Sweetwater, TX 
Newman Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo  



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun fun fun

1    8/26/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Good Concrete tees
Decent orange painted baskets (they catch well)
Well kept (mowed and no trash)
Plenty of parking
Bathrooms (at #1 and at #3)
Plenty of shade

Great use of land available
Great variety
Some short/long, left/straight/right
On the reallly short holes there are challenges (#5 has the "ring of trees" #6 drops off into OB creek behind the basket and #8 you top the crest toward the basket and sail waaaaay past if you run it and miss)
Great use of guardian trees on most holes
Loved the up and down crossing the creek
Good use of the pond on the back nine.
Did not feel repetetive at all
Great to work on your placement game
Several holes to Air out your driver on
Navigation is mostly logical even w/o directionals due to Trapezoid teepads pointing the way
Two distinct 9-hole loops break up your round
Quick fun round

Picnic areas and Ball fields for the non-DG inclined

Favorite Hole(s): #5, #8, #13
Cons: No Teesigns at all
Tees aren't even marked with a number
No navigational help at all
Needs at least next tee arrows/markers
#10's tee slopes severly downhill
Baskets are a touch high (no big deal)
Just a couple of holes feel too open
If all the ball fields were busy, there might be interference on Hole 7
Some of the walking path could be a safety issue if the park was packed
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course. The front nine is a typical park course. Feels short but challenging with a longer #4 to break it up. The back nine stretches out a little and several holes play around/across a nice little pond. Feels longer and more challenging with a couple of shorter holes thrown in to change the pace.

This is a very fun little course. If you park by the North Bathroom and play 1-9 then move to the parking lot across the road, you can start and finish both 9-hole loops at your car.

I recommend bringing some water as it can get very hot during the summer and there is nothing to drink here.

I base my "disc rating" heavily on the fun factor then bumped this course down a bit for lack of signage and #10's sloping tee.

PM me and let me know how I can make my reviews "more helpful."

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  discchamp56

2-4    7/6/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: discchamp56
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of distances from teebox to basket. Some very challenging shots that put your skills to the test. Nice pond to cross on the back 9. Not very crowded by other disc golfers. Course very well maintained ex: grass cut to good height.
Cons: Single chain baskets make it hard to make unless you have a very straight mid range and putting game. Hole number 11 I think there is a tree right in front of the teebox. Really windy usually.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    9/5/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: DiscGolfDallas
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome layout
Good mix of tough shots and short birdies
Cement tees marked with hole #
Hole # on each basket
Cons: Home made baskets that are single chain and too high
Windy
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course seemingly in the middle of no where. Whoever designed this course had a great vision. They used the space very well.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  not that great but it was busy!

1    3/25/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: zephoria
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: most teeboxes are nice. park was clean of trash. quiet part of town.
Cons: i only saw 3 teeboxes that were marked with more than the distance, and only a few more with the distance. parts were maintained but for the most part this course is not well maintained. there is a small creek that winds through the course and on basket 4 it splits. in that split there are huge reeds that have been pushed down making it impossible to see where a disc, or snake for that matter, could hide. tee 10 is on a slope, i almost fell off when i tossed. i uploaded a pic that i made on the back of tee 11... THAT TREE IS HUGE AND SO FREAKING CLOSE!!! i moved over a little bit so you could see the basket.
Other Thoughts: if someone would spend a little time and effort this could be a great little course. even tees 10 and 11 would be ok if you didnt have to trudge through mud and stuff to get around it. having said that this course was way busy. i started there at around noon and finished all i could handle by 130. because i my wife was judging one act plays at the high school i had no where to go so i sat in my car reading until around 830. the hourly turnover of this course was around 12... i guess thats all there is to do in sweetwater. maybe one of you more wealthy golfers could maybe donate a few bucks for maintenance on this course... im not sayin, im just sayin.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/20/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Chef Joe
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun. It's tucked away in a little town on I-20. There's a couple long holes, a few short ones, and a few technical ones. The first nine are pretty close together, so more throwing, and less walking. The back nine are a little longer, and just as fun. The downhill tee box, and the huge tree directly in front of another just add to the overall value of the course.
Cons: The baskets are kinda crappy. They're all about a foot higher than any other I've played, and the chains are really heavy, so if you're not throwing perfect, putters just kind of bounce off.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course, but if you're passing through, it's a really fun break on an otherwise boring drive. Also, Sweetwater is known for the wind farms, so if you can't play in wind, I wouldn't bother.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 out of the way

1    9/12/2008   9/12/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good design with a couple fun shots, very fair and no dangerous/lost disc/rough shots.
-Good cement tee pads.
-Small, manicured creek lined with rock walls in play but not a major hazard.
-Small pond in play.
Cons: -The back 9 is not currently mowed, grass to knee high in spots.
-Can be tough to navigate, no signs or markers beyond # on the tee pad and basket.
-Gets soggy in spots in the fairways.
-RV's/Tents may be set-up on a couple of fairways.
-Bathroom facility was a mess.
-Home made baskets not that great, but beat nothing.
Other Thoughts: Not quite worth going from Lubbock or from Abilene to play it, but if en route between it's on the way..

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.