North Charleston, SC 
Park Circle DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 275ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 a good round(circle)

1    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: discslinger02
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I like that Park Circle features a 9 hole course with alternate tee's. All of the tee's are concrete and navigation is very easy. The course is fairly challenging for newer to intermediate players and has a decent amount of trees. All of the goals are in great shape and are all discatchers. The course is all par 3 and features hole 8 which to me is the signature hole, with a dog-right around a huge tree.
Cons: The cons to me, is having to cross a road from one hole to the next. It is easy to place a disc in the road if you are not careful.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Three Sixty

1    5/4/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great exposure for disc golf, since it's in a very busy public park. The disc golf course surrounds the rest of the park, so many park patrons notice the disc golfers and may peak their interest to try the game out.

A one of a kind design, since it's a big circle. This means you can basically start at any hole, given that you will ultimately come right back where you started. This also provides dealing with wind conditions from all angles, that should ultimately help your game.

Two nice concrete tee pads per the nine baskets, with accompanying tee signs, providing basic hole and distance information. There is a very small chance of losing a disc here.

The course and park were beautiful and well maintained. Grass was mowed, nicely landscaped and very clean. Restrooms at the community center.
Cons: Due to the fact there is only nine baskets, when the course gets crowded, the pace of play comes to a standstill. Back ups on each hole, and there isn't really a place to bypass a slow group in front of you. Also, if there is an activity at the community center, parking will be more difficult, and non disc golfer could wander on the course.

As mentioned many times, you have to cross the street between most holes. This isn't ideal if you are playing with children. During rush hour, you need to be extra careful.

Most holes seem too similar. The basic difference between the duel tees is the angle to the basket, for the most part. Holes are also restricted on their length by the roads surrounding them.

A really bad shot could potentially end up in the street, especially for new players or on really windy days. Watch here at the 3:47 mark for the perfect example.
Other Thoughts: The unique design of the big circle is interesting, you won't play on many of these. It's more of a beginner to intermediate course, since the available land can't produce longer holes. It's a perfect course to bring new players too, or play a quick round before your child's ball game starts.

The potential exposure this course can bring to new players is it's best asset. Not too difficult or time consuming for new players, which should encourage them to come back again and again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/8/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: rexdp10
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: flowers are blooming, grass is turning green! great place to be on a nice warm spring day. holes are shorter(250-350) but allow different lines from both sets of tees. There are definitely "go-for-it" lines and easy bail out lines on a lot of the holes. If you don't make the shot and get stuck in the thick azaleas then a 3 isn't guaranteed!
Cons: crazy drivers...always look before crossing streets!!!
Other Thoughts:

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Park Circle

2-4    1/3/2011   1/4/2011
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's great urban disc golf. With nine baskets and eighteen tees, the course flows well from hole to hole, and it's in a pretty urban park with plenty of amenities. Who ever came up with the idea of putting a course here should be commended, because it fits great in the space. Compared to the other courses in the area, it's the one that has the least chance of losing a disc, being as open as it is, and having no water in play, and overall it's an enjoyable experience.

There are lots of birdie opportunities to be had, if you can hit your lines. A little variety of left, right, and straight holes are represented at Park Circle. Once again, I'll say that the course is a great fit into the available space, and excellent use has been made of the available land, what there is of it.
Cons: The holes seem repetitive at times due to the course's location around the outside of a great big traffic circle with a park in the middle. I would have also liked a little more variety on the lengths. Most every hole seemed to be about the same distance, and the distances listed on the tee signs were often very wrong. This could have been due to alternate pin positions being in play, but that should also be noted on the signs, if you're going to go to the trouble of putting distances up on a sign. Also, not really a con, just a heads up for those not so navigationally inclined, I missed a hole (6/15) when I went back after six months to play it a second time. I found it a couple days later, the third time through, though.

I was not a fan of the tees. Even though they were concrete, most were too small for my tastes, and many had an "ankle roll waiting to happen" drop off at the front. About two to three more feet of concrete at the rear of the pads would have been great, even if a few of the pads were on the narrow side. One pad was pretty broken up and in rough shape.

You are always playing relatively near a road, not enough to really influence your throw, but near enough to possibly be an issue on a really errant throw. You never have any sense of seclusion, or being out in nature on the course, due to the location, and proximity of the roads.
Other Thoughts: There were only a couple of benches and trash cans out on the course, and as already mentioned, the tee signs were often less than accurate on the distance. There are restrooms, a playground, baseball fields, picnic tables, and other amenities in the middle of the park, which the course plays around. I would recommend plenty of sunscreen for the warmer months, as open as it is. It's easy to locate, not too far from I-26 or I-526, with lots of convenience stores and fast food nearby.

Random observation: two of the three times I've been there, I've gotten caught waiting on a long, slow train on Montague Avenue, once on the way in and once on the way out.

Park Circle is a nice course, and fun to play. I'm sure I'll end up playing it again at some point, but while it's a good course to hit up if you're in the area, it's not a destination worthy course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Play a round or play around.

2-4    10/22/2011   1/1/2011
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park Circle is located in around a recreation facility. It plays on the outer perimeter of the traffic circle.
-Wide and lengthy fairways. 250-372ft in length
-Bulletin Board@first tee
-Very nice scenery, the park itself is very enjoyable to take in.
-It is segregated from foot traffic and other park activities. (…though it's not a 100% guarantee)
-Has its challenges, yet it is not difficult.
-Despite being counted as a 9 hole course, the multiple tee's are situated to where it plays nicely as an 18
-Well maintained and clean. Garbage cans located throughout the course.
-Concrete tee pads and signs on most holes. (Signs consist of hole # and Distance only)
-Perfect for beginners, and still fun for advanced players.
-Extremely easy to navigate, and plays back to the starting point.
-Easy to locate
-The people I met at the course were very nice and friendly.
-One has the option of a quick 9 holes if necessary, (i.e. Lunch Break, before work, etc)
-Excellent pin locations. Some Pins are tucked around corners, behind bushes, or in the midst of a cluster of trees.
-Park Circle requires one to think about how to approach the basket. There are a variety of lines and obstacles to play around.
-Multiple pin placements
-Good "Fun Factor"
Cons: -Some of the pins can be hard to locate, due to them being located behind bushes, and trees. (first time issue only) Though you won't need it for navigation, a map could be handy for locating the pins.
-No way of knowing which position the pins are in. (I didn't see anything to let me know).
-No bathrooms or port-a-jons. I could have used one! (If there is, and I didn't see them, let me know.)
-Course is subject to congestion. Bottlenecks can really become an issue. I ended up joining the group in front of me. Since they were waiting on the group ahead of them to finish, and I was trying to stay ahead of the people behind me.
-Two tees per basket: Though, the pin placement is fine, you may run into a situation where you are teeing off on the same basket as someone else. When we were on 17, people were waiting for us on 8. They share the fairway.
-Holes #5 and #6 share an block. It's could be very easy to go from 5 to 7 and not realize you just skipped 6. As repetitive as the course gets, it's easy to forget which hole you are on.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It's a unique experience to play on the circle. Park Circle is the kind of course that you play, when you just want to grab your discs and have a fun enjoyable round. It's not extremely difficult, but the obstacles and distance will still offer up a satisfying challenge. Park Circle's "Fun Factor" had me wishing I had time for a second round. It's very easy to find, and makes for a very nice quick stop if you are traveling.

This is the kind of course that is for everyone to enjoy, including DG and Non-DG players alike. One could very easily take in a quick round over a lunch break. This is not necessarily a destination course, per say, but it is a course well worth playing. If you are coming to Charleston, allow yourself enough time to take in a round at Park Circle. You'll have fun, and you'll be on your way to the next course in no time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Everytime !!

5+    7/22/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Link
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick Review!
So much fun. Can throw hard every drive. Enough trees and brush to make hard on approach, but every hole has enough issues to use strategy.
Cons: Crossing roads! NOT A LOT OF CARS THANK GOD.
Might have to wait for a few cars from time to time, but its not really a factor. Never thrown it in the road but, if you have a horrible throw it could happen.
Other Thoughts: I could play this course everyday and never get bored. Ok maybe a little bit, but its always fun to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A "Round" of Disc Golf

2-4    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is pretty easy to follow. Since it plays around the outside of a traffic circle. You'll end up just walking around in a circle from hole to hole. If you are somewhat decent the traffic doesn't present a problem for hitting cars or being in the street much. I thought the course was very well taken care of, from the grass, bushes and trees, to the tee box and overall grounds. The baskets were well protected by trees and bushes(which some people might not like) but it really added strategy around the hole. All concrete tee boxes, and some holes felt totally different on the back 9 even though you end up shooting at the same basket as the front nine. Baskets were all in great shape.
Cons: Even though I said the traffic really wasn't an issue, I'd rather not be so close to moving vehicles, especially since you have to cross the street 8 times per 9 holes (although traffic isn't bad). Locals didn't seem to be big on letting a fast group by, and there were at least two groups of 7+ playing super slow. (I have no problem with big groups having fun, but let people play past you). No real birdie opportunites for the non-advanced, non-pro players. We made one birdie between 3 players over 3 rounds. Pretty much every hole uses the maximum amount of room given in that section.
Other Thoughts: Going in I thought I'd hate this course, but I was very pleased at the result. Next time I'm down in Charleston I'm sure my friend and I will hit this course. If your a decent player you can crank out 18 in probably an hour.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Playing the circle!

5+    4/1/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park Circle is a very fast, fun course in the Charleston area.

1) No water hazzards.
2) No wildlife problems, with it being in the city.
3) Free admission.
4) Professional style PAR 3 coures.(PDGA)
5) Fun for beginners, but still difficult enough for better players.
6) Alot of trees to help prevent golf disc from flying into roads.
7) All tee's are now concrete (end of 2009)
8) Tuesday Doubles every week.
Cons: 1) Crossing the street from one course to another is difficult in heavier traffic (5pm).
2) Noisy with the motorist driving by.
3) All PAR 3's, can be difficult for weaker players.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course, Trophy Lakes is the other major course in Charleston.
I uploaded a custom Map/Scorecard combo to the link-file for this course...enjoy!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Frequenter

5+    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: Shodai
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Learned to play here and have taught a couple of others here as well. Great place for beginners and for improving your game. Long position on hole number 5 is fun to play as it sits under a tree and is hard to hit but possible to ace as is the short position on the same hole. Hole 6 is what myself and a couple of my friends affectionately call the "Gauntlet" as it sits at the end of a fairway with a tree line down the middle and both sides. Different pin positions make it interesting. Trees close to some tees add laughs to the game as some players WILL add their notches to the pine bark surfaces. All tees are now concrete pads. No more natural tees. I think everyone will enjoy this course.
Cons: All par 3's. Some people think that some holes shoud be par 4's but I disagree. Too short a course for that. Because of its limitations due to streets, it really cant get any bigger for longer holes. Hole number 15 tee position sucks as it sits a little further back behind 6's tee making the tree line almost impossible to miss. A beginner will never find the clear area of flight. The old 15 was better but it was too close to the #5 basket so they had to move it for safety reasons. I understand this and look at it as an opportunity to improve my game to play the new tee better. Advanced players and pros may find this course less challenging and possibly boring but its deffinately great play to get in a quick 9 - 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Will continue to play this course till I cant throw anymore. I love it and its fun to play every time. If you ever get bored with it, just go out there on windy day.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Basic 9 hole course

2-4    10/11/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: Angus2053
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the fact most fairways are open making it a fun course to let it rip off the tee. Like the fact that there are multiple tee boxes for each hole, in a sense making it an 18 hole course.
Cons: The par for each hole is set at 3 and that seems to work on most holes, but there are a couple that should be a 4. Not all tees are concrete.
Other Thoughts: I think the course could be better if all tees were concrete and not dirt.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.