North Charleston, SC 
Park Circle DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun Course

1    10/21/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: Qikly
Played: 85  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of lines and shots, from open drives to tight windows. It was especially enjoyable to be able to play the same hole from multiple angles: what is an open, straightforward drive from one tee becomes a tight, technical shot on another. I found this change of perspective to be an enjoyable part of the course.

I thought they did a good job of minimizing the presence and threat of the road: I had been concerned about that going in (I'm still a pretty new player, and don't exactly have an entirely reliable release), but I never had to worry about chasing a disc into the road.

Overall, an enjoyable course.
Cons: I agree with the other reviews that congestion can be an issue. We had one hole where we let three groups play through us, just because things were getting a bit tight and rushed. This is the downside of having two tees per a basket.

I also thought that the length of the tees can be an issue as well. I don't consider myself to have a big run up (standard X-step), but I stepped off the second tee I threw on, and after a few more test throws, ended up driving in the grass next to the tees for the remainder of the course. I'm not adverse to driving from the grass - the ground was flat and clear enough that it wasn't a problem - but it seemed a shame that the concrete tees were effectively unusable for me.

Bushes were a bit much at times; I did a fair bit of digging for discs. Obviously this was my fault, but there were times when the bushes didn't really seem to add any constructive difficulty, and only served to be a pain
Other Thoughts: The circular design made it unusually easy to find the next hole, and lent a nice flow to the course overall.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Cool

1    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: Steelo
Played: 88  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of space to create 18 holes using 9 baskets. Beautiful park with azlaleas and cool looking trees. Good variety of shots too
Cons: Until I played this course I have never had to lay up a 15 foot putt because the basket is almost completely surrounded by bushes. There are signs in the park saying no trimming or cutting branches allowed. However, the azalea bushes around several of the baskets are just too much. By trimming some areas around the baskets and making a 'green' not only would the course be a lot more fun and less flukey, the azaleas would be healthier as they benifit from yearly trimming.
Other Thoughts: More signs at the tee pads would be helpful. Cool concept for a course, it is definitely unique!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Roundabout

1    6/26/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: dtomb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is wrapped around a recreation center, so if you have any trouble finding it, there is friendly help available. The tee pads are all concrete and well balanced to throw off of.
The locals are very friendly, and it is in a beautiful little group of neighborhoods with a very manicured landscape. the overall feel of the course was very enjoyable. The catchers were for the most part fairly easy to locate from the tee box, and the fact that it wrapped around the outside of a large roundabout which gave it a unique feel and allowed for the wind to be coming from all different directions making it a constantly changing variable. It was the best nine catcher course i have ever played (the tees were creatively placed for a different feel to the same hole).
Cons: The fact that it did wrap around a roundabout and through several neighborhoods also made local traffic a bit of a hassle, since you had to cross a fairly busy road between all but two holes. Some of the tees are put right on the edge of the sections of land between the roads and make it very easy for you to throw into the road if your drive is too vigorous or a little far to the right or to the left.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a wonderfully done course that has been put in a very creative location. There was an excellent variation in long straight holes and shorter winding holes, all with a slight scattering of shrubs and trees throughout the course. Well done tee boxes, very nice catchers, available restrooms, but the thing that stuck out the most to me about this course is how friendly the locals were. I went on a rainy day and took several of my young cousins and my younger brother, and we were warmly welcomed by several of the course's more experienced players and they even asked if we wanted to play a round with them, in the weekly local tournament they hold where for a five dollar entry fee you will be paired with a pro and you play captains choice to win the pool of entry fees with bonuses for holes aced. All in all i highly recommend this course for anyone in the Charleston area and will be returning to it myself in the near future!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Use of Available Terrain

5+    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 38  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a nine basket course, this layout gives a great variety using the separte tee pads. The front and back nines actually have a different feel to them, which is a rarity for nine basket loops.

Beautiful neighborhood and surrounding area.

Nice concrete tee pads.

New course signs

Very well maintained areas - one of the best manicured courses I've played.

The bushes around the course are incredibly penal...which makes what seems to be a wide-open layout into a difficult course if you miss in the wrong spots.
Cons: The obvious: only nine baskets.

Signs are often missing, so it is difficult to tell which tee pad you should pick (although it remedies itself somewhat if you just play each one twice). We used the course map online to help. EDIT 11/25/13 - now there are hole signs, but the distances are wildly inaccurate...so its almost as bad as not having them

Difficult to see some of the baskets...especially some of the alternate ones.

The basket behind the trees on hole 1 is a bit ridiculous...that approach is a bit of a gimmick. That basket has now been moved.

The new hole signs are wildly inaccurate on some holes...that's pretty disappointing

Because it is a 9 basket loop, the course can get crowded with only a small number of groups on the course.

Lots of roads and parking areas are close to the course...I had an errant throw which got my disk ran over. It requires you to occasionally be mindful of traffic on your throws. It is also frustrating to have to cross relatively busy residential roads after almost every hole.

Edit: The concrete tee pads are in a bit of disarray on a few of the holes and could definitely use some TLC...especially #3.
Other Thoughts: Very well designed and well thought out layout combined with well kept course makes this very enjoyable and quick to play.

This is one of the best 9 basket courses that I've seen.

Edit: After playing this course multiple more times...I am always reminded of one thing. How bad the 1st/10th hole basket placement is. 300 ft to a wall of inpenetrable trees with only a 2 foot opening...that is just silly and not really sporting.

Edit: It now looks like the basket on 1/10 has been moved well left, assumedly to the alternate position. Here is to hoping it stays there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    3/21/2012   3/24/2012
Review By: bacord18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is pretty beginner friendly. Most of the holes are wide open and the bushes aren't too thick. The baskets are moved around every once in a while to change things up. Very easy to navigate (its a circle).
Cons: Since this is on a traffic circle, you have to cross a street after every hole. Course can become very crowded since there are only 9 holes. Bees everywhere! There are hundreds of azalea bushes that attact bees, so be careful (no pun). Signs need to be replaced on some holes. Some tee boxes are cracked.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for a free course. It is pretty fun to play with some friends. Definitely a good course to start, if you have never played disc golf before.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  nice n easy

1    11/12/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: ryborg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: most fairways are pretty open, no mandos or close trees to the tees. All of the open space makes drives fairly easy. No crazy hard shots at all. Definitely not an advanced course. Big plus is that it is hard to lose a disc. No water hazards.
Cons: 9 baskets, 18 tees. surrounded by roads on both sides, all of the time. So, you might pop a car if you're not careful. Some of the yardages didn't seem accurate, but whatever. All tees are concrete, but many of them were cracked and busted.
Other Thoughts: not hard to find, but I did have an issue determining where the first tee was. I would definitely play again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a good round(circle)

1    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: discslinger02
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I like that Park Circle features a 9 hole course with alternate tee's. All of the tee's are concrete and navigation is very easy. The course is fairly challenging for newer to intermediate players and has a decent amount of trees. All of the goals are in great shape and are all discatchers. The course is all par 3 and features hole 8 which to me is the signature hole, with a dog-right around a huge tree.
Cons: The cons to me, is having to cross a road from one hole to the next. It is easy to place a disc in the road if you are not careful.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Three Sixty

1    5/4/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 37.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great exposure for disc golf, since it's in a very busy public park. The disc golf course surrounds the rest of the park, so many park patrons notice the disc golfers and may peak their interest to try the game out.

A one of a kind design, since it's a big circle. This means you can basically start at any hole, given that you will ultimately come right back where you started. This also provides dealing with wind conditions from all angles, that should ultimately help your game.

Two nice concrete tee pads per the nine baskets, with accompanying tee signs, providing basic hole and distance information. There is a very small chance of losing a disc here.

The course and park were beautiful and well maintained. Grass was mowed, nicely landscaped and very clean. Restrooms at the community center.
Cons: Due to the fact there is only nine baskets, when the course gets crowded, the pace of play comes to a standstill. Back ups on each hole, and there isn't really a place to bypass a slow group in front of you. Also, if there is an activity at the community center, parking will be more difficult, and non disc golfer could wander on the course.

As mentioned many times, you have to cross the street between most holes. This isn't ideal if you are playing with children. During rush hour, you need to be extra careful.

Most holes seem too similar. The basic difference between the duel tees is the angle to the basket, for the most part. Holes are also restricted on their length by the roads surrounding them.

A really bad shot could potentially end up in the street, especially for new players or on really windy days. Watch here at the 3:47 mark for the perfect example.
Other Thoughts: The unique design of the big circle is interesting, you won't play on many of these. It's more of a beginner to intermediate course, since the available land can't produce longer holes. It's a perfect course to bring new players too, or play a quick round before your child's ball game starts.

The potential exposure this course can bring to new players is it's best asset. Not too difficult or time consuming for new players, which should encourage them to come back again and again.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/8/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: rexdp10
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: flowers are blooming, grass is turning green! great place to be on a nice warm spring day. holes are shorter(250-350) but allow different lines from both sets of tees. There are definitely "go-for-it" lines and easy bail out lines on a lot of the holes. If you don't make the shot and get stuck in the thick azaleas then a 3 isn't guaranteed!
Cons: crazy drivers...always look before crossing streets!!!
Other Thoughts:

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Park Circle

2-4    1/3/2011   1/4/2011
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 112  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's great urban disc golf. With nine baskets and eighteen tees, the course flows well from hole to hole, and it's in a pretty urban park with plenty of amenities. Who ever came up with the idea of putting a course here should be commended, because it fits great in the space. Compared to the other courses in the area, it's the one that has the least chance of losing a disc, being as open as it is, and having no water in play, and overall it's an enjoyable experience.

There are lots of birdie opportunities to be had, if you can hit your lines. A little variety of left, right, and straight holes are represented at Park Circle. Once again, I'll say that the course is a great fit into the available space, and excellent use has been made of the available land, what there is of it.
Cons: The holes seem repetitive at times due to the course's location around the outside of a great big traffic circle with a park in the middle. I would have also liked a little more variety on the lengths. Most every hole seemed to be about the same distance, and the distances listed on the tee signs were often very wrong. This could have been due to alternate pin positions being in play, but that should also be noted on the signs, if you're going to go to the trouble of putting distances up on a sign. Also, not really a con, just a heads up for those not so navigationally inclined, I missed a hole (6/15) when I went back after six months to play it a second time. I found it a couple days later, the third time through, though.

I was not a fan of the tees. Even though they were concrete, most were too small for my tastes, and many had an "ankle roll waiting to happen" drop off at the front. About two to three more feet of concrete at the rear of the pads would have been great, even if a few of the pads were on the narrow side. One pad was pretty broken up and in rough shape.

You are always playing relatively near a road, not enough to really influence your throw, but near enough to possibly be an issue on a really errant throw. You never have any sense of seclusion, or being out in nature on the course, due to the location, and proximity of the roads.
Other Thoughts: There were only a couple of benches and trash cans out on the course, and as already mentioned, the tee signs were often less than accurate on the distance. There are restrooms, a playground, baseball fields, picnic tables, and other amenities in the middle of the park, which the course plays around. I would recommend plenty of sunscreen for the warmer months, as open as it is. It's easy to locate, not too far from I-26 or I-526, with lots of convenience stores and fast food nearby.

Random observation: two of the three times I've been there, I've gotten caught waiting on a long, slow train on Montague Avenue, once on the way in and once on the way out.

Park Circle is a nice course, and fun to play. I'm sure I'll end up playing it again at some point, but while it's a good course to hit up if you're in the area, it's not a destination worthy course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.