North Charleston, SC 
Park Circle DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers  
Course Sign



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Play a round or play around.

2-4    10/22/2011   1/1/2011
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park Circle is located in around a recreation facility. It plays on the outer perimeter of the traffic circle.
-Wide and lengthy fairways. 250-372ft in length
-Bulletin Board@first tee
-Very nice scenery, the park itself is very enjoyable to take in.
-It is segregated from foot traffic and other park activities. (...though it's not a 100% guarantee)
-Has its challenges, yet it is not difficult.
-Despite being counted as a 9 hole course, the multiple tee's are situated to where it plays nicely as an 18
-Well maintained and clean. Garbage cans located throughout the course.
-Concrete tee pads and signs on most holes. (Signs consist of hole # and Distance only)
-Perfect for beginners, and still fun for advanced players.
-Extremely easy to navigate, and plays back to the starting point.
-Easy to locate
-The people I met at the course were very nice and friendly.
-One has the option of a quick 9 holes if necessary, (i.e. Lunch Break, before work, etc)
-Excellent pin locations. Some Pins are tucked around corners, behind bushes, or in the midst of a cluster of trees.
-Park Circle requires one to think about how to approach the basket. There are a variety of lines and obstacles to play around.
-Multiple pin placements
-Good "Fun Factor"
Cons: -Some of the pins can be hard to locate, due to them being located behind bushes, and trees. (first time issue only) Though you won't need it for navigation, a map could be handy for locating the pins.
-No way of knowing which position the pins are in. (I didn't see anything to let me know).
-No bathrooms or port-a-jons. I could have used one! (If there is, and I didn't see them, let me know.)
-Course is subject to congestion. Bottlenecks can really become an issue. I ended up joining the group in front of me. Since they were waiting on the group ahead of them to finish, and I was trying to stay ahead of the people behind me.
-Two tees per basket: Though, the pin placement is fine, you may run into a situation where you are teeing off on the same basket as someone else. When we were on 17, people were waiting for us on 8. They share the fairway.
-Holes #5 and #6 share an block. It's could be very easy to go from 5 to 7 and not realize you just skipped 6. As repetitive as the course gets, it's easy to forget which hole you are on.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It's a unique experience to play on the circle. Park Circle is the kind of course that you play, when you just want to grab your discs and have a fun enjoyable round. It's not extremely difficult, but the obstacles and distance will still offer up a satisfying challenge. Park Circle's "Fun Factor" had me wishing I had time for a second round. It's very easy to find, and makes for a very nice quick stop if you are traveling.

This is the kind of course that is for everyone to enjoy, including DG and Non-DG players alike. One could very easily take in a quick round over a lunch break. This is not necessarily a destination course, per say, but it is a course well worth playing. If you are coming to Charleston, allow yourself enough time to take in a round at Park Circle. You'll have fun, and you'll be on your way to the next course in no time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Everytime !!

5+    7/22/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Link
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick Review!
So much fun. Can throw hard every drive. Enough trees and brush to make hard on approach, but every hole has enough issues to use strategy.
Cons: Crossing roads! NOT A LOT OF CARS THANK GOD.
Might have to wait for a few cars from time to time, but its not really a factor. Never thrown it in the road but, if you have a horrible throw it could happen.
Other Thoughts: I could play this course everyday and never get bored. Ok maybe a little bit, but its always fun to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A "Round" of Disc Golf

2-4    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is pretty easy to follow. Since it plays around the outside of a traffic circle. You'll end up just walking around in a circle from hole to hole. If you are somewhat decent the traffic doesn't present a problem for hitting cars or being in the street much. I thought the course was very well taken care of, from the grass, bushes and trees, to the tee box and overall grounds. The baskets were well protected by trees and bushes(which some people might not like) but it really added strategy around the hole. All concrete tee boxes, and some holes felt totally different on the back 9 even though you end up shooting at the same basket as the front nine. Baskets were all in great shape.
Cons: Even though I said the traffic really wasn't an issue, I'd rather not be so close to moving vehicles, especially since you have to cross the street 8 times per 9 holes (although traffic isn't bad). Locals didn't seem to be big on letting a fast group by, and there were at least two groups of 7+ playing super slow. (I have no problem with big groups having fun, but let people play past you). No real birdie opportunites for the non-advanced, non-pro players. We made one birdie between 3 players over 3 rounds. Pretty much every hole uses the maximum amount of room given in that section.
Other Thoughts: Going in I thought I'd hate this course, but I was very pleased at the result. Next time I'm down in Charleston I'm sure my friend and I will hit this course. If your a decent player you can crank out 18 in probably an hour.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Playing the circle!

5+    4/1/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park Circle is a very fast, fun course in the Charleston area.

1) No water hazzards.
2) No wildlife problems, with it being in the city.
3) Free admission.
4) Professional style PAR 3 coures.(PDGA)
5) Fun for beginners, but still difficult enough for better players.
6) Alot of trees to help prevent golf disc from flying into roads.
7) All tee's are now concrete (end of 2009)
8) Tuesday Doubles every week.
Cons: 1) Crossing the street from one course to another is difficult in heavier traffic (5pm).
2) Noisy with the motorist driving by.
3) All PAR 3's, can be difficult for weaker players.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course, Trophy Lakes is the other major course in Charleston.
I uploaded a custom Map/Scorecard combo to the link-file for this course...enjoy!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Frequenter

5+    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: Shodai
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Learned to play here and have taught a couple of others here as well. Great place for beginners and for improving your game. Long position on hole number 5 is fun to play as it sits under a tree and is hard to hit but possible to ace as is the short position on the same hole. Hole 6 is what myself and a couple of my friends affectionately call the "Gauntlet" as it sits at the end of a fairway with a tree line down the middle and both sides. Different pin positions make it interesting. Trees close to some tees add laughs to the game as some players WILL add their notches to the pine bark surfaces. All tees are now concrete pads. No more natural tees. I think everyone will enjoy this course.
Cons: All par 3's. Some people think that some holes shoud be par 4's but I disagree. Too short a course for that. Because of its limitations due to streets, it really cant get any bigger for longer holes. Hole number 15 tee position sucks as it sits a little further back behind 6's tee making the tree line almost impossible to miss. A beginner will never find the clear area of flight. The old 15 was better but it was too close to the #5 basket so they had to move it for safety reasons. I understand this and look at it as an opportunity to improve my game to play the new tee better. Advanced players and pros may find this course less challenging and possibly boring but its deffinately great play to get in a quick 9 - 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Will continue to play this course till I cant throw anymore. I love it and its fun to play every time. If you ever get bored with it, just go out there on windy day.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Basic 9 hole course

2-4    10/11/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: Angus2053
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the fact most fairways are open making it a fun course to let it rip off the tee. Like the fact that there are multiple tee boxes for each hole, in a sense making it an 18 hole course.
Cons: The par for each hole is set at 3 and that seems to work on most holes, but there are a couple that should be a 4. Not all tees are concrete.
Other Thoughts: I think the course could be better if all tees were concrete and not dirt.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Taste of Charleston

5+    10/2/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 23 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with enough challenge to keep it interesting. You can go low and make birdies.
Alternative baskets help with the variety. I love this course and the roads seem to dissapear when I am playing.
Cons: Would be nice to get all concrete pads. As stated by others there are 18 concrete pads. They are a litle short, but if you need more length you can easily step onto.
Other Thoughts: This is really the first course in Charleston and has helped the sport grow here.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just going in circles

1    8/16/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: By the nature of the course's design (circling a large round-a-bout), it makes it possible to basically start your round at an earlier or later hole if there is a large group of people at #1. This layout also makes it fairly difficult for someone new to the course to get lost. Also, there is little underbrush and no water hazards to worry about losing a disc in.
Cons: Once you get started, it feels like a pretty standard hole layout and course design. There is no real standout hole(s). The fact that the course surrounds a large traffic circle and is part of a public course puts it right in the middle of a lot of commotion. You'll constantly hear and see traffic around you, and you'll have to deal with pedestrians along all of the neighborhood sidewalks. If you're like me, the thought of hitting a parked car of a passer-by can sometimes subconsciously cause you to overcompensate in your throws, making for a miserable round, as you can never get away from that. i.e. - The cons of the course recur from hole to hole, so if you're going to play, better get used to it.
Other Thoughts: As I am just visiting the area, I know what it's like to only have time to hit up just a course or two. Fortunately, I was able to play this course and Trophy Lakes, and I can confidently say that if you only have time for one round in the area, I would spend that time at the nearby Trophy Lakes.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Love Park Circle

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: scfirechef
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of challenges for great players and new players alike.
Cons: Trying to find your disc in the bushes sometimes takes awhile.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played on and is one of the two courses I frequent the most. It's a good course for someone learning to throw different types of throws and a good course for someone who already knows how to throw to keep up their skills. I have never had any problems on this course and have introduced several people to the sport using this course. And they all have come back.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 PARK CIRCLE

5+    7/10/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: TSchneidz2
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained course in which to practice with new discs or really work on your mid-range game. If you are low on time, you can get a quick 18 in with no problem at all.
Cons: Constant traffic and you must cross the road between holes approximately 6 or 7 times. Roads do come into play in a few locations so if you are all over the place, be aware of where cars are.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.