Marshfield, WI 
North Park of Wood County Share
Uploaded By: danno Hole #12 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 255ft.   4 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Am Tee Marker



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 very fun, but usually busy course

5+    10/2/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 20 hole course in a very nice, multi use park. However the disc golf is completely seperated from the rest of the park activities, which is always nice. Two sets of concrete tees on all holes except 4B and 16B. The tee pads are still in very solid condition and are plenty big enough. Tee signs at all holes with hole #, basic hole layout, par and distance. Pro tees just have hole # and distance. The pro tees offer a good change in shot shaping on most holes. Hole 4 pro tee is the best in that its a downhill (slightly), wide open shot at the pin over a good sized, wide section of creek. Homemade baskets but they catch very well and definately get the job done. Trash buckets on most holes. Brand new, great restrooms right before hole 1. Nice big sign next to hole 1 with tons of useful course info on it. Very big parking lot, which is great since it gets very busy. Park is always well mowed and maintained. Navigation is a non factor here, the flow is super easy to figure out. Water hazards on a couple holes, which can be punishing too. They are still adding to the course as well. they removed a lot of brush and trees over the winter and added an alt pin placement on 16 last year i believe. Not too far from Marshfield (about 15 minutes) which has 2 solid courses. Almost impossible to lose a disc except in the water hazards. Pretty decent mix left, right and straight shots, though left turning shots outnumber the others. The bugs never are too bad or even bad at all here, which is surprising with the creek and river so close. It's free, with camping on site too. If camping here i'd imagine playing a glow round would be a blast. Practice basket with a putt 360 game right next to the parking lot too, always a nice touch.
Cons: This course tends to be very busy. Especially in the middle hours of the day. Closer to evening it usually thins out pretty nicely. I'd imagine early morning would be the same. Garbages tend to be pretty full due to the amount of traffic on this course. Not really any elevation changes on this course. You need to be cautious of the roads going through the park as its possible to smoke a car with an errant shot. Its only open from May 1st to October 31st. However i've gone when its closed. You just need to park on the road on the south side of the park and either walk to hole 1 or just start at either hole 12 or 15 and play the whole course that way. Hole 4B's tee pad is concrete but is about 4'x4',so any kind of run up is impossible. A run up on this hole isn't really required anyway so its not really a big deal at all. For expierienced players (or even me) the pars listed are way too high, so i play all threes here and still do well. Alternate pin placements would definately bump the rating up a half, possibly a whole as it would drastically alter the shot shaping. Hole 17's basket got mangled when they were removing trees last winter. they bent it back as best they could but its still a little funky looking.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course overall, not especially hard but still a real good time. Out of all the courses in the area this is the easiest besides wildwood park in Marshfield which is probably why its always packed. I'd recommend a round or two here if you're in the area. This course is so much better than south park of wood county in basically every way. Out of the two i'd play north park ten out of ten times. If you think this place is busy don't bother playing south park. It's 12 holes and you have to skip a few when its warm out due to people everywhere. plus its filthy....and super crowded and apparently nobody lets you play through even if they have a group of 15 (not joking).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I've got wood . . . county on my list!

1    8/28/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice park with many large mature trees to get in your way and force you to shape your shots.

2) Dual concrete tees are always a bonus on a course.

3) Small 4x4 wood posts with small signs indicating Hole #, Par, and distance, with a basic diagram of the hole shape.

4) Next tee arrow on the baskets to help you with navigation.

5) Large course sign at the first tee and a large designated parking area for disc golf.

6) Perfect Putt 360 is available as the practice basket near the first tee.

7) New bathrooms looked like they were not finished quite yet but would be a nice addition to this section of the park.

8) Alternate pins looked like they were available in a few areas, but I couldn't say for certain how many there were.

9) Excellent terrain for disc golf with slight rolling hills.

10) Awesome variety in shot shaping on this course making you work your disc both directions.

11) Awesome variety in the density of the foliage and also type of trees around.

12) Garbage cans (5 gallon pails) are available on most if not all tees. It helps to keep the garbage as long as people actually empty them.
Cons: 1) Pro tees on #4 and #13 are tough to find but they are there.

2) Brutal nobs on these homemade baskets . . . often times catching (and rejecting) a disc that would not normally be caught and kicked out. The nobs stick up about 1 inch and there is absolutely no need to have them there.

3) Sandy soil and spotty turf on this course leads to goofy footing from time to time and also the sand gets on the teepads making them slick and dangerous.

4) Lack of ground-cover is leading to erosion in spots.
Other Thoughts: This course was a lot of fun, it has nice variety, nice trees and scenery, nice shot selection needed, and is just a lot of fun to play. Wood county has their stuff together between here and South Park of Wood County (AKA WIllow Run).

I consider this on the high end of the 3.50 disc rating, but I couldn't give it the same rating as South Park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just fun Discin'

1    8/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: icedpuck
Played: 107  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Uncrowded course, play at your own pace. Friendly to beginners.
Cons: Flat
Other Thoughts: I do not have designs of being an ultimate Discer, I go to enjoy myself with friends! With the inexpensive campsites in this park you can go for a weekend and play the course a few times. If you're lookin' for a weekend of peace and quiet with friends that includes discin' this is the place to go!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A NIce Time in a Pretty Place

2-4    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was easy to navigate; there is a large map of the course at the start, and tee-signs and "next tee" arrows on most of the baskets. You can see discernible fairways for most of the holes. Eighteen holes, plus two "bonus" holes at 4 and 16.

Well maintained baskets and concrete tees (two for most holes), and alternate pin placement on select holes. Waste baskets are present at most tees, and the course was overall very clean.

Good design, with a mix of left- and right- turning holes, and open and wooded fairways. Well thought-out design, with minimal changes to the environment. Not too crowded, and minimal cross-use by other park users (Tenacious' review noted grills and picnic tables on the fairway in some places, this was not the case when I played today. I could see this being a problem if the park was heavily visited one day - the course is not isolated from other public use).

Many of the wooded holes have several tight but defined lines, and this offers a nice balance to the wide open fairways mentioned in the "cons" below.

A beautiful park, with lots of opportunities to see wildlife. Fun factor is high - I had a really good time here.
Cons: Another course where disc golf is "fit in" to an already existing park, and with minimal permission to change the environment. I know this is reality and don't have a problem with it - the more courses the better - but this course lacks the "feel" of a designed and realized course independent of other activity.

Tee-signs were present and accurate for direction, but will need to be replaced soon as they are clearly very old (see the photos page). Distances listed are not necessarily accurate - but this could be me, I didn't bring my tape measure.

Holes are generally short to medium length, no long holes on the course. Several of the fairways are wide open, though the baskets on these holes are cleverly protected, often requiring a third shot.
Other Thoughts: I have a great time at this course - it's a ways from me so I've only played it twice - it's got a good recreational feel, and its in a beautiful, secluded park forested largely by pine.

To me, the highlight of the course is hole 4, with offers the only real elevation change on the course. You are throwing down a mild incline about 250' in a forest of pine, which protects the basket from a straight shot. You can choose a left path over green grass running along a creek, or try a right path tight through the trees. Either way standing on the tee you want to forget you're playing golf for a minute and just enjoy the scene.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

7/1/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wide variety of shots are required; two sets of tees; difficulty gap between pro tees and regular tees is significant; concrete tee pads; course is generally easy to follow; poor shots are punished but your disc will generally be easy to find; nice area; some creative hole designs; risk/reward scenarios are found on most holes; nice tee posts list hole number, distance, and contain a basic map; first tee is easy to find since the parking lot is clearly marked
Cons: There are a couple holes that are bordering on being completely obstacle-free (mainly from the regular tees, however); baskets don't have any color highlighting and can be hard to see; you may occasionally have trouble deciding which basket you need to shoot for; some pro tees are hard to find; some pro-tee shots cross other fairways; small streams may be hard to spot; park visitors may get in your way (we noticed picnic tables and grills in some fairways); no elevation
Other Thoughts: We had a great time at North Park. We started by playing a round from the regular/short tees and enjoyed ourselves. This course won't give you that feeling of 'haven't I played this hole before?' because it provides a wide variety of challenges. The regular tees will provide plenty of fun, but this course is really meant to be played from the pro tees.

Some of the holes from the pro tees are excellent - there isn't much additional distance, but this set of tees was really well thought out. Most shots from the pro tees will require decision making. The ability to execute a nice S-curve with your driver, both forehand and backhand, is a must on some holes to even start thinking about a birdie. Distance control is also regularly demanded.

This course is better than 'good - 3.0' because it goes the extra mile with maintenance, a thoughtful course design, and variety. I don't know who designed the course, but it was a disc golfer that knows the game and realizes how to create large but fair challenges.

This course isn't quite 'excellent - 4.0' because there are some (although just a couple from the pro tees) holes that don't require much skill, there aren't any holes that require real power to hit par (over 500'), it's a bit short on space for its size, and while I'm sure the designer wanted it to be used exclusively for disc golf, it seems that the public may get in your way during nice weekend days

This course is one we'll remember from the road trip to Central Wisconsin. North Park is a very good course - 3.5.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

6/21/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: clearwaterdetail
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 2 extra holes. Nicely groomed course. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Good pro tee locations. Located on campground.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation changes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.