Charlestown, RI 
Ninigret Park Share
Uploaded By: JAKE master Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 172ft.   3 / 254ft.   3 / 386ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Poor Rhode Island

1    6/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 74  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. 16 chain DGA baskets caught better than I thought they would.

There are some interesting shots on this course, for sure. The first 2 holes are very nice.

Decent navigational tools on the course, which is good. More about this below.
Cons: Where to start.

The tee pads on the course are a mess, outside of a couple holes. You'll find tee pads that are painted on roads, natural tee pads with large rocks and roots in them, a few concrete pads (which were nice, to be fair, with one huge trapezoid that felt completely out of place), and even large chunks of sheet metal for tee pads, which is quite possibly the worst idea in the history of tee pads.

Calling this course scruffy would be a slap in the face to all dirty hippies that pride themselves on being scruffy. Seriously, this course has potential, but a boatload of work needs to be done. Even on the "signature hole" (#17 with its craptastic Green Monster remake), it feels slapped together. I wonder if somebody wasn't just wandering around a junkyard looking for stuff to stick in a disc golf course.

The layout of this course is below average, to be generous about it. Holes seem to be just slapped in wherever they could possibly find any space. Several hole transitions lead you directly across other fairways. It's just a mess, especially since there seems to be ton of unused space in this park.

Several holes have ridiculously low canopies. Several other offer no line, even from the short tees. Cleanup and pruning would go a LONG way towards helping this.
Other Thoughts: The first thing I noticed when I walked up to the course was the course designer's name scratched off the information sign. That should have been a red flag...either somebody else was that mad, or the guy felt that bad about having designed this course.

If I lived in Rhode Island, and this was my only option to play, I'd probably quit. I genuinely feel bad for the locals that have to call this place their home course.

I'm rating this as a 2.0 solely on it having the novelty of being the only course in a state, and the untapped potential...although it would take a ton of work.

If you're like me, and HAVE to bag a state when the option affords itself, then go play it. Just remember, it's also at the southern end of the state...so you'll have to drive a bit to get there.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unique

1    10/11/2013   3/30/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three tee locations per hole, averaging under 200' from the reds, ~275' from the whites, and ~350' from the blues. Teesigns at the blue and red (except #8, white and red) locations.

Navigational aids: excellent online map to help guide you about the course (however, white tee-14 is closer to blue tee-2 than the map indicates). Good signs and directions.
Cons:
You'll need the map as, at times, you pass by some tees, or backtrack, to find the next tee.

Omnipresent warning of ticks and mosquitoes.

Number-16's "fairway" has a tremendous amount of ankle-to-knee high groundcover, perfect for hiding discs - have a spotter, if possible.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set amidst a near-ocean public park Quite flat, with fairways defined by (mostly short and/or thin) scattered trees and thick brush - you'll see sky overhead at all times. Unused roads serve as out-of-bounds on some of the holes, and also provide tee locations for others.

The majority of the holes, the exceptions being number-2 and "Green Monster" #17, are relatively short. Challenges primarily come from needing sharp turns (both lefts and rights), nearby out-of-bounds, mandos, and, at times, a (too) thick line of random trees just prior to reaching the green.

Overall, an okay course, where you'll mainly be working your control/creative-shot game. If you want to add Rhode Island to your States-played list, then this course is a must play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Much Fun

1    10/18/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: wentzl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The sign at the start of the course says "Only Course in Rhode Island". Well marked with signs to follow the course.
Cons: Illogical course layout has you walking back and forth over the same ground more often than you want. Thick brush make the longer holes just a crap shot to see if you can find your disc.
Other Thoughts: Scrubby and uninteresting

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Rep for Rhody

1    5/25/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: Leftist
Played: 114  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent assortment of long and short baskets with the shorties bunched in the middle. Nice setting in a scrub oak / shrubby littoral woodland split by old paved roads from an abandoned airfield training community. Signage is now primo! Apparently this is a recent development and it certainly made my solo first time a breeze. If you can't find the next tee or get turned around then you're an idiot:)
Cons: Heavy metal sheet tee pads on a bunch of (blue) tees. When they weren't puddling water they were eliciting ginger f'''ed up footwork that kinda pissed me off occasionally. Nice local found object distinctiveness but functionally suspect for this tosser.
Other Thoughts: Pleased to finally play this only permanent course in my home state! I can recommend it unequivocally and look forward to attacking it on my next visit...

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tight and tough

5+    5/17/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees to challenge all skill levels.
New tee signs and next tee signs have improved course feel and flow.
A blend of brutally long, and birdie run holes.
Baskets are in great shape.
Course will test your placement, putting and power (in that order).
Good mix of shots needed on this one.
Lots of space to warm up.
Port-a-potties around park.
Lots of parking.
Cons: Thick tree lines can eat discs up.
Grass gets thick between mows.
Some of the Blue tee pads are metal, they have no footing.
Ticks and mosquitoes rule the summer months.
Some of the tee signs come into play.
Other Thoughts: Place will beat you down.
First two holes are long and unforgiving.
Almost all of the baskets here are heavily protected by trees and bushes.
There is a nice birdie run you need to capitalize on from 3-10.
The back nine has limited birdie chances for the average or even advanced player.
Tee pads would be a huge upgrade here.
But, an improvement in upkeep would benefit the course much more.
Place gets a bad rap from past years, but it's worth checking out especially during the fall and spring time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Call me a Homer!

5+    3/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 235  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging course, especially the back Nine
- A tremendous amount of improvement since the last time I played.
- Great creativity on many holes with use of Mandos.
- Still remains the best course for miles.
- Ninigret Park is near the coast and beach, so plenty of places to check out nearby.
- If it ever reached its full potential, the Park has plenty of parking and amenities to host a solid tournament.
Cons: - Tough during summer- vegetation grows like crazy
- the whole area is prone to ticks, so be careful.
- The course will perpetually need more maintenance than most, due to the vegetation growth on most holes
Other Thoughts: - I have a tremendous amount of sentimental attachment to this course. It was one of the first ones I regularly started playing when I got into disc golf over 10 years ago.
- The course is challenging and has made me a better player as a result.
- Hole #17 is a classic. I would love to see how pro level players fair on this one. One of the toughest Par 5s I have ever come across.
- Glad to see some of the upgrades with tee signs around the course. It is currently in great shape and it is definitely worth a stop if you are passing through the area. Will always remain one of my top fav courses, wish there were more in my home state of Rhode Island.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant surprise!

1    5/1/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging lines with nice distance. You will need accuracy and some big throws to score well here.The course felt very even for right-left-dart shots. I had to flick more than a couple from the funk to get back on track. The longer holes call for drivers but I recommend caution. There are some nice ace runs as well.

There wasn't much elevation and no water to speak of but the course was balanced. I don't believe in knocking a course hard for not having certain natural effects. For the land and terrain available, I feel this is a very well designed course from tee to pin (from pin to tee is another story).

The apparently new tee signs were quite nice. They illustrated distances and lines for each of the three tee's. FYI for this review, we played the blue/long layout.

I read in the other reviews commenting on how terrible the rough and insects are, however, I played in early spring. The rough was just beginning to green and there were very few pests. I found the rough to be a bit thick but nothing too terrible. Perhaps my opinion of this would change on a humid July afternoon. Regardless, it seems this course is best suited for early spring and late fall play.
Cons: I was fortunate enough to join a couple locals on the first tee. During the round, it was obvious that navigation would have been tough without their lead. There is a lot of wandering, sometimes it seemed in circles, to get to the next tee.

Not much in the amenities department but no big deal. Pack it in - pack it out, use the john before you get there and byo bev.
Other Thoughts: I seriously enjoyed this course. It was challenging yet fair. A lot of the gripes folks have had about this course have seemingly been addressed recently. The signage was sweet and the tees were solid. I tip my hat to the individuals maintaining this course. The growth and brush here must take considerable effort to keep at bay.

Due to the low overall rating of this course, I almost past it by on this trip. Very glad I stopped. Good time had by all.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Ninigret

1    2/16/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with baskets all in fair condition. Very nice mix of shorter, more open holes with tighter holes and there is some length to this course as well. Drives need to be more accurate than powerful on many holes. 17 is the signature hole on this course in all three layouts, one of the toughest holes I've ever played. Tee signs are new and accurate on both red and blue layouts.
Cons: In the summer, being so close to the ocean, it is a mosquito and tick fiesta. Poison ivy can also be a concern. Many brushes are throny so take care. The white tees could also benefit from signage as there are some that are much different throws from the other layouts.
Other Thoughts: Course designer T.M. Dyer and others have really made the effort in putting together a worthy challenge. As the only current RI disc golf course, it is not worth a super long drive, but if you are not too far from here or passing by on I-95, take a break and stretch your legs on this nice course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Don't sleep on Ninigret

5+    11/1/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: starwhale
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Ninigret is a course that makes you think about every shot you throw, you can't just say ill just throw it hard and far and ill be fine because you'll end up in 3 feet deep bushes. It forces you decide what you want to do before you throw your shot which will come in handy playing all courses.
- New tee signs have now been put in which tell you par, distance, and the interesting out of bounds rules that spice up many holes.
- Fall is the perfect time to try Ninigret, all the overgrowth is dying all as well as all the bugs that can make playing here in the summer time almost not worth it.
- great variety of hyzer, straight, and anhyzer holes.
Cons: - overgrowth on some holes still but it is only one guy who takes care of the course so considering, he is doing a pretty good job.
- no tee pads on many holes which can cause trips and falls on a wooded course, but I've heard this is the next step on revamping Ninigret.
- no leagues which is a shame since this is the only course in Rhode Island.
Other Thoughts: I was going to give this course a 3 but the new tee signs bumped it up for me. (No tee signs has been a common complaint of mine since I first played here). But some holes and tee pads are still missing tee signs but I assume it is on going to put them on all holes. Once again it would be great to have some leagues here since it is the only course in Rhode Island but good job Ninigret it is worlds from where it was as a 8 hole course!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Way Better than its Disc Score

1    10/17/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- New Directional Signage. According to the other reviews below… and the courses disc score… navigation used to be a bitch at this course - and I can see how. However, the new directional signs that must have been installed recently made navigation a near breeze (I did have to consult the map 2 times). With the additions of the tee-signs, I think the course is considerably better than its disc score might indicate.
- Play Golf. Ninigret makes you "play golf". The ruff is brutal, the fairways are tight, and the ceilings are low… these three things force you concentrate on your shot, or else! If you're trying to throw spike hyzers over everything, or out there playing willy-nilly, you're bound to lose some plastic and get scratched up trying to retrieve it. However, if you look at the holes (I'm speaking of the more difficult holes) for what they are (holes designed to force you to link shots), then the course is fantastic.
- The Green Monster. I loved Hole 17… a 500+' long, extremely roughed corridor, with a green painted bamboo wall (i.e. The Green Monster) at about 400' out with a mandatory around the "foul ball" side of the left "Foul Pole".
- That it's There. Ninigret is the only course listed for Rhode Island… so I guess that it's a good thing that the course even exists. Plus, if you bag it… you get to play 100% of the courses in that state!
Cons:
- Crossover Confuses Navigation. There are several areas where the course figure 8's on itself, and it's easy to get turned around… especially if you don't trust the NEW directional signs. TRUST the new directional signs, they will take you to the next hole.
- Un-Numbered Tee-Pads. It would have been helpful if the tee-pads had tee-signs. Nothing helps aid navigation better than seeing a 4x4 post sticking up… especially if the course has natural tee-pads!!! It would have been nice to know the pars and distances of the holes too.
- Hole 18. After so many interesting holes, it was a letdown to finish the course out on a more regular, just get me back to the car, type of hole… especially after the build-up of playing the extremely legit, championship caliber, Hole 17.
Other Thoughts:
- USE A SPOTTER. I played the course with my girlfriend spotting for me. I had her stand near where I wanted to throw the disc so she could get right on top of them as soon as they landed. This allowed me to open up a little more on shots that I might otherwise have laid up on.
- Better than its Disc Score. I think the cumulative total of bad scores (all probably well-deserved at the time of their writing) have forced this awesome little course to be ranked poorly. However, with the recent improvements (9 new holes and directional signage) and continued maintenance, this course could become pretty solid. I was expecting an atrocity of a course and was pleasantly surprised by the great golf at Ninigret.
- Overall… Ninigret has a bad rap. I would gladly play here again if I was in Rhode Island. The rough is BRUTAL and the shots demanding… but I like that! The use of a spotter is highly recommended if you want to go big and not lose plastic. Navigation was enhanced with the new directional signs and linked course map. It was pouring rain while I played the course (by myself, with the Girlfriend as a spotter) and I still had a blast. It's definitely better than its disc score indicates and well worth the effort to play it if you want to bag Rhode Island and get that "100% in a state played" mark hit.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.