Charlestown, RI 
Ninigret Park Share
Uploaded By: JAKE master Hole #14 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 277ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
I didn't have fun.

1    9/4/2016   9/6/2016
Review By: gabereif
Played: 36  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 holes of free disc golf in an accessible park with lots of other great amenities (playground, swimming, etc.)
-Three tees per hole
-Good baskets
-Some concrete tee pads
-Some nice flora and fauna in the park
Cons: -The fairways are extremely tight and the rough is very unforgiving with thorns and poison ivy. Heck, there's even some poison ivy in the fairways. And ticks are a problem on the course according to the signs, although I didn't see any.
-Most of the holes are heavily wooded. My home course is a wooded course, but Ninigret was so wooded, the disc golf wasn't fun. On a good wooded course, the trees pose a challenge, but you can spot a line and go for it. That's not the case at Ninigret. There are so many trees that you can't do anything but throw and pray. Even on 250-500 foot holes, the best tactic is to throw a putter 150 feet off the tee and try to land at the foot of a tree. If you throw a driver, you're going to inevitably ricochet off of something and end up deep in the rough, which probably means poison ivy. I'm an intermediate player and perhaps better players would enjoy the challenge, but I am highly skeptical.
-Most of the wooded holes have fairways that turn very sharply to the right or left, so you cannot see the pin from the tee. Given the narrow fairways and bad rough, this makes for a round with too much disc-hunting. Plus, it's nice to be able to see the pin on most of the holes, so you can plan your approach and watch your disc soar. That's definitely not how the golf works at Ninigret.
-The few open shots are too open, making them boring and without challenge.
-No topographical changes.
-Some of the holes are just sad. Hole 17 is a par 5 with a very narrow fairway where you play around an ugly fence/wall, throwing 150 foot shots again and again around a sharp curve. If you throw a driver, your disc will be gone in the rough. This is not what enjoyable disc golf feels like.
Other Thoughts: I played about 7 holes on this course 3 years ago and was unimpressed. I read on this site that the course was "new and improved" since 2016 so I went back feeling excited.

I found that while more signs have been added to enhance navigation and a few concrete tee pads have been put in, the course had not changed in a meaningful way. If I were giving a rating to each hole, there are a couple I would give a 3.0. But the vast majority would get a 1.0 or 1.5. I suppose course regulars who have memorized where the pins are might not be bothered as much by all of the blind pin placements, but they would probably lose a lot of plastic regardless.

I'm sorry I don't have something more positive to say, especially because I visit the area regularly. It's clear people are devoted to the course's upkeep, but the shapes of the fairways greatly limits the potential for this course to be fun. For those of you looking to play in the area, the South Kingstown course is 15 minutes away and a much more enjoyably experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I could see walking off

1    9/9/2009   2/28/2010
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 13.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I played this was the only option to bag a course in the Ocean State. It was a good excuse to get off of 95 and go up route 1 to Providence. The terrain and some of the plant life is similar to that of what you can only find near the ocean but still nice and woodsy like much of New England. The fairways are tight and thickly lined. There is very good land here that with the right TLC would be a great course. I have to admit that was digging the scenery and was pulling some good shots out there and didn't initially want to give the course that bad of a grade.
Cons: My buzz was destroyed by walking aimlessly for a missing basket. I played near dusk and the bugs were feasting on me. There are misleading signs of an old 18 hole layout all over the place that should be disregarded. I got turned around looking for hole three and was luckily given the low down on the layout and the true nature of number three, when I ran into a pack of locals. Sometimes the locals bring their own basket as a temporary target. 2 to 3, 4 to 5, and 7 to 8 are all a confusing crisscrosses that could use some good signage. I was in a patient mood so I was able to battle through, but I imagine if I didn't take a good couple phone pics of the map before hand or, if I just was just not feeling it out there, I would have packed it in and left.
Other Thoughts: I can attest that I saw the club members out there enjoying the course and I imagine there is a good and fair amount of work that has been done since I was there. It was a very interesting place in that it used to be a military base of some kind and now there are streets to nowhere and overgrown foliage that is perfect for a disc golf course fairway. When I played it was a short time after a music festival and there were many dozen portable toilets everywhere, which is always a welcome sight to me. I would only recommend this course to other travelers who have the need, for whatever reason, to check Rhode Island off their lists.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a Little Work

1    10/23/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: KazamaSmokers
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes 1 and 2, and 8 and 9 are fine. The course is laid out so that you wind up back near where you parked your car.
Cons: The only real parking is on the shoulder of the road. Hole 3 is temporarily gone because of construction work, and you have to make your way to the far end of the course to find hole 4. The only map is at Hole 1, so it's almost impossible to find your way to Hole 4 to continue play. You'll probably wind up stumbling upon it after a great deal of searching. Also, the small bridge over the gully behind Hole 2 wobbles dangerously and is going to collapse some day soon.

Other Thoughts: This is the only course left in Rhode Island? That seems crazy. Certainly there must be some place in the Ocean State for a nice, well-kept 18-hole course.

UPDATE: I understand that this course is a work-in-progress and that a lot of hard work has been done updating it. As it is right now, it's a half-decent course with a lot of promise and should be a much better place to play in the near future.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  where is the rest of the course

1    9/26/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: sage0662
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the ground cover is not to dense and there were enough trees to make a few blind holes more difficult. there were also 2 or 3 pads for each hole.
Cons: there were 2 or 3 pads for each hole, making it hard to define what threw on each hole. there is almost no sinage, except that 3 was often "missing", I was not able to locate most of the holes in order and stumbled on a few baskets that appeared to have no pads....
Other Thoughts: the first 2 are great holes, tight and in a nice section of woods. after losing 3 and trying to find the rest of the course it went out into what appeared to be a old parking lot area, maybe a old camping area? I found and played a couple other holes, but not coming close to a full 9.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.