooms, Water, Tables, Garbage can, camping, boating. Satellite map of the course. Good mix of challenging and straight throws. A couple holes are blind but most have a rock or tree screen that if you throw your pathway you're golden. The rock rings are scary at first but once you get there the rocks are only waste high so you throw for bird or par no prob. The are 2x par four and 1x par five. The par five hole 17 is over 700ft. Wow down hill to the lake. At par five it's forgiving enough for newbies and old hand can throw birds.
Cons: The course is big and a bit confusing. The map helps but finding hole 1 was a chore. It's at the top near the gate. Expect a walk and ground is rough watch your step.
Other Thoughts: The course is not as hard as it seems. It's definitively a challenge but a fun course. Wear good shoes and long pants the ground is rough and full of weeds. Hole 17 looks scary but just open up and throw at the pin, call the parking lot inbounds and don't over throw.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 New Hogan Dam

1    8/13/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: cracker
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: challenging course, nice paths from hole to hole, good signs with detailed info, right by the lake, 18 holes with lots of obstacles
Cons: dirt tees, hard to find next hole, tall weeds off of path

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.