Disc Golf Store
Tahoe Vista, CA
North Tahoe Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
-- / 351ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Snowy and Fun

1    2/24/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice Hole Placement
- Easy navigation (Next tee pointers on trees were a good touch.)
- Not a lot of elevation
- Short walks to next hole
- Amazing trees
- Love a good pond hole
Cons: - Hike up to hole 1 is not long, but it is interesting that that it would not just start at 10.
- Missing signs
Other Thoughts: Only played back nine holes and 1.
- Signs were missing on all but 17 and 18. This could be due to winter.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rugged, Challenging Course, Alright!

1    8/17/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting at # 10 like the locals advise, I missed the big hike up to # 1. The course features a course sign at the parking lot, bathrooms, rubber mats, tee signs with pictures. The signs also had the A-B-C pin location wheels which I find to be very helpful although on this course sherpas would've been helpful too. The view from the top of # 17 is epic with Lake Tahoe glistening in the distance with boaters and para-sailers. The hole itself should be a world class epic hole if the basket were visible far below but with the basket placement in the far left position (blind) you're just chucking your disc down into the trees and hoping for a lucky break. I was very disappointed, especially after the EPIC climbs it took to get to this point.
Hole # 1 is a great hole. It's Epic or close to epic, probably 300' to a visible basket in a grove of pines far, far below.
I loved the engineering that went into # 8 with the bench and teepad being built into the hillside.
Many players will love the challenge, both playing and physical, that makes this course what it is.
Cons: This course had far too many design flaws for me to ignore. In general the navigation was sketchy starting right away after # 10. There is a par-course trail that intertwines with the course on holes 11-15 and that was confusing.
# 11 plays along a dirt road. I'm never a fan of holes that play along existing roads or trails or parking lots. (See # 18 and # 9 below)
# 12 sign was faded and illegible.
# 15 & # 16 were back to back, straight up the mountain climbs. Yes, they're challenging but no-one enjoys throwing uphill.
# 17: For all it's EPIC beauty, And it truly breathtaking, the actual throw into the trees was a total disappointment for me. Heaving my disc 400' downhill into a grove of pine trees with no knowledge of where the basket is not my idea of fun. ***NOTE*** I lucked out and parked it here for a gimee birdie. I still received very little satisfaction out of that throw.
I was even more disappointed with # 18. It's like 700-1000' downhill hole, then plays across an asphalt road and a construction yard. Does anyone think that's a beautiful hole?
# 6 was another hole where the basket was hidden. Playing here the first time, I would have really enjoyed this hole had the basket been visible. It's a beautiful disc golf hole waiting to happen.
Were # 7 and # 9 long just for the sake of being long? And is there a reason for # 9 to play across a gravel lot? I found it a sad way to end my round.
Other Thoughts: First thing, I admit, this is not the course to tackle by yourself the first time through. Spotters and a local to guide me through would have certainly enhanced my experience here. I would love to see some navigational signs added here and there. Maybe a couple less blind basket positions.
In conclusion, If you're looking to test your disc golf skills and challenge yourself, I recommend North Tahoe. Just be advised, the course is not for the faint of heart.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: Okiewildcat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a good use of the land provided.
Teeboxes were provided with signs to show hole locations.
Cons: Signs showed hold locations however they didnt highlight the current pin placement
Having never played the course before I had some challenges finding the next hole. I enjoyed most of the holes especially the 17th however I wasn't a huge fan of the lackluster 18th hole. I thought they could have used the landscape versus just throwing down a road to get you back to the first hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course wasn't as scenic as Zephyr Cove but it did provide a good challenging course within striking distance from Reno

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult but not impossible

1    7/27/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice tees, generally good marking/signs at tees, map handouts on info board in pkg lot. Good difficulty without being impossible.
Cons: For someone not familiar with course, very difficult to see pins from tees. We usually had to spot a person halfway or more down the hole. Maps on info boards at each tee looked like overhead photos, with multiple pin placements marked with distance. No marking of par, and these photos tended to be somewhat faded.

Sometimes difficult to figure out which pin placement was in place, and didn't notice whether all holes had "A" or "B", etc., placement.
Other Thoughts: A very nice course for intermediate/advanced players without being impossible (like some of the ski run courses I've played, e.g. at Crested Butte).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just a fantastic course all around. Great views of the lake and mountains. The flow of the holes is great. Plays both forehand and backhand shots evenly, makes you work for every hole. I really enjoyed this whole course.
Cons: A few holes we had issues navigating. We tried taking a picture of the map with our cell phone to follow it. I would suggest this, only issue is it seems would be half the map seems to be burned haha.
Other Thoughts: I drove up from Sparks, NV and will be making the drive again. It is fantastic. Ran into a guy from Austin, TX up there, and even that trip was worth it. Would highly recommend!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoe Beauty

5+    9/20/2010   5/3/2011
Review By: swin21
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very scenic course. Lots to do in the area. Camping close by.
Cons: Parking fee if not local.
Other Thoughts: Typical Craig Getty course. Great variety and set up very logically. Good mix of tight holes and power holes. Very scenic. Check out #17 signature hole. Second best hole in Tahoe vicinity after #15 at Zephyr. Worth the visit. Discers need to do the Tahoe loop, a number of very good courses. Enjoy!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wild Woodsman Golf!

5+    6/30/2010   1/30/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tahoe Vista is yet another incredible course in the region! Once you drive into the course and up towards to the parking lot, you can just tell by your surroundings some epic golf is in store!
The atmosphere and crisp pine scented air is stimulating and a pleasant environment to throw plastic in.. and the Holes here at Vista don't disappoint one bit!
Hole 1 is at the top of sled hill shooting back down and the view is spectacular! The pin was nestled between two giant pine trees about 300ft away at the bottom - these shots are always fun!
Holes 2-4 are a very nice mix of holes with Hole 3 being a technical long right shot with a drop in elevation!
Hole 5 is one of the many Signature holes I believe; shooting from a semi elevated tee out of the woods into an open fairway with both Pin Placements being very difficult! One is out and up another hill to the right; a very hard run! The other is about 700ft to the left with the soccer fields being OB.. in either position it's intense!
Hole 9 is another very unique hole shooting from a tee with trees blocking left to a Pin on top of the hill next to the parking lot. With the OB behind it, it's a rough hole and even rougher just to get a drive to get up the hill!
There's a great mixture of Holes on the back but the ones that stand out the most for me are 14, 17, 18. Hole 14 having a Pin placement on top of a dead stump that's at least 6 feet high, crazy putting! Hole 17 a giant downhill shot with amazing amazing views! "Top of Tahoe" views that are similar to Zephyrs! Hole 18 is a shot out of the woods into another open fairway, except this fairway is 600+ft long! Very challenging Hole with wind; needing dead accurate drives!
Other Pros for this course are:
-Bathrooms on site, BBQ Pit, Pavilion
-Great Baskets & Putting Basket!
-Nice Tee Signs
-Good rubber tee pads (Getting better with time)
-Always great weather in Summer!
-Truckee Regional 15min Away!
Cons: The only con is that it snows there half the year!
Can be frustrating for new golfers (not a beginner course)
Other Thoughts: How does Getty keep doing it? Tahoe is quick-fast becoming another golf mecca in CA! With King of the Lake NT being hosted there this year... it's only going to get better! When you go to Tahoe you get some of the most epic views on this earth, the largest alpine lake in North America and you get to golf there! Awesome!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The views alone make it worth the trip

2-4    8/28/2010   1/29/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes vary in length from ace-able distances, to a 1000+' hole in the longest placement
- Lots of elevation change, starting with a nice downhill on the first hole
- Mostly wooded with a few holes that realy open up and let you get some big rips
- Nice tee signs
- Rubber teepads
- Beutiful views of Lake Tahoe and the surounding mountains
- Multiple holes that could be signature holes on other courses
- Variety of shots required to play well
- Challenging
- Multiple pin positions that change some holes entirely
- Two loops that meet next to the parking lot so you can re-up your beer supply (or water if that's your thing)
- There's even a water hazard
Cons: - Walk up the hill to hole 1 (rewarded with the throw down the hill with the view of Lake Tahoe in the background to start with)
- A couple of places could use signs pointing to the next hole
- Could be a bit too challenging for players lacking accuracy or distance
- Water hazard can get prety nasty and brown
- If you shank it realy far right on hole 1 you could end up hitting a parked car
- Course can be slightly hard to navigate your first time, you can either get a map if there's one behind the board, or do like I did and take a pic with a digital camera of the course map on the board and just use it.
Other Thoughts: Tahoe Vista is an excelent course that just seems to get beter as time goes by. Alot of work has been put in just sence my first visit. Now I think it's a world class course that could challenge top pros as well as average joes. The tee signs are nice with an overhead picture of the hole showing all the pin positions with distances, when I was there last they were even marking the pin position on a piece of duct tape with the date. They have also done alot to get down the amount of manzanita on the course, not quite as much as at Zepher Cove, but they are working on alot of courses right now. This course is good enough that when I come through this spring or summer I'm going to play it yet again, and when I come through the next time, and the next time after that.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

2-4    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: JohnAmber
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Amazing views of the Tahoe area
* Good variety of holes and elevation changes
* Challenging but not frustrating
Cons: * It can be VERY hard to find your disk. I recommend playing with another person and make a point to watch each others' throws.
* Can be a bit hard to find your way around the first couple of times
Other Thoughts: Use your phone and take a picture of the map! It makes finding your way around this course much easier and much more enjoyable.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Epic challenges, epic scenery

1    9/19/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.8 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had been going up to Tahoe on highway 50 for so long that I forgot all about north Tahoe. The South Tahoe area had everything I wanted, great skiing, world-class hiking in the Desolation Wilderness, and of course several of the finest disc golf courses in California. Why go up north? Well, I finally did, and I am extremely happy that I made it to Tahoe Vista.

After paying an iron ranger and driving up into a nicely groomed park, one finds a big old sign explaining how the Tahoe Vista disc golf course is one of the finest examples of community partnerships and such. Nice message. The board is a bit rusted, but you could sort of make out the original map of the course, and imagine how nice that sign was before a few winters (and some vandal a-holes) beat it up.

The course begins on top of a sledding hill with a gorgeous view of the lake below. Take in big lungfulls of that wonderful pine-scented mountain air before beginning what I guarantee will be an epic round of golf. The course flow goes through a mixture of both long and short heavily wooded fairways, through a few long open fairways, and a good amount of up and down. This course really has just about everything. You need accuracy. You need a huge arm. You need to throw up, down, left, right, all in both short and very long arrangments.

The course ends with 2 very nice holes...Hole 17 plays straight down hill through a narrow fairway with an enticingly ace-able pin position in a clearing at the base of the hill. Hole 18 is a long fairway through an open gravel lot, and ending up way back behind tee pad 1. I don't recall the exact number, but this is a 1000'-ish hole.

There are nice bathrooms in the parking lot. Also lots of playgrounds and hiking trails around if you want to bring anyone who isn't really into playing an uber-challenging round of disc golf.
Cons: The course wasn't the easiest to navigate the first time around, but we didn't have to search very long since we kept our eyes open for tees and baskets as we went along.
Other Thoughts: This is a pro level disc golf course for big, accurate arms. The distances and accuracy required are pretty impressive, it made me feel inadequate at times, but my strongest emotion is to crave such challenges and try to meet them. This is not the best course for a new player, who I think would be very frustrated (rather than inspired) by the challenges at this course (I would instead recommend the Truckee course for newer players, which is only about 20 minutes away from TV).

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.