Disc Golf Store
Hibbing, MN 
North Hibbing DG Park Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #2 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 246ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Historic, ENJOY the views!

2-4    10/14/2014   10/16/2014
Review By: Billy
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1st off, take the time to enjoy the views and to read the various signs telling the history of the site that this course is built on. ..... This is a nice heavily wooded, technical course. Some great tunnels, some unique basket placements. Look around as you're playing and enjoy how some of the old foundations are brought into play. I mean they moved a whole town. ...... No water comes into play. ...... Pretty decent signage.
Cons: Heavy woods = lost discs and bugs. I only play this course in the fall after the leaves are down and the mosquitoes and biting sand flies are done for the year. ...... #13 is insane. The most narrow window ever.
Other Thoughts: Pay attention to the tee signs. They'll tell you where the next tee is. A couple are a bit confusing to find. Especially #12 (across the street). And #'s 9 & 11 are painted on old building foundations. ..... Or print off the map from this site. ..... #18 is not in the old tire as mentioned on another post. That is now a practice tee. ...... Take a minute and drive slightly past the parking lot - to the Hull Rust Mine View Overlook. Free and picturesque.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lookout! No, Really, Itís A Viewing Lookout.

1    6/28/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is next to a beautiful mining area. There are a few lookout points and one is even right behind a tee pad for you to enjoy. This course has a "real tunnel" shot, lots of woods, a few open holes, great basket placements, and really uses the environment well. The wooded holes have narrow and wide fairways. The "real tunnel" hole actually has a concrete alley near the end of the hole to shoot through. The baskets are in good shape. The tee signs are fantastic. These have the aerial maps and they show the holes near by as well. The are concrete tee teeing areas for the short and long tees
Cons: The final basket has a silly giant tractor tire surrounding it in an attempt to be something different. It is more just a pain to retrieve your disc with it there. This is not a negative actually, but there are some tee pads that are painted out on some old building foundations. So watch for those when looking for the next tee. If you make sure you check the maps before leaving the tee, you should not have much of a navigation issue. If you don't keep an eye on this, you may get lost a few times.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was good. There were a few holes that made you want to throw again, if for no other reason, but to see if you could have done better navigating the trees. I truly like these types of holes. This was a really decent course and I would certainly play here again given the opportunity.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice History

1    10/17/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Tret4653
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the terrain and historical features of the site.
Information signs, benches, garbage cans and recycling bins at each tee. Racks to hang your bag at many tees, and junior tees in addition to Rec and Pro at a couple holes. Direction signs at most holes to guide players to the next set of tees.
Course takes longer to play than most because we spent time reading all the historical info at each hole, and checking out the views.
Plenty to do nearby if there are non-players in your party.
Red, yellow, and orange discs can be hard to find in the fall when the leaves are on the ground, but it does look great.
Cons: Several tees and holes have been relocated since the map was made, and the maps and photos were placed at each tee. It pays to scout the holes you can't see wether you've played the course previously or not.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Probably my favorite so far

1    7/6/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: Astus Vulpi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: NO WATER HAZARDS, the course is very well laid out, every tee marker has some historic little factoid that is fun to read about while you wait for people before you to finish up, located near the Knitting Knight Disc Golf store, a great place to go if you want to play a long 18 holes and do a bit of hiking at the same time, bathroom located near the 12th hole, maps located on tee stands.
Cons: Easy to lose discs in the woods, hiking makes you thirsty, takes forever to find a disc in heavily wooded areas (which is where it will end up if you throw it poorly)
Other Thoughts: If you are gonna play this course, be sure to have a few things to drink on you, especially if it is warm out. all of that hiking makes you thirsty. You may also want to stop into the Knitting Knight and pick up a scorecard and map of the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous Iron Range Course

1    7/3/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great looking course, multiple Cement tees and basket locations, good use of elevation, and historical significance. Pretty good signs that show the hole locations and tell you what pin it is. Gorgeous views, very nice locals. Not too many long holes, really only a couple. Mostly shortish and very wooded. Very easy to lose a disc in the heavy woods.
Cons: Most of the tee shots are blind. we played from the rec tees and still had to scout up almost every hole to see where the pin was, the signs while good are tough for a non-local to consider since you have to figure out where the pin is in relation to the openings (since on many holes there are at least 2 openings you could throw through). We played with a local guide and it helped, but had we been playing on our own it would have been very rough.
Other Thoughts: I thought about this review for a bit before posting as I played terrible in part due to the oppressive heat and humidity the day we played, and combined with the sunburn I got through my shirt in a couple places I didn't enjoy the course as much as I think I should have. I will be making another trip to the range later this year and playing again here, I may adjust my review at that time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.