Layout Extinct

North Charleston, SC 
Park Circle DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
9 holer, not 18!

1    3/26/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: prerube
Played: 241  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads.

course loops around a circle so you can stop at your car every 9 holes.

Easy to navigate.
Cons: Marking this as an 18 hole course is deceptive. It is a 9 hole course with an A pad and B pad. No more than 9 groups can play at a time.

Minimal signage (feet par and hole number) on most holes.

Not a lot of variety, every set of holes featured a straight shot and a right turn shot, mostly wide open with a few bushes in the way.

Course was very busy with pedestrians, even at dawn.
Other Thoughts: Course is well set up for 850-900 rated players. much over 900 and the holes are all tweeners between a 2-3, under 850 and the road becomes a safety issue.
For being so wide open, it was interesting how many baskets were blind.

1&10: short and open. 1 is a slight right, while 10 is more straight.
2&11: again, short and open with one being a slight right while the other is straight.
3&12: features a blind basket, 60 foot difference between holes.
4&13: 4 has road on the right, 13 has blind basket. about 75 feet difference in length according to signage.
5&14: 5 is a right shot over a bush, 14 is a big anny shot directly at a road straight ahead (or small window over bushes).
6&15: one of the better holes on the course. 6 has 2 paths, 15 is a wide tunnel shot turning to the right.
7&16: 7 is an over the bush shot, 16 forces you to go high with a bush in front of the tee.
8&17: 8 is 335 blind shot, but wide open. 17 is another right turn shot.
9&18: 9's fairway plays very close to the road on the left. a decent long drive that fades left can easily bounce into traffic. 9 is a simple deuce or die hole. 18 is a massive right just to attempt to land on 9's fairway.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent little practice course

1    10/23/2015   2/1/2016
Review By: EdRock122
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice amenities. This course has a baseball field and public park attached, so there are real bathrooms and vending. The course is built around the outer edge of a traffic circle, so it is always well maintained. Also, the addition of two tees per basket makes the course slightly more complex. There is good signage, and the tees are nice concrete and are in good condition.
Cons: The course is good for what it is, but it can't make up for some of the cons. The main one: it is in a traffic circle. Other than between hole 5 and 6, you have to cross a road between every hole. And these road have common traffic. Also, a stray disc can drift off of the course and hit a house/car window. Losing a disc is no fun, but breaking a window is expensive. The extra tees on each hole are not far apart, and other than driving from a different angle make the 18 hole variation of the course feel like playing the first 9 twice. The course is also very short. Most experienced players could get a birdie on every hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is not bad for a neighborhood course, but there are other options around that are much better. I frequent the course on the naval weapons station, and it is less than ten minutes away. It is more of a course, but this one is not bad for practice, espcecially for putters.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

decent course in the middle of traffic

1    8/6/2013   7/27/2015
Review By: jamesdevin
Played: 85  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: many chances for birdies
good tee pads
option for 18
fun to play
lots of spectators
Cons: lots of traffic can force you to wait after every hole
very flat
Other Thoughts: this course is well designed and plays well for all skill levels. there are 9 baskets with 18 tee pads. good for a quick round

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Park (Traffic) Circle

2-4    7/6/2013   7/6/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent course in a really unique location. Are there any other courses set completely within a giant traffic circle? While it is unique, I don't know that I would advocate for more courses to be built in traffic circles.

I'm a big believer in playing courses that match your ability. I don't enjoy playing super-challenging, long, tightly wooded courses -- even if they are pro-caliber -- because I'm not good enough to play the course how it's meant to be played. Park Circle is a course that beginners and intermediate players will enjoy. While I am not a fan of the traffic circle concept, the course itself is nice. There are typical lowcountry trees, flowers and vegetation -- enough to pose a challenge, but not enough to make it an overly difficult course for the types of players who are likely to play here.

Navigation isn't an issue at all...just keep walking around the circle!
Cons: Constant traffic noise and having to cross the road a bunch of times during the round: does this sound relaxing? You don't realize how much the peaceful, serene settings of most disc golf courses add to the enjoyment of the game until you play a course surrounded by a traffic circle.
Other Thoughts: If you live in Charleston or visit the area, this course is worth playing. However, based on reviews I've read of nearby courses, there are better options in terms of challenge and, especially, serenity.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Playing in Circles

5+    6/16/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: Apsey
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Centrally located course. Easy to get to if you're visiting Downtown Charleston or surrounding areas.

- Decent mix of Hyzer and Anhyzer shots. Several holes have alternate pin placements which make big differences in the way the hole is played. It's not just moving a basket closer or further. The alternate placements usually change the shot to a flick or turnover shot, while adding or subtracting a little distance.

- You can play multiple rounds really quickly. I think if I'm playing solo my average round takes between 30-40 minutes.

-Though it's an 18 hole course with 9 baskets, the different tee pads to an excellent job of changing the look of the hole. You don't feel like you're playing the same hole twice to get your 18 in.

- Because there are only 9 baskets, it makes it a very easy course for first timers and out of towners to play. Most baskets are visible from the tee pads, and once you've thrown the first 9, you have an idea of your landing zones for the back 9.

- This is probably the best draining course in the "Low Country". When all other courses have standing water, you can usually bet that this course will still be playable.

- Great course for beginners. Most holes aren't too long. No water hazards. Holes are pretty wide open so I'd say a lost disc would even be a difficult thing to achieve.

- Free to play

- Amenities are available on the inside of the round about in the Rec center.
Cons: - For more experienced players, this course may not be much of a challenge. Holes are pretty wide open and it's easy to turn shanked drives into pars.

- Though the streets aren't super busy, you do have to cross a street after almost every hole played. This could also be a con if you're playing with small children.

- Since you're playing around a roundabout, you lose that "hiking with a purpose" feeling that Disc Golf is great for. You're never not around traffic when you're playing this course.

- The course is un-playable for a month during the holidays while they have their annual Christmas Light Show up.

- For at leas the past year, there are only 17 tee pads. One of them broke so the City removed it. Still hasn't been replaced. You have to tee off from a dirt spot next to the tee sign.

- I haven't tested them, but the distances on the tee signs seem like they could be off a bit. It could also be because there is only 1 distance on them and some of the holes have multiple pin placements. I'm not sure which ones were the original to know which one the sign would be referring to.

- Tee signs are just painted pieces of wood in the ground with the hole number, and distance. Limited information. Not too much a bad thing since all of the holes are easily seen from the tee pad, but it would be nice to have the added distances and pin placements on there as well.

- A couple of the baskets are a little wonky. Like maybe they were hit by a city workers truck, or lawn mower etc. They aren't horrible, but to someone easily distracted while putting it could be tricky on the eyes.

- The course gets a lot of traffic. Which is good, but when you're sharing 9 baskets for 18 tee pads you're twice as likely to get held up out there by slower players or big groups.
Other Thoughts: Park Circle is a fun course for a lot of people. It's a great course for newer players to learn and fall in love with the game. The City seems to be really helpful in planning events and such as well, easy to work with. I play this course from time to time when I'm trying to work on a new throw or iron out some issues in technique as it is a very forgiving course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Niner x2 Circle

1    5/18/2015   6/26/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 57  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Course plays around a well landscaped large circle park twice.
-The 9 pin positions were well thought out to make the holes different.
-Decent concrete tee pads at just about every every hole.
-Tee signs/markers at every teepad with distances on them.
Cons:
-Had to cross a road after almost every hole, most of the time without crosswalks.
-There is also a chance of your disc ending up in the road or hitting a car if you have a bad shot.
-This is really a 9 hole course with 2 different tee pads for each basket. This can causes problems when the course gets busy. You can have 2 groups ready to play from both teepads.
Other Thoughts:
This is a pretty alright course. With the limited land, and flat elevation, it still offers a fun round of disc golf. The course does not offer a whole lot of variety, but it's laid out well enough to make every hole a little different. This is a good course for beginners or for intermediate/ advanced players who want to work on their short game. The fact that its listed as 18 holes irks me because it is definitely only 9. Having to cross the road after every hole was a bit annoying during peak hours. The course is in a pretty busy area seems to attract a lot of local players in the evenings. Was able to play "the first nine" with almost no waiting then we started running into other groups trying to play 10-18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mis-leading as an 18 holer

2-4    2/11/2015   4/1/2015
Review By: hawk12
Played: 216  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 26.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, and most all tees are concrete and in fairly decent shape (and large enough for the course). Two tee pads on every hole.

Good tee signs that seemed accurate distances, mostly...

Excellent use of the land available, as the course is quite tightly packing into 8 segments of land in between roads. Very good use of what s available, but not the most idea property for a disc golf course. None the less, well done job by the designers and proposal to get a course in such a high foot traffic and busy streets, with homes just across the roads every where.
I would figure that this course generates many newer players as its highly visible from the roads, and the locals must be very well aware of disc golf just by driving past baskets...

I purposely played this course over Trophy Lakes while in Charleston for business on a one day trip - I am in process of designing a course on a slightly larger park, with similar high foot traffic and roads/homes in close proximity. So I learned what I came there to see and learn - that was gold for me.
Cons: I do think the designers tried to cram a harder, longer course into the property, with other courses nearby; there is a possibility that this course might be best as a beginner/noob design with very short holes and less change for throwing past each basket into vehicles - which I did several times...
I did find that despite traveling with 4 discs, I really only used two of them and would not use/need a full bag for a tournament. Many of the holes felt similar distance and I felt like there was very little variety in shot selection here. But to defend the designer, there is really not much you can do when you have a road breaking up the land every 350 ft... So land locked is what I would call it, not poor design.

Where as I listed the design as a pro, the available land is the con here.

Advertising this as an 18 hole course is entirely mis-leading. Had i not read the reviews and searched out this course, I would've been highly disappointed.
This is a 9 holes course, with dual tees on each hole. I recently built one just like it, and did not even consider calling mine an 18 holer... This should be changed IMO
Other Thoughts: Trash cans everywhere, bathrooms in the center of the park, ample parking give the amenities portion a passing grade in my book.

The concrete tees are nice, some are showing wear and have need of repairs, but overall they are more than adequate and better than many courses I've played.

Overall, a reasonable course that is very limited by the available land - But I really can;t seem to get over the false advertising that this is an 18 hole course. I would be highly disappointed to travel to a tournament here and discover that fact the morning of the event...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 and the wheel goes round and round

2-4    9/18/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: Dickie B
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscaping with lots of azalea bushes and magnolia trees.
Open fairways are they are clean and well attended.
Baskets are "like-new" condition.
Concrete tee pads. All holes (except hole 6 that we totally missed) are well marked with distance)
Great mix of shots and holes run from around 200 to over 300, so there's lots of room for birdies if you hit your lines.
The course is perfectly flat so "out of shapers" can enjoy basically a walk in the park.
Easy access from Charleston (30 min?) go up I26, off at Monteague Ave, and continue a couple of miles till your run into the roundabout.
Restrooms are in the center of the roundabout as are sports fields, so no need to "water" the bushes.
Cons: This course is basically a 9 holes course that has 2 tee pads per basket. Players on hole 1/basket 1 have to wait on players playing hole 10/basket 1. The wait isn't all that long though.
This is a course set up around a roundabout traffic circle and the holes play on the grounds between each road that intersects with the traffic circle. But there are only 9 roads entering the circle which, if you do the math, only leaves 8 areas for holes. Indeed one of the holes, I think it is 5/6 play the same area and if you don't know this, you will blow right by 6 and go to 7, which we did . . . twice.
Of the 8 roads leading into the circle, only one of them has a cross-walk. You take you chances crossing the road on the other 7. We were challenged by cars at almost every crossing and of course, had to wait as drivers almost NEVER give the right of way to pedestrians.
We ran into severaly places with lots of ants, and of course mosquitoes were in play as well.
Other Thoughts: On 2 of our rounds, there was only 3 groups playing and we never had to play through or allow playing through, so we had very smooth play and it was great! On all 3 of our other rounds, we had to let players through. Of course there were 4 of us and only 1 of them, so that's pretty normal.
This is a picturesque course that was a blast to play and we enjoyed if very much.
I highly recommend this course to anyone going to Charleston, S.C.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Free and fun

5+    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: diskchucker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a free course close to town. 9 baskets with 18 tee boxes. Challenging hole as well as easy ones. They move the baskets often to make things fun. Mostly open with some trees as well as some bush hazards. Great for an introduction to disc golf. Tuesday night the cdgc has a captains choice tourney that is full of friendly players.
Cons: Crowds at times and traffic can be a challenge as you navigate from island to island.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to see repairs on sinage as vandals have destroyed most of them. concrete tee pads could use some TLC. This is a great course I endorse it and recommend it to skilled players as well as those new to the sport

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 High Utility

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a high utility course, in two ways. One is that it is a very residential area. I'm sure tons of people live in walking distance of ark Circle. If I was one of those people, I would be extremely grateful that this course exists.

It's also vary utilitarian in its use of space. When I got out of the car at hole one, and saw the space in between streets, I rolled my eyes and thought, "what have I gotten myself in to?" Fortunately only hole one was in that particular block: each hole after that was in its own area of grass.

And the majority of the holes are decent, they do a good job of making it so you won't throw into the road without a terrible botch.
Cons: But decent is as good as the holes get. They're creative in as far as using the space available. In comparison to most courses, they are bland and uniform. There's not much challenge, and not much length. Inevitable when each hole occupies a more or less identical plot of land.

The worst part, and I guess this is something locals would get accustomed to, is how close you are to active roads. These aren't interstates but they aren't back roads either and on any hole they are on either side of you. What's more, you have to cross a road in between each hole. There wasn't a point on the course that I didn't feel that I was about to bounce one off a moving car, even though I never came close.

It's also disingenuous to advertise this course as 18 holes. It's 9 holes. Alternate tees does not make additional holes. The tees aren't even that far apart from each other. If this course is 18 holes, than I 've played several 50 hole courses that mistakenly referred to themselves as containing 18.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure that courses like this spread the sport. I'm sure if I lived in the area, I would love that it was here. Is it a great course, nope.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.