Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

North Port Charlotte, FL
North Charlotte Regional Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice re-design!

5+    11/10/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 58  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - easy to follow the course.

- nice concrete pads, multiple pads and multiple basket positions on several holes.

- newly designed back 9 adds much needed diversity to the course. There are now some holes that open up more yet still maintain a good technical challenge.

- lots of shade for hot days.

- very tight technical course that will surely challenge all skill ranges.
Cons: - very long walk between 18 back to hole 1 if you decide to play again or if you play an organized round where people start on different holes.

- a few new tee pads (holes 2, 9alt, 13, 15alt) were a little too close to the fairway or basket from the previous hole but I suppose that could only be an issue if the course was crowded, which it was not.

- It's one thing to make a hole virtually impossible to ace, but to make it virtually impossible to birdie in 2 is somewhat of a disappointment to me. Holes 1 & 2 are case in point. I don't mind a good tight wooded hole as there are plenty of great tight holes on this course, but holes 1 & 2 are just too tight with trees and vegetation too have such long funky twists in the fairway. This really kills the fun factor on these holes in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: - restrooms & water fountain @ baseball field pavilion.

- there is quite a contrast of difficulty between the front 9 & back 9. The front 9 is considerably tighter and the fairways are less forgiving. The vegetation and landscape change on the back 9 which helps open the fairways enough for ample birdie opportunities that were just not there on the front 9.

- overall, I think the redesign was a big improvement and the new back 9 is awesome. Can't wait to play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice little course

1    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: Guru10
Played: 39  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy to navigate
-trash cans were plenty, little trash on ground
-flows very well
-great for all skill levels
-concrete tees
Cons: -little, if any, elevation
-just slight variation in hole design, a little monotonous
Other Thoughts: i played with my family and we had a blast. it was easy for us to navigate hole-to-hole and we never lost any discs, even though it was my mom and dad's first time on a course and my first course outside of texas. the holes felt a little monotonous, but the usage of the available land and the creative pin placements kept things fresh. i will definitely play this course whenever i visit. just wish i could have played the course several times to learn the lines.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/9/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee areas: Wooden Posts with Distance, direction, an hole #. (No Map) Concrete Tees, plenty of garbage cans.

-Signs in the park directing one to the Disc Golf course*.

-Navigation: There isn't a map per say, but there are plenty of directional signs to find your way through the course. The course flows nicely

-Layout: It does play 18 straight through, but it returns to the start after #5, so a quick round is possible if one were on a schedule. …or even start on 6 and play through 18, if one were so inclined.

-It's a wooded course and the fairways are wide and the brush is sparse enough that losing a disc is a low risk. Although, I did have one disc get stuck up in a tree.

-Good pin placements. For the area that was used, they did a great job maximizing the course potential.

-Good fun factor. This is a course that is beginner friendly, yet can still be enjoyed by all skill levels. I only used a driver on 6 and 18. The rest of the course, I threw mids.

-The distances are fair for a wooded course. They average from 250-300ft, with a 416ft open shot. You will find specific lines that you will need to throw, in order to work your way through trees and around corners. It's challenging, but not difficult. The trees will also require you to keep it low.

-For the most part, the course is separate from the rest of the park and doesn't play near common areas.*

-The players that I met on the course were very friendly. Two guys coming off #18 help point me in the direction towards hole #1*. I met some other players on the course, and they walked up, shook my hand and introduced themselves. That is something I felt was well worth mentioning. Very cool!

-If there is a Baseball game going on, the lights can help light up the last few holes. Just in case it gets dark on you like it did me.

-For what it's worth: There are baseball fields here, so there might be a concession stand (seasonal) and bathrooms nearby. (I forgot to double check this, so feel free to correct me if I'm wrong)
Cons: -Though the navigation* here was very good, locating the first tee can be tricky. I had to ask a couple of guys coming off the 18th basket, for directions. From the parking lot, you'll see a basket along the edge of the woods. That is #18. The first tee, is just past it to the right and down in the woods. To give you a generalized location, it's between the 18th basket and the road.

-Though the course is segregated, for the most part, some events might find some stragglers roaming around near some of the baskets. In my case, it was a little league game. I stumbled onto some kids running around the fairways. Namely 11 and 12. The interactions may not be limited to Baseball.

-I didn't see any bathrooms or portos on the course. I would assume that there would be some near the ballfields.

-Although, issues with this con should be minimal, 6 &18 do share a fairway. The odds of getting hit here are slim, but it's still worth the mention to be alert for that possible shank.

-A few holes plays alongside the back of the ballfield. So be alert for Home Run balls. The trees might deflect most, but anything is possible. As I always say: They don't yell Fore in Baseball, so heads up!

-This is just for the mention, not necessarily a slight. The elevation changes are minimal. For the most part, the course is flat, with a couple of gradual hills on the longer holes. This is just part of being in a coastal area. It is what it is.

-I could foresee this place having a bug issue in the summertime. So throw some repellent in the bag.

-They are pulling this course, this summer so hurry up and enjoy it!
Other Thoughts: I wasn't sure what to expect here, but I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed myself, and felt I was challenged. It could get muddy here, but normal Tennis shoes should be okay footwear here. There weren't any immediate places to eat nearby, but you should pass plenty of Gas stations or restaurants on the way to the course.
If you are in the area, or driving up 75, this is a good course to take in. It also compliments the other courses in the area nicely. If you are doing a roadtrip, it's a little ways off I-75, but not too much to complain about. It's woodsy, but not frustratingly tight. It's open enough that you have a variety of options for your lines. Though it would appear to be right-hand dominate, the placements are set straight ahead. So whether you are right handed or left, you'll still be required to shape your shot. I had a great time here, and I'm glad I got in a round before the course gets relocated.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/10/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 54  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot has already been said about this course. I will just add what I think would be helpful to someone coming for the first time that has not already been said.

Pay close attention to the navigation signs. They are excellent and otherwise you would just wander all over the woods.

I was clueless for a while where hole 1 was located. Pull in the first park entrance well before the road dead ends. You will see a disc golf course sign on the right side of the road and a basket. That is the basket for hole 18 and hole one is just to the right of that basket by walking next to the bench, down the hill. I wish I had known that. It would have saved me some time. This course has plenty of challenge and requires a VERY high degree of accuracy if you want to get some birdies. Just enough obstacles in the way to keep birdies from being easy.
Cons: The course was empty when I played it and it would have been nice to have someone point out where the baskets were because so many holes are blind. If you are alone and playing for the first time you will have to walk up the fairway for a bit on many holes to know where you are throwing. The navigation signs help but you still don't want to throw blind and lose a disc. This is a drawback only on the first few times playing this course. Later, this would be a big plus on this course as it adds difficulty and challenge once it is no longer a nuisance through experience on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is one park along I-75 that I would love to play again. That can't be said for all the courses along I-75. If you are going to play any make sure to hit this course and the ones in Sarasota (Lakeview & Water Tower).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 AKA The Preserve DGC

1    1/8/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Directional arrows and #'s directing you to the next tee. They had these little tags on posts and there was one for every hole unless it was obvious to continue straight to the next tee. There was also an arrow directing you to the first tee. This course sets a good example for navigation aids.

2) Hole # and Distance are listed on little yellow tags on a post right next to each tee. More helpful for navigation than anything else.

3) There is also a disc golf sign (although half of the arrow has been broken off) on Odonnell Road directing you to turn right into the parking lot.

4) Nice park with multiple baseball fields, a pond near the parking lot and a wonderful disc golf course. I did not explore but I would assume there were bathrooms and a concession area over by the ball fields. Most likely however they are not open all of the time.

5) Trippers (roots and stones) are painted with red paint. I have seen this done where disc golf courses double as cross country running areas.

6) Concrete tees are always a plus in my book. Planting on sandy soil would be just like playing on worn turf, so the concrete is highly welcomed. The sand from the sandy soil gets on the tees but doesn't seem to be an issue for slippery tees.

7) Course looks to be heavily played. Some may view this as a negative but it surely works in the walking paths and fairways. I think the play also helps to thin the underbrush and keep the fairways well defined.

8) DGA baskets in great shape with number plates facing the tees. SO many courses neglect to pay attention to the # plate alignment and it gets annoying. They did a good job of planting the sleeves at the appropriate angle.

9) This course is tight and challenging. It will make you shape your shots, but it is also fair and forgiving in appropriate places. I think a lot of this has to do with the amount of play.

10) Garbage and makeshift benches are scattered through the course and seemed to be adequate to me.

11) Underbrush is under good control. Again I think this is the case because of the high amount of play that this course seems to receive.

12) Soil is sandy but it nice to walk on. It wouldnt be muddy on this course anywhere because it is almost 100% sandy soil and no organic soil included.

13) There is a great variety of shot shaping. Some go left to right some go right to left and some require an S curve. There are also some straight at the basket options on some of these holes but that factors in more risk/reward. You can play safe and hope for a good bounce, or you can gun it right up the gut and go for the birdie.
Cons: 1) No diagram on the tee signs. I always like to see a general hole shape but most of the baskets are visible from the tees or the fairways are pretty clearly defined, but the diagram on the tee would be better in my opinion.

2) Only elevation on this course is on Hole #6 where you throw down and across some open turf to an opening into the wooded area. Hole #18 is also back up this same hill you came down on #6. Not enough elevation to consider worthwhile and/or challenging.

3) Water never comes into play on this course. I think they could have tucked a few baskets up to the troughs surrounding the course. They maybe could have even tucked baskets over the canals, unless that isnt their property.

4) Too many holes on this course seem to be simple par 3's Sure they are challenging for the birdie but most people will hit one obstacles lay up and make their three with a putt. I would rather see a wider range of scoring on some of these holes.

5) I hope this park is doing well . . . I did see three or four workers over by the ball fields so they must see some usage. It is located in an old abandoned development and I am sure it isn't very visible to many people. There is only a small Brown sign located out on the main road directing people to this park. Since the area along Odonnell is an abandoned development, and on a dead end road, not many people will end up on this road.
Other Thoughts: I also rated this course a little higher than some people on this site. I enjoyed it very much and it is very well designed, has enough amenities and it flows well. It has good signage, is well broken in, and seems to have some good maintenance people. I consider this course on par with many courses I consider my favorite, it just simply doesnt have enough variety to be one of the best. That does not take away from how fun the course is or how likely I would be to return, especially considering the other courses between Tampa and Naples. There just are not enough good courses for this area, probably because the tropical weather creates a lot of maintenance issues for plant material. I will make it a point to hit up this course whenever I visit my parents in Fort Myers and am most likely to drive to this course and the two in Sarasota before playing the other ones like FGCU, Bay Oaks, or Bonita.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, tough, technical

2-4    10/29/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice concrete teepads
-a few benches spread out over the course
-trash cans at a majority of the teepads
-an overall clean course
-variety of shots
-bring your midrange discs
Cons: the Florida woods provide a thick rough, but it only makes you a better player. Keep it in the fairway!
Other Thoughts: I'm in the area for a quick Indiana getaway, had an opportunity to play this course with a friend of mine, as well as with a local. Most holes have a variety of shots to choose from, plus there is a pond that does not come into play currently, but our local guide told us the park had gotten the ok to put in an additional 9 holes around the pond. I try to play as many courses as I can and I had a blast working my Rocs down the tight fairways and unique greens.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 tough as palm frons

2-4    8/3/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes with cement tee pads. Relatively easy to navigate, friendly locals. Course foiliage is well manicured and the course was clean (I remember seeing a garbage can about a third of the way through.) Course requires a variety of throws and offers many opportunities to take big risks or play it safe.

Cons: The biggest con is that the blind holes need signs to indicate where the baskets are. If you stand in one spot too long you may find your legs or bag covered in fire ants. Course was recently sprayed so I was lucky to avoid the mosquitos, but I heard the locals say that you should never come with out a gallon of DEET.
Other Thoughts: Course is not beginner friendly. Recreational players with some expereince will be able to enjoy the course, but this is not a course to use to introduce a friend to the sport.
If you are not from the area the course is in Port Charlotte if you need a town to enter into your Garmin. Course was very easy to find. When you get to Odonnell there should be a sign on the first left before the softball fields that says Disc Golf. you'll see a basket right away. lnstead of using "Map This Location" look at 27.013095,-82.178164 on google maps you can zoom in almost enought to see the 18th basket to the right of the baseball fields

Update: Course is becoming more wide open as more people keep removing trees with out permission.

Update: Course is currently in plans to expand to 27 holes (new holes will be added past hole 10)

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Review for an Updated Course!

5+    10/13/2011   6/18/2009
Review By: thrembo
Played: 79  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 38.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Set in an area of the park dedicated exclusevly to disc golf.

Nice concrete pads and perfect baskets.

The course is carved out of Florida forest, giving it a rustic jungle charm.

Tee signs give distance info, baskets have easy to read #'s on them, and there are plenty of trail blazer signs making course navigation a breeze.

Multiple tees and permanent alternate baskets on some holes.

I don't normally do a hole by hole review, but decided to do so because the course uses several of the original holes, some with different #'s.

Hole 1: New 298' A tight wooded curvy hole with a low cieling. Harder than the original hole 1. Lets you know right off the bat if this course is for you or not!

Hole 2: 282' An "L" shaped hole to the left, tight fairway

Hole 3: 228' Old hole 14

Hole 4: 326' Old hole 15, but withan alt basket @ 359'.

Hole 5: 386' Old hole 7.

Hole 6: 285' Old hole 13, but with an alt basket @ 373'.

Hole 7: New Hole. Two sets of tees, 7A 332' 7B 388' Another long tight "L" shaped hole.

Hole 8: 282' Original hole 8, but with a longer alt basket @ 360".

Hole 9: 224' Original hole 9, new alt basket @ 313'.

Hole 10: 261' Original hole 10, new alt basket @ 349'.

Hole 11: 239' New hole, short and to the right.

Hole 12: 229' New hole, short and right.

Hole 13: Throws out of the woods, then takes a hard left following the gap between the woods and the ditch, then ends to the left behind the edge of the woods.

Hole 14: 338' New. Out of the woods/jungle for a few open holes with a pond and a ditch. Pond on left side of 14, ditch with seasonal water, is on the right.

Hole 15: New. A tee 228' B tee 306' Pond on left side.

Hole 16: New. A tee 275'/330' B tee 238'/342 Throws over pond from pro tees. Two baskets. Scenic hole.

Hole 17: New. 267' 17A tee 290' Another scenic hole long and straight, with a low cieling, creating an interesting tunnel shot.

Hole 18: New. 258' A tight left turn.

Cons: Hole 1 may be hard to find right now. If you pull into the 1st park entrance, there is a little parking area to the right, with handicap parking. Follow the sidewalk inbetween the new and old baseball fields till you reach the woods to your left. Hole 1 is tucked in there.

You can't see the baskets from alot of the holes, so new/infrequent players will have to walk the fairways to find the basket before throwing.

Hole 11 angles off towards a baseball field and hole 15's basket is a little too close to a soccer field. I think they might have steered the course that way to get some exposure? But I would have done these holes differently.

There is a long walk from hole 18 to the parking lot, or back to hole 1. I don't know why they didn't steer the course through the woods, and back to the parking lot.

They need to get some more garbage cans on the course, and some benches would be nice!

Other Thoughts: Alot of the course is still raw, and I suppose they are not completely done yet. The course could benifit from a few more sets of tee pads.

As it stands right now, the course is not very beginer friendly. I understand the need to have a high rated course, and this one will challenge now, for tournaments and such.

I hope that the county will consider puting in a 9 hole rec course somewhere, to introduce new players (especially women and children) to the sport.

Overall I like the new layout and will continue to update this review as new info becomes available.


4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

2-4    4/13/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well marked and the tees are paved. Holes are beautiful Mach 3 baskets. This is a very tight, yet fair course. There are many narrow fairways, but there is a clear flight path available on every hole. The course is reasonable short, but the lack of distance is more than compensated for by the degree of difficulty of many tee shots. The rough is there, but has been really cut back and it is not difficult to locate an errant throw. It is interesting to note that this course was designed by a left handed player and it shows. This course has many, many pin placements that go to the right and require a flick for a right handed player or a left hand backhand. All of you left handed players now have a course to call your own.
Cons: It would be nice to see alternate tees someday. The tee signs only give the yardage. Several holes are not visible from the tee, so if you are unfamiliar with the course you either have to walk the hole or just guess.
Other Thoughts: I played this course just a month or so after it was installed back in 2004. It was a tough and rough course with dirt tees, wild overgrown grass and rough. Upon my return nearly 5 years later, I was most pleasantly surprised. There is a great parking lot right by the 18th hole and first tee. The rough has really been cleared and each hole is really well defined. I read the other review and could understand it from when I played it several years ago. However, after playing it now, I have to disagree with a majority of that review. It was a really nice course that offers quite the challenge. This course is about 40 minutes from my house and if I'm driving north to play, usually go on up to Sarasota for two really great courses. After my recent visit, I'm going to add this into my regular rotation as I had a very enjoyable experience. It very cool to see a course develop with some TLC from the local disc golf enthusiasts into a really solid course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.