Athol, ID 
Farragut SP - North Star DGC Share
Uploaded By: SKizzUMATIK Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 238ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very Nice Woods Course

5+    8/30/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 75  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the easiest of the three, 18-hole courses at Farragut, but still not an easy course.

Nice variety of hole lengths from 171 to 445 feet. Good distribution of straight, left-finishing and right-finishing holes, as well as a couple of more severe doglegs.

Each hole offers a reasonable fairway off of the tee, but there are plenty of trees lining the fairways to punish errant shots. Once off of the fairway you'll have to scramble for your par and will often end up with bogie. Overhands and flicks can be handy to get back on line.

Good level concrete teepads, with a simple brown post giving hole number, distance, and par information. Longer holes list both a "Rec" and "Advanced" par. Each basket has a "next hole" arrow.

The course is set up for either the full 18-holes or a shortened 9 hole loop (jumping from Hole 5 to Hole 15).

Hole 12 has a wicked right dogleg that occurs about 50 feet from the pad. The basket is another 150' down the fairway, making it challenging to drive anywhere near the basket.

Overall, this is a solid woods course that is shorter and a bit more open than either Wreakreator or AWOL.
Cons: There is very little elevation on this course, so every hole is pretty much flat.

Because of the two-loop layout, the walk from Hole 5 to 6 is longish. Watch for the brown posts with arrows to Hole 6.

More detailed tee signs with hole layout would be welcome, but most baskets can be seen from the tees so this isn't the issue that it is on the other two courses.
Other Thoughts: Large parking lot that accesses all four Farragut State Park courses. Restroom and water available at the parking lot.

Practice basket and driving net next to the restroom for warm-up.

Excellent selection of discs in the park Visitor Center, with new Farragut State Park stamped mini's.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Northstar

5+    5/20/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome tune up for the other two courses. Lots of doglegs (both left and right). Very forgiving fairways with very unforgiving rough. Naturally beautiful.
Cons: If you are an advanced player or better, shooting under on this course should be no problem. Most holes are 300 or less in distance. Bee's in the Spring and Summer months are everywhere which is not necessarily a bad thing but sucks when you launch a drive into the bee bushes. Anyone allergic to them should have an epi-pen on hand just in case.
Other Thoughts: Always the first course we play when we hit the Farragut Trio. Definitely the course to take people who are new to the game or the family if you are just playing a casual round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 North Star

5+    6/20/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: Very nice course to start with first when you arrive at Farragut state park. This is the one I recommend you start out on if you have never played Farragut before. Being the smallest of the three courses, it allows you to get a good idea of what you will face on the other two larger courses (Wreakreator and Double Back Diamond aka A.W.O.L). A diverse player with multiple types of throws will fair well here as the holes are technical but the fairways are open and the distances are suited for beginner to intermediate.
Cons: Trail markers have been slowly disappearing (well defined trails though). Ground squirrels have made holes in the ground so watch your step and footing. No water so make sure to bring plenty!
Other Thoughts: There is a restroom on site..

  Great Course for Beginners / Intermediate

1    6/22/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: vsong
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the holes. Alot of the holes on Northstar are great shots for beginners and intermediate players like myself to fine tune skills. There are not very many long holes to make you feel like you need a canon to get to the pins. Alot of fineness shots are required. Alot of risk / reward shots.
Cons: It is in a national park so there are a lot of animal holes. Watch your step carefully. No maps for the holes so it took some time to find each pin but it wasn't to bad.
Other Thoughts: If you live within a few hours i suggest you go play. Its a really fun course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/23/2010   4/5/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like the next door neighbor, Wreckreator, North Star has a lot to offer in terms of variety with plenty of different distances and angles off the tee that run the spectrum from straight tunnel shots to nearly ninety degree turns. The rough on North Star can be a bit spotty at points but bad drives seemed to receive adequate punishment and force players to scramble a bit to save par. Both Wreckreator and North Star are blessed with the natural beauty of the area. There are tons of pines, a cool landscape, and usually a dry 'nature' smell that revives great memories of camping and hiking. I really wish that I had taken some pictures to upload because the course is very pretty. We visited on a hot fall weekend and the course was mostly empty (or at least felt that way). The fairways especially on North Star have very good separation and although several times we heard other individuals on the course, for the most part we felt that we were on our own and enjoyed the late evening solitude.
Cons: Par 4 or 5 anyone? Like Wreckreator, Northstar has a superbly solid layout but just lacks a hole or two which requires the player to place multiple shots, not just a nice drive off of the tee. There is plenty of space available and the terrain makes for perfect landing zones on multi-shot holes. I'd love to see a par four or five hole to add a bit of variation and also hopefully to coin that 'signature' hole every great course seems to have. This also gets to the other drawback of the North Star course, it is a bit on the short side. Although this is compensated a bit because you are often throwing a bit up and over the low trees, veteran players are going to long for just a bit more distance.
Other Thoughts: I haven't yet played at the AWOL course but of the two currently in the ground that I have played (North Star and Wreckreator), I'd definitely recommend North Star for the more clean and more maintained feel and overall playability. Both offer similar challenges and share a number of really positive features, but the end-result of a round on North Star just has that special 'something' that Wreckreator lacks.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/27/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: bdodson
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It was fun. Walk between holes was easy. We had no problem following the signs to get from the holes and the maps/scorecard were super nice. Awesome the only people out there were disc golfers. I am not that good so even when i hit a tree I had a good chance to par the hole with a good up shot. I think hole 1 is a great opening and we were not in the brush much at all. play wreckreator first!
Cons: Few trash cans. No cell phone service. no potable water source (bring your own). sometimes it seemed the trees were below you, and I don't like those throws.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place, three courses at one spot. Good job to those making this place happen and maintain it. I hope i can get back soon

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Am/Rec course

5+    9/1/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: Sean Johnson
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The main pro for this course is that it is on the same grounds as two other (and better) courses. Farragut park has loads of camping, boating, and other outdoor activities that make this a great destination. All three courses are generally deserted and the weather out here is great

North Star is the shortest and easiest of the three courses. Fairways are mostly tight and heavily wooded on the sides. There are some open holes, but the back side of the course can be pretty tight. There are still holes that are technical and very well designed, and some holes that let players air it out.
Cons: Signage and navigation can be a problem on all of the courses for first timers. Maps can be had at the ranger station.
While the fairways are not unduly wooded, the rough is often made up of dense stands of saplings that are a pain to shoot out of. They can turn a gimmie hole into a four with a quickness.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course is a great challenge for players that don't have a lot of power or are at the rec or novice level. AM2 and up players will probably find many of the holes a bit simple or short, but it is still well worth playing.

There is no water on the course and it gets hot in the summer. Also, there are many ankle breaking holes in the ground, so watch your step!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but repetitive

1    7/25/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 184  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was easy to follow, with nice trails between the previous pin and the next tee. There are also color maps, although at the check-in they did not have any and did not know where to get them. Nice signs lead you to the parking area, which serves as the hub for all three courses.
Cons: The signs had faded paper copies in plastic shells, and were hard to read. Those should be replaced with something that will not fade in the sun.

Many of the holes seemed to repeat: either a short drive and a right angle to the pin, or they were fairly straight and narrow. Given the incredible diversity of terrain and trees, it seems like it could have been better. But this is one of three courses, and a good one for folks just starting out.
Other Thoughts: I played on a warm summer day, and did all three courses, back to back. I needed a lot more water! None is available on sight, so bring a cooler and restock if playing more than one course. A pit toilet is on site.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great destination

5+    10/24/2009   1/31/2010
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rarely do you see anyone. It's not really a multi-use area, but a dedicated disc golf course area, with two adjoining 18 holers that can also be played 9 from one course and 9 from the other. Plenty of variety.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere, but the drive is worth it. Stay long enough to play both courses and the 9 hole pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: There are rumors of another new 18 hole course being added to the park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dogleg city!

2-4    5/24/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes including doglegs that go straight for 100 feet and then take a 90 degree angle turn to the right for another 150 feet or so. Most of the holes are under 300 feet but are still challenging because of narrow fairways and the previously metioned doglegs and there are a couple of holes to air it out on. This course is much more maintained than it's brother the Wreckreator and it was fairly easy to follow with plenty of places to sit down, be it a bench or a log. The teepads are nice and long so those of us with huge run ups are taken care of nicely.
Cons: Some of the baskets you can't see at the teepad so you have to walk down and find them which slows the game down a bit. Also there are random holes on the course made by the local animals which pose a hazard if stepped in.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very good disc golfing experience and there is little to improve on here. I went to the local market in Athol and bought a shirt that makes fun of the name of the town(use your imagination!) I prefer this course over the one next too it, also there is a small family friendly 9 hole warm up course that not many people know about that's behind where you park so if you are stopping by check that little course out too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.