North Charleston, SC 
Park Circle DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #16
3 / 334ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quality for 9 hole course

5+    1/5/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 238  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice length. Not sure the official Par, but I usually play it as a Par 27. Lucky if I finish with a par. Usually end up with one or two birdies and one or two bogies.
- I like the location relative to I-526 and Montague Street, which is a cool place with a few restaurants. I usually park in one spot and walk from the course to the bars/ restaurants.
- The hole variety is limited but I like how the holes are oriented. Most have enough of an open fairway with some bushes lining the fairway and a nice tree or two near the baskets.
- Awesome course to play in the spring when all the azaleas are in bloom.
Cons: - I am not a huge fan of having to cross the street from hole to hole. The traffic varies, but with any busy road you get some who drive fast or don't use blinkers (minor pain).
- It is located in a park that has amenities such as a bathroom, but you never know if they will be open or not. (thank god for the thick azaleas) because course is located in a densely populated neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: - There are not too many 9 hole courses I go out of my way for, but this is one of them hence the high rating. Good spot to check out if you are in the Charleston area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Use of Available Terrain

5+    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a nine basket course, this layout gives a great variety using the separte tee pads. The front and back nines actually have a different feel to them, which is a rarity for nine basket loops.

Beautiful neighborhood and surrounding area.

Nice concrete tee pads.

New course signs

Very well maintained areas - one of the best manicured courses I've played.

The bushes around the course are incredibly penal...which makes what seems to be a wide-open layout into a difficult course if you miss in the wrong spots.
Cons: The obvious: only nine baskets.

Signs are often missing, so it is difficult to tell which tee pad you should pick (although it remedies itself somewhat if you just play each one twice). We used the course map online to help. EDIT 11/25/13 - now there are hole signs, but the distances are wildly inaccurate...so its almost as bad as not having them

Difficult to see some of the baskets...especially some of the alternate ones.

The basket behind the trees on hole 1 is a bit ridiculous...that approach is a bit of a gimmick. That basket has now been moved.

The new hole signs are wildly inaccurate on some holes...that's pretty disappointing

Because it is a 9 basket loop, the course can get crowded with only a small number of groups on the course.

Lots of roads and parking areas are close to the course...I had an errant throw which got my disk ran over. It requires you to occasionally be mindful of traffic.

Edit: The concrete tee pads are in a bit of disarray on a few of the holes and could definitely use some TLC...especially #3.
Other Thoughts: Very well designed and well thought out layout combined with well kept course makes this very enjoyable and quick to play.

This is one of the best 9 basket courses that I've seen.

Edit: After playing this course multiple more times...I am always reminded of one thing. How bad the 1st/10th hole basket placement is. 300 ft to a wall of inpenetrable trees with only a 2 foot opening...that is just silly and not really sporting.

Edit: It now looks like the basket on 1/10 has been moved well left, assumedly to the alternate position. Here is to hoping it stays there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    3/21/2012   3/24/2012
Review By: bacord18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is pretty beginner friendly. Most of the holes are wide open and the bushes aren't too thick. The baskets are moved around every once in a while to change things up. Very easy to navigate (its a circle).
Cons: Since this is on a traffic circle, you have to cross a street after every hole. Course can become very crowded since there are only 9 holes. Bees everywhere! There are hundreds of azalea bushes that attact bees, so be careful (no pun). Signs need to be replaced on some holes. Some tee boxes are cracked.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for a free course. It is pretty fun to play with some friends. Definitely a good course to start, if you have never played disc golf before.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Frequenter

5+    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: Shodai
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Learned to play here and have taught a couple of others here as well. Great place for beginners and for improving your game. Long position on hole number 5 is fun to play as it sits under a tree and is hard to hit but possible to ace as is the short position on the same hole. Hole 6 is what myself and a couple of my friends affectionately call the "Gauntlet" as it sits at the end of a fairway with a tree line down the middle and both sides. Different pin positions make it interesting. Trees close to some tees add laughs to the game as some players WILL add their notches to the pine bark surfaces. All tees are now concrete pads. No more natural tees. I think everyone will enjoy this course.
Cons: All par 3's. Some people think that some holes shoud be par 4's but I disagree. Too short a course for that. Because of its limitations due to streets, it really cant get any bigger for longer holes. Hole number 15 tee position sucks as it sits a little further back behind 6's tee making the tree line almost impossible to miss. A beginner will never find the clear area of flight. The old 15 was better but it was too close to the #5 basket so they had to move it for safety reasons. I understand this and look at it as an opportunity to improve my game to play the new tee better. Advanced players and pros may find this course less challenging and possibly boring but its deffinately great play to get in a quick 9 - 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Will continue to play this course till I cant throw anymore. I love it and its fun to play every time. If you ever get bored with it, just go out there on windy day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Taste of Charleston

5+    10/2/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with enough challenge to keep it interesting. You can go low and make birdies.
Alternative baskets help with the variety. I love this course and the roads seem to dissapear when I am playing.
Cons: Would be nice to get all concrete pads. As stated by others there are 18 concrete pads. They are a litle short, but if you need more length you can easily step onto.
Other Thoughts: This is really the first course in Charleston and has helped the sport grow here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love Park Circle

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: scfirechef
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of challenges for great players and new players alike.
Cons: Trying to find your disc in the bushes sometimes takes awhile.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played on and is one of the two courses I frequent the most. It's a good course for someone learning to throw different types of throws and a good course for someone who already knows how to throw to keep up their skills. I have never had any problems on this course and have introduced several people to the sport using this course. And they all have come back.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 PARK CIRCLE

5+    7/10/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: TSchneidz2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained course in which to practice with new discs or really work on your mid-range game. If you are low on time, you can get a quick 18 in with no problem at all.
Cons: Constant traffic and you must cross the road between holes approximately 6 or 7 times. Roads do come into play in a few locations so if you are all over the place, be aware of where cars are.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Always a fun round

5+    6/3/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: SmittyDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging beginner course, easy to find and fun to play. Great practice course
Cons: lots of traffic, not particularly challenging for advanced players, alternate run-ups are pretty terrible (basically trenches filled with roots on a couple holes) and in some cases difficult to locate, a couple of the more difficult holes should probably play as par 4s instead of 3s.
Other Thoughts: I really consider this my home course, and its definitely where I'm playing most days. All around a great course for less advanced players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging course

1    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well established challenging course
It was FUN!
The fairways, concrete tees and baskets are in great repair.
The locals were friendly.
There are facilities you can use during the day.
Very hard to lose a disc
Interesting pin placements
Cons: Lack of signage
Circular layout feels a little repetitive if you're used to 18 hole courses.
Other Thoughts: This course is beginner friendly, the holes are not overly long.
Not knowing the pin placement can make it harder as there are multiple placements for some holes and no indication from the tee which location the pin is in.
People parking on the grass instead of the parking lot across the street strikes me as poor form, giving disc golfers a bad name. Please be a courteous ambassador for disc golf!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.