Charlestown, RI 
Ninigret Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 172ft.   3 / 252ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tight and tough

5+    5/17/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees to challenge all skill levels.
New tee signs and next tee signs have improved course feel and flow.
A blend of brutally long, and birdie run holes.
Baskets are in great shape.
Course will test your placement, putting and power (in that order).
Good mix of shots needed on this one.
Lots of space to warm up.
Port-a-potties around park.
Lots of parking.
Cons: Thick tree lines can eat discs up.
Grass gets thick between mows.
Some of the Blue tee pads are metal, they have no footing.
Ticks and mosquitoes rule the summer months.
Some of the tee signs come into play.
Other Thoughts: Place will beat you down.
First two holes are long and unforgiving.
Almost all of the baskets here are heavily protected by trees and bushes.
There is a nice birdie run you need to capitalize on from 3-10.
The back nine has limited birdie chances for the average or even advanced player.
Tee pads would be a huge upgrade here.
But, an improvement in upkeep would benefit the course much more.
Place gets a bad rap from past years, but it's worth checking out especially during the fall and spring time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ninigret

1    2/16/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with baskets all in fair condition. Very nice mix of shorter, more open holes with tighter holes and there is some length to this course as well. Drives need to be more accurate than powerful on many holes. 17 is the signature hole on this course in all three layouts, one of the toughest holes I've ever played. Tee signs are new and accurate on both red and blue layouts.
Cons: In the summer, being so close to the ocean, it is a mosquito and tick fiesta. Poison ivy can also be a concern. Many brushes are throny so take care. The white tees could also benefit from signage as there are some that are much different throws from the other layouts.
Other Thoughts: Course designer T.M. Dyer and others have really made the effort in putting together a worthy challenge. As the only current RI disc golf course, it is not worth a super long drive, but if you are not too far from here or passing by on I-95, take a break and stretch your legs on this nice course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Way Better than its Disc Score

1    10/17/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- New Directional Signage. According to the other reviews below… and the courses disc score… navigation used to be a bitch at this course - and I can see how. However, the new directional signs that must have been installed recently made navigation a near breeze (I did have to consult the map 2 times). With the additions of the tee-signs, I think the course is considerably better than its disc score might indicate.
- Play Golf. Ninigret makes you "play golf". The ruff is brutal, the fairways are tight, and the ceilings are low… these three things force you concentrate on your shot, or else! If you're trying to throw spike hyzers over everything, or out there playing willy-nilly, you're bound to lose some plastic and get scratched up trying to retrieve it. However, if you look at the holes (I'm speaking of the more difficult holes) for what they are (holes designed to force you to link shots), then the course is fantastic.
- The Green Monster. I loved Hole 17… a 500+' long, extremely roughed corridor, with a green painted bamboo wall (i.e. The Green Monster) at about 400' out with a mandatory around the "foul ball" side of the left "Foul Pole".
- That it's There. Ninigret is the only course listed for Rhode Island… so I guess that it's a good thing that the course even exists. Plus, if you bag it… you get to play 100% of the courses in that state!
Cons:
- Crossover Confuses Navigation. There are several areas where the course figure 8's on itself, and it's easy to get turned around… especially if you don't trust the NEW directional signs. TRUST the new directional signs, they will take you to the next hole.
- Un-Numbered Tee-Pads. It would have been helpful if the tee-pads had tee-signs. Nothing helps aid navigation better than seeing a 4x4 post sticking up… especially if the course has natural tee-pads!!! It would have been nice to know the pars and distances of the holes too.
- Hole 18. After so many interesting holes, it was a letdown to finish the course out on a more regular, just get me back to the car, type of hole… especially after the build-up of playing the extremely legit, championship caliber, Hole 17.
Other Thoughts:
- USE A SPOTTER. I played the course with my girlfriend spotting for me. I had her stand near where I wanted to throw the disc so she could get right on top of them as soon as they landed. This allowed me to open up a little more on shots that I might otherwise have laid up on.
- Better than its Disc Score. I think the cumulative total of bad scores (all probably well-deserved at the time of their writing) have forced this awesome little course to be ranked poorly. However, with the recent improvements (9 new holes and directional signage) and continued maintenance, this course could become pretty solid. I was expecting an atrocity of a course and was pleasantly surprised by the great golf at Ninigret.
- Overall… Ninigret has a bad rap. I would gladly play here again if I was in Rhode Island. The rough is BRUTAL and the shots demanding… but I like that! The use of a spotter is highly recommended if you want to go big and not lose plastic. Navigation was enhanced with the new directional signs and linked course map. It was pouring rain while I played the course (by myself, with the Girlfriend as a spotter) and I still had a blast. It's definitely better than its disc score indicates and well worth the effort to play it if you want to bag Rhode Island and get that "100% in a state played" mark hit.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Donde estan los Tee Signs Mando?

2-4    7/20/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Good Distance
*Thick Terrain
*Many Blind Shots
*Beachside Bombs
*Mellow and Quick
Cons: *NO TEE SIGNS
*Poorly Marked Boxes
*Overgrown
*Poison Ivy!
*Jenky Ass Benches
Other Thoughts: All in all not a bad course, but it deff needs some TLC. You can see that the baskets are fresh and nice, but it has you wondering who is Mando and why hasnt he broken out the weed whacker and found out whoever stole the signs haha

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.