Layout Extinct

North Port Charlotte, FL 
North Charlotte Regional Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A good place to practice

5+    10/21/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: poolsk8r
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice clean course, getting alot of foot traffic so it's playing alot better than a couple of years ago, concrete pads and nice baskets. Good place to practice controll short shots
Cons: Way too many short holes half of the course is a pitch and putt. No pro tee pads, or alternate pin settings
Other Thoughts: Could be a really good course just needs alittle tune up.. some longer holes, alternate pin sets and pro pads

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    10/6/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: Kensemr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Challenging, Friendly locals, Great place to park and throw some warm up shots, nice bathrooms and water fountains, all the trees keep the sun off of you
Cons: Like previously mentioned, the bugs can get brutal, several times I have been playing and there are people who use the course as a running trail, them thorney vines and saw like palm frawns make finding discs painful
Other Thoughts: I learned to play on this course. It is by far the most challenging I have played. At first it was frustrating, but now I love it. Makes other courses seem easy. Also, there is a big crowd of local players, so there is always someone to play with. One day I will hit par here.....

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 tough as palm frons

2-4    8/3/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes with cement tee pads. Relatively easy to navigate, friendly locals. Course foiliage is well manicured and the course was clean (I remember seeing a garbage can about a third of the way through.) Course requires a variety of throws and offers many opportunities to take big risks or play it safe.

Cons: The biggest con is that the blind holes need signs to indicate where the baskets are. If you stand in one spot too long you may find your legs or bag covered in fire ants. Course was recently sprayed so I was lucky to avoid the mosquitos, but I heard the locals say that you should never come with out a gallon of DEET.
Other Thoughts: Course is not beginner friendly. Recreational players with some expereince will be able to enjoy the course, but this is not a course to use to introduce a friend to the sport.
If you are not from the area the course is in Port Charlotte if you need a town to enter into your Garmin. Course was very easy to find. When you get to Odonnell there should be a sign on the first left before the softball fields that says Disc Golf. you'll see a basket right away. lnstead of using "Map This Location" look at 27.013095,-82.178164 on google maps you can zoom in almost enought to see the 18th basket to the right of the baseball fields

Update: Course is becoming more wide open as more people keep removing trees with out permission.

Update: Course is currently in plans to expand to 27 holes (new holes will be added past hole 10)

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Review for an Updated Course!

5+    10/13/2011   6/18/2009
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Set in an area of the park dedicated exclusevly to disc golf.

Nice concrete pads and perfect baskets.

The course is carved out of Florida forest, giving it a rustic jungle charm.

Tee signs give distance info, baskets have easy to read #'s on them, and there are plenty of trail blazer signs making course navigation a breeze.

Multiple tees and permanent alternate baskets on some holes.

I don't normally do a hole by hole review, but decided to do so because the course uses several of the original holes, some with different #'s.

Hole 1: New 298' A tight wooded curvy hole with a low cieling. Harder than the original hole 1. Lets you know right off the bat if this course is for you or not!

Hole 2: 282' An "L" shaped hole to the left, tight fairway

Hole 3: 228' Old hole 14

Hole 4: 326' Old hole 15, but withan alt basket @ 359'.

Hole 5: 386' Old hole 7.

Hole 6: 285' Old hole 13, but with an alt basket @ 373'.

Hole 7: New Hole. Two sets of tees, 7A 332' 7B 388' Another long tight "L" shaped hole.

Hole 8: 282' Original hole 8, but with a longer alt basket @ 360".

Hole 9: 224' Original hole 9, new alt basket @ 313'.

Hole 10: 261' Original hole 10, new alt basket @ 349'.

Hole 11: 239' New hole, short and to the right.

Hole 12: 229' New hole, short and right.

Hole 13: Throws out of the woods, then takes a hard left following the gap between the woods and the ditch, then ends to the left behind the edge of the woods.

Hole 14: 338' New. Out of the woods/jungle for a few open holes with a pond and a ditch. Pond on left side of 14, ditch with seasonal water, is on the right.

Hole 15: New. A tee 228' B tee 306' Pond on left side.

Hole 16: New. A tee 275'/330' B tee 238'/342 Throws over pond from pro tees. Two baskets. Scenic hole.

Hole 17: New. 267' 17A tee 290' Another scenic hole long and straight, with a low cieling, creating an interesting tunnel shot.

Hole 18: New. 258' A tight left turn.

Cons: Hole 1 may be hard to find right now. If you pull into the 1st park entrance, there is a little parking area to the right, with handicap parking. Follow the sidewalk inbetween the new and old baseball fields till you reach the woods to your left. Hole 1 is tucked in there.

You can't see the baskets from alot of the holes, so new/infrequent players will have to walk the fairways to find the basket before throwing.

Hole 11 angles off towards a baseball field and hole 15's basket is a little too close to a soccer field. I think they might have steered the course that way to get some exposure? But I would have done these holes differently.

There is a long walk from hole 18 to the parking lot, or back to hole 1. I don't know why they didn't steer the course through the woods, and back to the parking lot.

They need to get some more garbage cans on the course, and some benches would be nice!

Other Thoughts: Alot of the course is still raw, and I suppose they are not completely done yet. The course could benifit from a few more sets of tee pads.

As it stands right now, the course is not very beginer friendly. I understand the need to have a high rated course, and this one will challenge now, for tournaments and such.

I hope that the county will consider puting in a 9 hole rec course somewhere, to introduce new players (especially women and children) to the sport.

Overall I like the new layout and will continue to update this review as new info becomes available.


4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

2-4    4/13/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well marked and the tees are paved. Holes are beautiful Mach 3 baskets. This is a very tight, yet fair course. There are many narrow fairways, but there is a clear flight path available on every hole. The course is reasonable short, but the lack of distance is more than compensated for by the degree of difficulty of many tee shots. The rough is there, but has been really cut back and it is not difficult to locate an errant throw. It is interesting to note that this course was designed by a left handed player and it shows. This course has many, many pin placements that go to the right and require a flick for a right handed player or a left hand backhand. All of you left handed players now have a course to call your own.
Cons: It would be nice to see alternate tees someday. The tee signs only give the yardage. Several holes are not visible from the tee, so if you are unfamiliar with the course you either have to walk the hole or just guess.
Other Thoughts: I played this course just a month or so after it was installed back in 2004. It was a tough and rough course with dirt tees, wild overgrown grass and rough. Upon my return nearly 5 years later, I was most pleasantly surprised. There is a great parking lot right by the 18th hole and first tee. The rough has really been cleared and each hole is really well defined. I read the other review and could understand it from when I played it several years ago. However, after playing it now, I have to disagree with a majority of that review. It was a really nice course that offers quite the challenge. This course is about 40 minutes from my house and if I'm driving north to play, usually go on up to Sarasota for two really great courses. After my recent visit, I'm going to add this into my regular rotation as I had a very enjoyable experience. It very cool to see a course develop with some TLC from the local disc golf enthusiasts into a really solid course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Brutal and humbling course

1    5/25/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are no water hazards on this course, so you needn't worry about bringing any floating disks. The course is extremely well marked, and the tee pads and baskets are in very good shape. The North Charlotte Regional Park DGC is not very crowded, and the locals are friendly. There is plenty of shade and parking and the bathrooms are nice.
Cons: Extremely tight to non-existent fairways. Even a shot in the middle of the fairway is apt to hit a tree or limb and deflect into the rough. If you are unfortunate enough to find yourself in the rough, the vegetation there is extremely thick and full of briars and ticks. South Florida is extremely hot and humid from June through September and exacerbates the bad playing conditions.
Other Thoughts: North Charlotte Regional Park DGC is a very new, short course that needs a lot of opening up or maturing. I am used to tight courses, but I spent so much time looking for disks in the rough and staying annoyed that it just wasn't an enjoyable experience. This course is brutal and very humbling and should be reserved for advanced to pro level players (i.e., PDGA rating of 890 or above). I would not recommend this course to anyone starting out or new to the game as it will simply break your spirit. Long story short, if this was the only DGC around, I probably would just quit playing.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.