Foxboro, MA 
Normandy Farms Campground Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Really?

1    7/27/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: sega
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In decent shape, some good signs. Easy to play 36 holes.
Cons: $12 to gain access to play ... really? The best courses in the state are less than that for all day play, and half that for 18 !!!! And 16 of 18 holes are short par 3's , not a real challenge.
Other Thoughts: $12 to play this short par 3 course ... really?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Campground Course With Nice Signs And Baskets!

1    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Normandy Farms Campground is a large private campground with plenty of amenties including a pond, ballfields, an on-site store, a nice fenced in dog park, kids play areas and much more. There is a $12 per day charge to use the facilities which is pretty steep to play what basically amounts to a nice little pitch and putt course. The course plays through a wooded area and around the dog park on one side of the campground. It has brand new DGA baskets with the red numbers on top. And they're all facing the right way (or back to the teepad). The pads are crushed gravel with landscaping timbers on three sides to keep the gravel tight. Most of them were packed in fairly smooth. The courses has a great course sign/map at the beginning and excellent colored tee signs at each hole. There were a few garbage cans scattered about and some benches for sitting, not that you need to rest on this short little course. The holes are almost all in the neighborhood of 200'. A few are a little longer and a couple are shorter, maybe 175'. There are many ACE runs and birdies await the accurate thrower. The pars listed are aimed at the average camper so an eagle or two could be had if your into that kinda thing. Navigation is simple and you'll have the course to yourself, no crowds.
Cons: $12 to play is probably designed to keep the average rift-raft disc golfer types out. This is not a destination course. It's probably not even considered a recreational course. What it is then, it's a campground course! That's a cross between a pitch and putt and a rec course.
I didn't much care for # 15. It's just a straight 250' toss down a road. Very little imagination used on this hole.
Other Thoughts: As this was my final day in New England, I arrived here early (about 6:30 AM). The front gate was locked. So I parked and walked in and finally located the course at the back of the campground. After playing, I found a gate that opened out on to the street out front and was able to sneak out with paying the $12. I feel like a penniless 15 year old kid again.

Anyway, I liked this little course. It would be fun to come and camp here with the family. Bring your kids to disc. Hit the course with your mid ranges and putter and go for those eagles and ACEs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Revamped and worth a visit

1    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: bankspeople
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is where I played my first game of disc golf back in 2007 and I've been hooked ever since. The course was just ok until this year. They really invested in some improvments. The course winds through the woods and along the outside of a fenced in dog park. Everything is well marked and navigation is not a problem. Most of the holes are in the woods but it opens up quite a bit. We've always played there as campers so I can't speak to the price for just the dg but it's worth a visit. They have really nice amenities for a campground.
Cons: Not as challenging as other courses I've played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short with Trees

1    11/20/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: sandford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 2.5 - It was fun to play (always nice to play any DG at all in my book!) but not memorable
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 4 - Very easy to navigate with a map and "next tee" signs
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 4 - tee boxes were nice
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 2 - in the woods of a campground
BASKETS (5% weight) - 4 - new DGA baskets were just put in
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 4 - well placed trees and obstacles forces you to throw a few different ways
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 4 - easy paths and brush not too thick
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 3 - no benches, but a couple trash cans scattered around
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 2.5 - most holes were tight with trees, only a coupel wide open
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 2 - not a very challenging course
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 4 - not too many people there
Cons: COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 1 - a bland course design that missed a few opportunities to make it more interesting
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 1 - not a lot of good elevation changes even though it looked like the land had good potential for some,
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 2 - in the woods of a campground
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 1 - no single hole sticks out as epic
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 1 - there were not long holes - everythign plays pretty short
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 2 - not a very challenging course
PARKING (2% weight) - 0 - plenty of parking but this gets a zero because it costs $12 to a gate pass to play for the day
Other Thoughts: After my round I spoke with a group of guys who play here regularly and they told me this past summer the whole course was re-designed and new signs / baskets were put in. They said it was a big improvement over the old layout.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 much better if free

1    10/11/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Defined tees
- nice signage
- beginner friendly
- easy to navigate
- well maintained
- Camp grounds have lots of other activities
- Close to borderland state park
Cons: - Single set of tees
- plays along a walking path
- day pass fee
Other Thoughts: I arrived about 7:30 and the office wasn't open yet so I just made my way to the course. Easy enough to find just head straight a bit to the back of the site. The first tee however was not that close to the parking lot. They are a couple of nice maps near the parking lot and the start of the course but no take withs. The course navigation however is easy going and has signage in the couple spots were needed. The tees and signs are very nice and most holes can be seen from the tees. The single tees are great for beginners and children, I challenged myself by throwing only mids and putters. I thought they made good use of the land and trees as obsticles. I played early and there wasn't much traffic in the area however this course plays along a walking path that could be busy with people at times making glofers have to wait. Maybe not a destination course but if you've got kids and like camping this could be a nice location, as they can play here or keep busy with the other activities on site while you sneak down the road to borderland state park.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Campground Course

1    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very well laid out. They give you a map at the front desk but it's not needed.

Was not too crowded considering how packed the camp was.

Fairly easy course..easy terrain..perfect for having younger kids

You can go through the 18 holes relatively fast.
Cons: All the holes are par 3's and around 200 yards..not very challenging and gets kind of boring. Everyhole is basically the same.

Also due to the campers , there were a couple groups playing with recreational frisbees..which slowed things down a bit.

one hole i had to skip cause the basket was next to a huge rock that like 10 little kids were playing on and climbing.
Other Thoughts: It's not a big deal to pay money to play but 12.00 per person is a little steep for this type of course. they should cut it down a bit..i'd go more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: ChainSeekersMI
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely uncrowded especially seeing for how busy the campsites were. I played two rounds and was the only person on the course both rounds. Everything was marked clearly and it was a very clean area to play in. I do like these short courses sometimes because it makes you work on your approach game but I was needing something with a little more distance. Every hole should be birdie-able but sadly I did take a couple of +1s.

It seems to me like they just finished or were in the middle of doing a lot of clearing of brush so that was nice.

Front entrance staff really nice and helpful.
Cons: When I went I wasn't sure if it was peak season or not but there is a trail that goes back in the disc golf area. There were quite a few kids/parents back there riding their bikes so heads up for that.
Other Thoughts: I don't really complain about the $ unless the place is just for disc golf, however, the previous reviewer stated a $10 fee but I paid $12. Not sure if it was because of my out-of-state license plate but that was for a daily pass. If you do go here I would definitely make it a full day and bring other things to do with you. This campground in itself is actually rather awesome. One of the best I've seen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Normandy Farms

1    10/2/2008   3/15/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uncrowded. Many birdie opportunities. Decent signs. In a very nice campground with a basketball court, playground, baseball field, dog park, and many other recreational facilities.
Cons: Despite $10 fee, course is very poorly maintained. Some holes are marked as par 4s, but are well under 300'. I never found the tee or the basket for the hole nearest to the baseball diamond (# 15 ?). Very short course (only one hole over 300').
Other Thoughts: The person in the office said that major maintenance was planned for the course. Has potential, but needs work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.