Disc Golf Store
North Charleston, SC 
Park Circle DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6
3 / 222ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Taste of Charleston

5+    10/2/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with enough challenge to keep it interesting. You can go low and make birdies.
Alternative baskets help with the variety. I love this course and the roads seem to dissapear when I am playing.
Cons: Would be nice to get all concrete pads. As stated by others there are 18 concrete pads. They are a litle short, but if you need more length you can easily step onto.
Other Thoughts: This is really the first course in Charleston and has helped the sport grow here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just going in circles

1    8/16/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: By the nature of the course's design (circling a large round-a-bout), it makes it possible to basically start your round at an earlier or later hole if there is a large group of people at #1. This layout also makes it fairly difficult for someone new to the course to get lost. Also, there is little underbrush and no water hazards to worry about losing a disc in.
Cons: Once you get started, it feels like a pretty standard hole layout and course design. There is no real standout hole(s). The fact that the course surrounds a large traffic circle and is part of a public course puts it right in the middle of a lot of commotion. You'll constantly hear and see traffic around you, and you'll have to deal with pedestrians along all of the neighborhood sidewalks. If you're like me, the thought of hitting a parked car of a passer-by can sometimes subconsciously cause you to overcompensate in your throws, making for a miserable round, as you can never get away from that. i.e. - The cons of the course recur from hole to hole, so if you're going to play, better get used to it.
Other Thoughts: As I am just visiting the area, I know what it's like to only have time to hit up just a course or two. Fortunately, I was able to play this course and Trophy Lakes, and I can confidently say that if you only have time for one round in the area, I would spend that time at the nearby Trophy Lakes.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love Park Circle

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: scfirechef
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of challenges for great players and new players alike.
Cons: Trying to find your disc in the bushes sometimes takes awhile.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played on and is one of the two courses I frequent the most. It's a good course for someone learning to throw different types of throws and a good course for someone who already knows how to throw to keep up their skills. I have never had any problems on this course and have introduced several people to the sport using this course. And they all have come back.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 PARK CIRCLE

5+    7/10/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: TSchneidz2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained course in which to practice with new discs or really work on your mid-range game. If you are low on time, you can get a quick 18 in with no problem at all.
Cons: Constant traffic and you must cross the road between holes approximately 6 or 7 times. Roads do come into play in a few locations so if you are all over the place, be aware of where cars are.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Playing in traffic

1    6/1/2007   6/9/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-maintained park. Holes fairly open, but with enough trees and bushes to give you obstacles to work around and keep things interesting. Holes tend to be in the 275-325' category, best suited for moderate-level players. While there are no great holes, all are reasonably good. Routing is pretty easy to follow, as the course circles around a traffic circle. Very easy to find the course, too, as it's the bullseye on a map of North Charleston.
Cons: Aesthetics, for those who care. Course is in between rings of a traffic circle with 8 roads entering it, so each hole is on a segment of park surrounded by 4 roads, 1 or 2 of which will be busy. You have to cross a public street to walk to the next tee (with 1 exception). Really bad shots can find their way into traffic, and the sound of traffic is a constant.
Other Thoughts: For the area, this offers a simpler alternative to the very challenging Trophy Lakes (or West Ashley, which I have not played). You wouldn't make it a destination, but it's fine as a quick-9, or 18 if you play around both sets of tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Always a fun round

5+    6/3/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: SmittyDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging beginner course, easy to find and fun to play. Great practice course
Cons: lots of traffic, not particularly challenging for advanced players, alternate run-ups are pretty terrible (basically trenches filled with roots on a couple holes) and in some cases difficult to locate, a couple of the more difficult holes should probably play as par 4s instead of 3s.
Other Thoughts: I really consider this my home course, and its definitely where I'm playing most days. All around a great course for less advanced players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 pretty easy course

1    4/4/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: krazybronco
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: relativly short so good for beginners but will still challange better players becuase of the tightly protected greens
Cons: can be repeatative
Other Thoughts: i was hurting the day i played from doing the 10k copper river bridge run but still a fun course for a quick round

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/1/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: jimbob9631
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good short coarse for beginners
Cons: Dual teeboxes are not marked clearly and are dificult to find.
Other Thoughts: If your a beginner or just out to throw the disk around this is an ok coarse. If your looking for a little bit more of a challenge go elsewhere because anyone trying to play seriously will just end up annoyed with trying to find the teebox.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging course

1    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well established challenging course
It was FUN!
The fairways, concrete tees and baskets are in great repair.
The locals were friendly.
There are facilities you can use during the day.
Very hard to lose a disc
Interesting pin placements
Cons: Lack of signage
Circular layout feels a little repetitive if you're used to 18 hole courses.
Other Thoughts: This course is beginner friendly, the holes are not overly long.
Not knowing the pin placement can make it harder as there are multiple placements for some holes and no indication from the tee which location the pin is in.
People parking on the grass instead of the parking lot across the street strikes me as poor form, giving disc golfers a bad name. Please be a courteous ambassador for disc golf!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, easy course

5+    5/18/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2011
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very cool, unique course setup. Course loops around a traffic circle. Holes play on 8 grass islands between roads. #5 & 6 share an island, other 7 holes play on island.
- 9 baskets with 2 sets of tees gives course 18 holes. As of the end of 2009, all tee pads are now concrete, which is a huge improvement over the dirt tees.
- Each tee pad has a sign making it easy for the first timer to distinguish between 1/10, 2/11, etc. The signs are simple, listing only the hole # and distance. One slight problem is the tee signs only list one distance, so when the baskets are in the alternate positions, the signs are wrong.
- Course is wide open, so you can let it rip. No holes longer than 400 feet.
- Good course to practice throwing, so long as you're not throwing drives 400 ft+.
- Holes are close to each other, so you can easily get a quick round in.
- For such a flat, open course, it takes a good combination of length and accuracy for birdies.
- Park's main rec building in middle of traffic circle has restrooms, water fountains and soda machines.
Cons: Holes are all relatively similar, mainly all being flat and none being overly difficult. Kind of difficult to get much elevation at a low-country coastal course.
- No signs for holes. Doesn't pose much of a problem on most holes because of the way the course is laid out. Only a couple holes (#1 long - basket hidden behind shrubs & #7 regular - basket also hidden in shurbs/behind trees) would pose a problem for FTPers.
- Tee pads are shorter than normal, which can pose a problem for taller players or those with long run-ups.
- Most of the alternate tees don't give much change in shots from original tee pad. Most are only moved to the left/right/back by 50 feet, so essentially you're throwing the same tee shot on these holes. It's not a major problem, and it's mainly due to lack of space.
Other Thoughts: No water on course, so only way to lose disc is in big, thick bushes/shrubs. Some of the bushes are really deep, so you may be searching for errant throws for awhile.
- Lack of many trees results in lots of sun, not that shade is going to provide much help during the hot & humid summer days.
- Biggest obstacle on course is wind. On windy days, you better keep shots low, or they'll sail away. Even 10 foot putts become challenging in windy conditions.
Wind changes directions as you make your way through course.
- To make up for lack of obstacles, some pins are placed right up next to bushes. On #5 for example, you can be 10 feet from the basket, but have to loft the disc over the bushes to reach basket the basket, thus turning a sure birdie into a more likely par.
-- Grerat course to introduce newcomers to game. For all the times I've played the course, it's never been crowded or backed up, allowing time for newbies to play without slowing others down.
- Park gets decorated for Christmas. Only course I've played that's been lit up by Christmas lights or had to worry about hitting a Santa display.
- I always play it when I'm in town. It's not as difficult as Trophy Lakes or tight/wooded as West Ashley, but it's perfect for a nice, relaxing round.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.