Broomfield, CO 
North Midway Park Share
Uploaded By: mgcarney Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 142ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Thin Strip of Land

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Decent DGA Baskets
+Not a lot going on in this park so you can practice all you want. I don't think this park is busy as a DGC either.
+Playground and small parking lot, a few places to sit. If you want to bring your family here to get a quick round in, you can.
+Park is pretty nice and the grass is green. No garbage to be seen.
+Some (or all) of the holes are ace-able
Cons: -I did see a few tees, maybe 2, spraypainted on the sidewalk. It is an awkward walk from the basket, over the little creek thing to a faded spray painted tee. The rest of the tees were natural (non existant)
-Baskets are not numbered in the right order or not even numbered at all.
-No signage at all.
-You can see multiple baskets from every "tee"
-Virtually no obstacles at all. I think one of the tees from the sidewalk placed a single tree in the flight path.
-Very possible to throw into one of the many fenced in backyards on the second half of this course.
Other Thoughts: -Colorado is infamous for placing disc golf courses on marginal land that isn't good for much else. This is one of those courses. It also seemed like an afterthought with no markings. It was just baskets in a long, thin field.
-I can't recommend playing here but if you are a course bagger, it is a quick and easy play. You can get in and out and check it off the list.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of Metal

1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice manicured grass field, with good baskets
-The course was empty
-There was a random orange traffic cone in the middle of the course
-Good opportunity for some safari rounds
Cons: Ummmm....lets see where to start...
-No tee pads...though I assume that cryptic writing on the sidewalk with all of the random numbers was suppose to be some kind of tee pads but you would have to be that guy from the Davinci Code to figure the actual intended tee pads for the baskets, I suggest just choosing your own tee pads it is more fun that way.
-Well if the moons aligned and the huge coincidence of two groups of people playing the course at the same time ever happened they might end up hitting each because of crossing fairways.
-Hole 1 throws very close to a playground so use caution because the children are our future
-Very wide open holes that get boring after 6 or 7 holes that feel exactly the same as the last hole
Other Thoughts: If you enjoy safari disc golf or enjoy good puzzles at figuring at where the tee pads are then this is the course for you if not don't waste time. Unless you are really desperate to play..I suggest this is one course you skip.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A waste of 7 baskets

2-4    9/27/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: Leroy
Played: 130  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice quality baskets. Located in a park with nicely mowed grass. The park is usually dead empty.
Cons: Pretty much all 9 holes are the same exact layout. You go East down the one side of the park trying not to hit any cars and then loop around and go West up the other side of the park trying not to leave a disc in some one's back yard. Otherwise this is wide open disc golf. Two baskets could have done the same job. One to the East, and one to the West, repeat.
Other Thoughts: I read on here that some new tee boxes had been painted on and a couple of the baskets moved so I went back and gave it another chance. Still awful. Holes 1 and 9 have some new trees sort of in the way if you don't hit anyone on the playground. I looked for ways you could make it more challenging and the only thing I could think of was teeing off from inbetween some of the office buildings which doesn't seem like it would be appreciated by those companies. It makes me sad to see these expensive baskets used in such a lackluster way. More of a frustrating experience than fun. Hopefully the parks and rec dept will find a more challenging spot in town to relocate these to.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Boring Down & Back

1    7/8/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained with a playground area, small drainage bed that runs the park, and the baskets are in great shape. The park is very open and runs almost 2800', so it's a great place to open up and air out your long driver. This may be a stretch, but some might even enjoy the freedom of making their own tee box area since you can mix things up a bit and play some safari golf.

BEST HOLE/S: #3
Cons: This is a true up and back that is one of the most boring courses I have ever played. I don't know what is worse, the design or not knowing where the next box might be. First the design - think of the course as three diamond shapes overlapping a strung together in a long line. #2 and #8 play over each other as well as #3 and #7, which usually isn't hazardous since the course is so open.

Like its brother East Interlocken Park down the road, it suffers from another fatal flaw of not having any tee boxes. Is it really that had to plant a post with a number or something that shows where the box could be? The sidewalk has some markings, but they don't make much sense, so I recommend just playing basket to basket.

Also note that the pins for #3 and #4 both have a #3 posted on top. This is confusing for first timers on an already confusing course. With houses on the left and right, this is one of the first times I have ever thought a strip of land might be better without a course. At least if you're in the area this could be some good practice with your new drive r.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: Unlike East Interlocken Park, there isn't much you could do to ever make this a great nine hole course. The land simply isn't conducive to a good design, and it's too bad that Broomfield can't finish the deal and put in some tees - I don't think that's asking for too much. My suggestion is play the mildly better East Interlocken Park if you're in the area, or even better - go down the road a few miles in either direction and play Westminster DGC or Harlow Platts Park in Boulder.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.