Disc Golf Store
Athol, ID 
Farragut SP - North Star DGC Share
Uploaded By: SKizzUMATIK Hole #2 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 205ft.   -- / --   3 / 205ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very Nice Woods Course

5+    8/30/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 73  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the easiest of the three, 18-hole courses at Farragut, but still not an easy course.

Nice variety of hole lengths from 171 to 445 feet. Good distribution of straight, left-finishing and right-finishing holes, as well as a couple of more severe doglegs.

Each hole offers a reasonable fairway off of the tee, but there are plenty of trees lining the fairways to punish errant shots. Once off of the fairway you'll have to scramble for your par and will often end up with bogie. Overhands and flicks can be handy to get back on line.

Good level concrete teepads, with a simple brown post giving hole number, distance, and par information. Longer holes list both a "Rec" and "Advanced" par. Each basket has a "next hole" arrow.

The course is set up for either the full 18-holes or a shortened 9 hole loop (jumping from Hole 5 to Hole 15).

Hole 12 has a wicked right dogleg that occurs about 50 feet from the pad. The basket is another 150' down the fairway, making it challenging to drive anywhere near the basket.

Overall, this is a solid woods course that is shorter and a bit more open than either Wreakreator or AWOL.
Cons: There is very little elevation on this course, so every hole is pretty much flat.

Because of the two-loop layout, the walk from Hole 5 to 6 is longish. Watch for the brown posts with arrows to Hole 6.

More detailed tee signs with hole layout would be welcome, but most baskets can be seen from the tees so this isn't the issue that it is on the other two courses.
Other Thoughts: Large parking lot that accesses all four Farragut State Park courses. Restroom and water available at the parking lot.

Practice basket and driving net next to the restroom for warm-up.

Excellent selection of discs in the park Visitor Center, with new Farragut State Park stamped mini's.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northstar

5+    5/20/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome tune up for the other two courses. Lots of doglegs (both left and right). Very forgiving fairways with very unforgiving rough. Naturally beautiful.
Cons: If you are an advanced player or better, shooting under on this course should be no problem. Most holes are 300 or less in distance. Bee's in the Spring and Summer months are everywhere which is not necessarily a bad thing but sucks when you launch a drive into the bee bushes. Anyone allergic to them should have an epi-pen on hand just in case.
Other Thoughts: Always the first course we play when we hit the Farragut Trio. Definitely the course to take people who are new to the game or the family if you are just playing a casual round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/23/2010   4/5/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like the next door neighbor, Wreckreator, North Star has a lot to offer in terms of variety with plenty of different distances and angles off the tee that run the spectrum from straight tunnel shots to nearly ninety degree turns. The rough on North Star can be a bit spotty at points but bad drives seemed to receive adequate punishment and force players to scramble a bit to save par. Both Wreckreator and North Star are blessed with the natural beauty of the area. There are tons of pines, a cool landscape, and usually a dry 'nature' smell that revives great memories of camping and hiking. I really wish that I had taken some pictures to upload because the course is very pretty. We visited on a hot fall weekend and the course was mostly empty (or at least felt that way). The fairways especially on North Star have very good separation and although several times we heard other individuals on the course, for the most part we felt that we were on our own and enjoyed the late evening solitude.
Cons: Par 4 or 5 anyone? Like Wreckreator, Northstar has a superbly solid layout but just lacks a hole or two which requires the player to place multiple shots, not just a nice drive off of the tee. There is plenty of space available and the terrain makes for perfect landing zones on multi-shot holes. I'd love to see a par four or five hole to add a bit of variation and also hopefully to coin that 'signature' hole every great course seems to have. This also gets to the other drawback of the North Star course, it is a bit on the short side. Although this is compensated a bit because you are often throwing a bit up and over the low trees, veteran players are going to long for just a bit more distance.
Other Thoughts: I haven't yet played at the AWOL course but of the two currently in the ground that I have played (North Star and Wreckreator), I'd definitely recommend North Star for the more clean and more maintained feel and overall playability. Both offer similar challenges and share a number of really positive features, but the end-result of a round on North Star just has that special 'something' that Wreckreator lacks.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great destination

5+    10/24/2009   1/31/2010
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rarely do you see anyone. It's not really a multi-use area, but a dedicated disc golf course area, with two adjoining 18 holers that can also be played 9 from one course and 9 from the other. Plenty of variety.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere, but the drive is worth it. Stay long enough to play both courses and the 9 hole pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: There are rumors of another new 18 hole course being added to the park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dogleg city!

2-4    5/24/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes including doglegs that go straight for 100 feet and then take a 90 degree angle turn to the right for another 150 feet or so. Most of the holes are under 300 feet but are still challenging because of narrow fairways and the previously metioned doglegs and there are a couple of holes to air it out on. This course is much more maintained than it's brother the Wreckreator and it was fairly easy to follow with plenty of places to sit down, be it a bench or a log. The teepads are nice and long so those of us with huge run ups are taken care of nicely.
Cons: Some of the baskets you can't see at the teepad so you have to walk down and find them which slows the game down a bit. Also there are random holes on the course made by the local animals which pose a hazard if stepped in.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very good disc golfing experience and there is little to improve on here. I went to the local market in Athol and bought a shirt that makes fun of the name of the town(use your imagination!) I prefer this course over the one next too it, also there is a small family friendly 9 hole warm up course that not many people know about that's behind where you park so if you are stopping by check that little course out too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One Of Two Courses In Farragut State Park!

7/2/2008   7/10/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Star, along with it's sister course, The Wreckreator, are both located in Farragut State Park. The course plays mostly through some deep pine forrests. The teepads are excellent, extra long. The course is well marked. It uses the same little plastic "next tee signs" as they use in the campgrounds here. They're great for a disc golf course as they are flexible and just pop back into place if slammed with a rock or something. There are scattered benches for rest spots along the course. I think a lot of work has gone into this course constructing the paths leading from baskets to the next tee. There is a well stocked pro shop at the ranger station on the drive in, although the discs are pricey ($17). The course is basically level with no water coming into play. And the course is a definite challenge, there's nothing easy about North Star.
Cons: Watch out for the ground squirrel holes (like a praire dog, only smaller). At least that what I think the little critters were that kept popping up all over the course, I know they weren't elk. Might be a easy way to twist an ankle. I grew pretty weary of the mostly tunnel shots through the pines. It costs $4 to get in and that's only good for that day, not for 24 hours. I played late one evening and then very early the next morning and had to pay again.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 12 is fairly different. It's 215' to the basket but the fairway is probably 80' straight then a 90 degree dogleg right for the final 135'. So off the tee you have to throw a perfectly placed anhyser. It's usually the kind of throw you find yourself making after an errant tee off. Interesting?? Different, for sure!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Athol DGC

5/24/2003   4/23/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the middle of a large state park, surrounded by tons of pines and other large trees, bushes, flowers, etc. Being that it is in the wilderness, it is quiet and very peaceful. The fresh air and surroundings make for a wonderful experience. The nature and wildlife was abundant, and for the course itself, well worth the drive. This course has a warmup area with a net to practice drives (which I thought was clever) and a practice basket. There are few elevation changes, primarily flat with several obstacles between the tee and pin. The DISCatchers are in good shape and the cement tee pads are great for long drives. The course requires some tight accurate shots throughout, as well as several chances for power drives.
Cons: Although the course was well maintained, at times it was difficult to find the next tee, and the pin placements were often blind. I found myself having to walk the holes first to make sure the signs were accurate and updated.
Other Thoughts: My overall experience in Athol was very enjoyable. I was able to take in the scenery and play a solid round of discgolf. The hike throughout this 18 hole course was relaxing and quite rewarding. Discgolf fanatics will truely appreciate the experience that North Star DGC has to offer.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.