Disc Golf Store
Broomfield, CO
North Midway Park Share
Uploaded By: gToe Hole #3
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Waste of Metal

1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice manicured grass field, with good baskets
-The course was empty
-There was a random orange traffic cone in the middle of the course
-Good opportunity for some safari rounds
Cons: Ummmm....lets see where to start...
-No tee pads...though I assume that cryptic writing on the sidewalk with all of the random numbers was suppose to be some kind of tee pads but you would have to be that guy from the Davinci Code to figure the actual intended tee pads for the baskets, I suggest just choosing your own tee pads it is more fun that way.
-Well if the moons aligned and the huge coincidence of two groups of people playing the course at the same time ever happened they might end up hitting each because of crossing fairways.
-Hole 1 throws very close to a playground so use caution because the children are our future
-Very wide open holes that get boring after 6 or 7 holes that feel exactly the same as the last hole
Other Thoughts: If you enjoy safari disc golf or enjoy good puzzles at figuring at where the tee pads are then this is the course for you if not don't waste time. Unless you are really desperate to play..I suggest this is one course you skip.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fast, Empty, Terrible

1    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course provides nice baskets as well as a properly manicured grass field. There was not a single person at the park. There are also a fair amount of long shots.
Cons: This course has no real design. It looks like it used to be a park, and they threw some baskets in the middle of a field. Despite being a small up-and-back course, it is extremely frustrating to navigate. There are no signs, no directionals, and every single tee box is on a single pathway that spans the entire park. These are not tee boxes either, they are tiny numbers spray-painted on the sidewalk and can sometimes be impossible to find. Once you're at the box it is always hard to tell which basket you are throwing to. We found ourselves throwing in the general direction of two baskets, and finding out which one was the true goal once we got closer. Finally, if more than one group played this course at a time there would be massive collisions and a lot a waiting required.
Other Thoughts: This park is a gigantic open field with poorly placed tee boxes and no design thought. If you want to get out and throw, you can do it here - but dont expect much.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/7/2010   5/18/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers a nice distraction from it's Fast Pace Surroundings. Nice Baskets
Cons: There is no real Difficulty & It's hard to Navigate even though you can locate All Baskets (Tee Pads are not marked). It plays Up & Down a Wide Greenbelt with little obstacle, outside the very small waterway (2 feet wide) than runs along the South Side of the GreenBelt.
Other Thoughts: It does it's best with what it has (but it has little to offer) The baskets are nice but you basically have to make up you're own TeePads. If you can stay out of the Tiny WaterWay, you can easily shoot Under Par here.

It's in a bad location. Reminds me of another GreenBelt Course, "Pioneer Park" , in Greeley, CO - If you live in the area it's not a bad option, BUT, if you don't it's not worth a trip on it's own!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A waste of 7 baskets

2-4    9/27/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: Leroy
Played: 116  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice quality baskets. Located in a park with nicely mowed grass. The park is usually dead empty.
Cons: Pretty much all 9 holes are the same exact layout. You go East down the one side of the park trying not to hit any cars and then loop around and go West up the other side of the park trying not to leave a disc in some one's back yard. Otherwise this is wide open disc golf. Two baskets could have done the same job. One to the East, and one to the West, repeat.
Other Thoughts: I read on here that some new tee boxes had been painted on and a couple of the baskets moved so I went back and gave it another chance. Still awful. Holes 1 and 9 have some new trees sort of in the way if you don't hit anyone on the playground. I looked for ways you could make it more challenging and the only thing I could think of was teeing off from inbetween some of the office buildings which doesn't seem like it would be appreciated by those companies. It makes me sad to see these expensive baskets used in such a lackluster way. More of a frustrating experience than fun. Hopefully the parks and rec dept will find a more challenging spot in town to relocate these to.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Stick to Interlocken

1    8/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 75  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has some very long shots. It is in an okay park. The baskets are nice. Hole number five is very unique. You throw from a platform above the green sludge creek.
Cons: The course is difficult to access with only four parking stalls. There are no official tees just spray paint on the walkways. There are parking spaces for the apartments along the length of the park that run the risk of getting hit. The "water hazard" is more of a 3 foot wide pile of green sludge. Don't throw into this. The course is poorly marked and difficult to navigate. The course offers little variety.
Other Thoughts: If you are in this part of town, go south a couple miles to interlocken park. It is a million times better.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  New Tees marked!

5+    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: BillyB
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New tees have been painted on the sidewalk that runs the length of the course. In the past - we had usually played each tee from the basket of the prior hole.

The new tees make the course more challenging in general by bringing new trees into play, etc.

Also - basket #5 has been moved.

Tees for 10-18 have also been painted. When playing the 'back 9' we usually play the holes in reverse order. (10th hole shoots at the 8th basket from the front 9, 11th hole shoots at the 7th basket from the front 9, etc. - which means both 9 and 18 shoot at the same basket).
Cons: Completely flat course.

Some of the newly painted tee boxes are TOUGH to find.

The tee for hole 5 is on the bridge over the creek near the playground. Look around after you finish #4 and it will make sense.

This means that hole 5 plays OVER the basket for number 4. The course usually isn't crowded so this has never been an issue for us.

If you're playing the 'back 9' - the tee for number 14 is on the path between the houses. Again - after you finish #13 it will make more sense.
Other Thoughts: The new tee markers make the course much more challenging in general - although the marks for 9 and 18 make this one a SHORT hole.

I wouldn't make this a destination course - but if you're in the area - its a quick 9 or 18. (we work in the area and can run through either the front or back in about 25 minutes)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Boring Down & Back

1    7/8/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained with a playground area, small drainage bed that runs the park, and the baskets are in great shape. The park is very open and runs almost 2800', so it's a great place to open up and air out your long driver. This may be a stretch, but some might even enjoy the freedom of making their own tee box area since you can mix things up a bit and play some safari golf.

BEST HOLE/S: #3
Cons: This is a true up and back that is one of the most boring courses I have ever played. I don't know what is worse, the design or not knowing where the next box might be. First the design - think of the course as three diamond shapes overlapping a strung together in a long line. #2 and #8 play over each other as well as #3 and #7, which usually isn't hazardous since the course is so open.

Like its brother East Interlocken Park down the road, it suffers from another fatal flaw of not having any tee boxes. Is it really that had to plant a post with a number or something that shows where the box could be? The sidewalk has some markings, but they don't make much sense, so I recommend just playing basket to basket.

Also note that the pins for #3 and #4 both have a #3 posted on top. This is confusing for first timers on an already confusing course. With houses on the left and right, this is one of the first times I have ever thought a strip of land might be better without a course. At least if you're in the area this could be some good practice with your new drive r.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: Unlike East Interlocken Park, there isn't much you could do to ever make this a great nine hole course. The land simply isn't conducive to a good design, and it's too bad that Broomfield can't finish the deal and put in some tees - I don't think that's asking for too much. My suggestion is play the mildly better East Interlocken Park if you're in the area, or even better - go down the road a few miles in either direction and play Westminster DGC or Harlow Platts Park in Boulder.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ummm… lets see… it has baskets

1    7/17/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
I had to search for something to say here… Uhhh… there's nice green grass and a nice little run-off creek. The Mach III baskets are good. That's about all.
Cons:
-There are no tees at all, and thus there are no tee signs or hole lengths!! This is one of the few courses I've ever played that doesn't even have tees marked. I guess you just finish one hole and then throw to the next basket, so it feels like you're just making up a course. This felt very unsatisfying to me.
-There's no fairway variety; every hole is straight.
-The course is almost totally flat and there are very few obstacles except for a small run-off creek and a few trees.
-Although the park has nice grass, it's in a narrow piece of land squeezed in between buildings. Going out (1-4) there are apartment buildings, businesses, and parking lots on the right side. Then playing back in (5-9) there are houses all along the right side.
-Even though it's for beginners many of the holes are too long for them; some are over 300 ft.
-On hole 4 the basket was mislabeled as #3.
Other Thoughts:
The course desperately needs to mark some tees! At least then there would be a consistent course. This course is best for new players, and that may be it's only real value. However, after playing here even beginners might think that disc golf is boring and kind of dumb. Also, they'll never be able to reach the long holes that are over 300 ft. I might take a first time player here to show them how to throw, but I'd be sure to emphasize that most courses are much better than this. For me, playing it once was more than enough, so I have no desire to play here again.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Course Played

1    2/8/2008   3/27/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the course I was introduced to the sport on by Luke (Luke@DiscTrips) so I have waited to write the review until now. This will not take into account the current construction items discussed in other reviews.

- The park was very well maintained and is certainly designed for beginners and is a great introduction to the sport.
- wide open fairways with no elevation changes throughout.
- trees are scattered and play very little into shot selection and difficulty (it is a beginner course)
- very quick course to play, even with a group.
- no map required to follow course.
- only shot at losing a disc is to a yard with a dog along the last couple of holes
Cons: - no tee pads
- no restrooms
- no obstacles
- no tee signs
- only 1 trash can at parking lot
Other Thoughts: Absolutely great course for beginners and even experienced players looking for a quick round. I would play this course with a mid-range and putter only to add some challenge.
I think a more experienced player could select some alternate tee pad locations to try and factor a tree into the approach just for fun.
This would also be a great course to practice drives in the open field when others are not playing. I would give to have this short little course within a couple minutes of my house. Very fun - take a beginner with you and introduce them to the sport!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course Under Construction.

1    11/19/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 20.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Looks like a sweet little course.
Cons: Can't Play right now.
Other Thoughts: See the latest photo. They've got the whole park torn up with ditches and equipment. Right now it's best to stear clear. There's another very nearby named East Interlocken.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.