Tahoe Vista, CA 
North Tahoe Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
-- / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great variety

1    6/27/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly wooded property with some open meadows mixed in. That makes for a really nice balance of tight technical holes and some where you have some more room to air out a drive. Most of the open holes still have lurking brush or trees if you really shank your drive, some have pins tucked up against elevation changes or thick rough to make the short game more interesting. There are some nice elevation changes throughout, nothing huge but enough that you get some tough uphills and a couple fun downhill shots. There are some really nice views from a couple of the elevated tee pads.

The variety here is quite good. There is a nice balance of left and right turning shots of various lengths and shapes, I used most of the discs in my bag on this course. You'll need a well rounded game to score well here, and there's enough rough to really punish errant throws. The tee pads are rubber, and were constructed exceptionally well. All were flat and solid when I played, it's nice to see rubber tees done well.

The map at the beginning of the course is nice to have, as are the nice tee signs and some next tee signs in a few places.
Cons: Navigation is tricky in a few spots, especially at the start of the course even with the map. The routing is a bit odd, with a long walk to hole 1 that was easy to avoid by renumbering the course to start at 10. There are some really ugly holes here, with graveled parking areas and dirt roads across or along the fairways. Hole 1 brings the parking lot and park road into play on bad shots. The brush on some of the fairways was thick enough to lose discs in, that gets old pretty quick.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging and interesting course. A little work cleaning up the fairways and signage would make this a nice destination course. Beginners will find this layout pretty tough and frustrating, there's enough length and punishment that less accurate players without a lot of distance might get frustrated. Experienced players will find a fairly complete challenge of their disc golf game. I definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the Tahoe area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

2-4    5/11/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 28  Reviewed: 24
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of land
Front 9 is more technical than the back 9
Uphill shots and a few downhill shots
The landscape from the 1st tee box is picturesque for sure, bring a camera
If you are lost, there are great signs pointing you to the basket and arrows pointing you to the next tee. Playing 1-9 will bring you back to your vehicle for a snack and potty break before playing 10-18.
Cons: Lots of places to lose your disc
Can get busy, especially if you have a larger group on a weekend
$5 to enter the park. Guess this changed from the previous $3 we use to pay at the front gate deposit box.
Other Thoughts: Still one of the best courses in the Tahoe area. Combine this with North Tahoe Lions Club in Incline Village (just a few minutes away) and you can have a great day of discing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Snowy and Fun

1    2/24/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Nice Hole Placement
- Easy navigation (Next tee pointers on trees were a good touch.)
- Not a lot of elevation
- Short walks to next hole
- Amazing trees
- Love a good pond hole
Cons: - Hike up to hole 1 is not long, but it is interesting that that it would not just start at 10.
- Missing signs
Other Thoughts: Only played back nine holes and 1.
- Signs were missing on all but 17 and 18. This could be due to winter.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rugged, Challenging Course, Alright!

1    8/17/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting at # 10 like the locals advise, I missed the big hike up to # 1. The course features a course sign at the parking lot, bathrooms, rubber mats, tee signs with pictures. The signs also had the A-B-C pin location wheels which I find to be very helpful although on this course sherpas would've been helpful too. The view from the top of # 17 is epic with Lake Tahoe glistening in the distance with boaters and para-sailers. The hole itself should be a world class epic hole if the basket were visible far below but with the basket placement in the far left position (blind) you're just chucking your disc down into the trees and hoping for a lucky break. I was very disappointed, especially after the EPIC climbs it took to get to this point.
Hole # 1 is a great hole. It's Epic or close to epic, probably 300' to a visible basket in a grove of pines far, far below.
I loved the engineering that went into # 8 with the bench and teepad being built into the hillside.
Many players will love the challenge, both playing and physical, that makes this course what it is.
Cons: This course had far too many design flaws for me to ignore. In general the navigation was sketchy starting right away after # 10. There is a par-course trail that intertwines with the course on holes 11-15 and that was confusing.
# 11 plays along a dirt road. I'm never a fan of holes that play along existing roads or trails or parking lots. (See # 18 and # 9 below)
# 12 sign was faded and illegible.
# 15 & # 16 were back to back, straight up the mountain climbs. Yes, they're challenging but no-one enjoys throwing uphill.
# 17: For all it's EPIC beauty, And it truly breathtaking, the actual throw into the trees was a total disappointment for me. Heaving my disc 400' downhill into a grove of pine trees with no knowledge of where the basket is not my idea of fun. ***NOTE*** I lucked out and parked it here for a gimee birdie. I still received very little satisfaction out of that throw.
I was even more disappointed with # 18. It's like 700-1000' downhill hole, then plays across an asphalt road and a construction yard. Does anyone think that's a beautiful hole?
# 6 was another hole where the basket was hidden. Playing here the first time, I would have really enjoyed this hole had the basket been visible. It's a beautiful disc golf hole waiting to happen.
Were # 7 and # 9 long just for the sake of being long? And is there a reason for # 9 to play across a gravel lot? I found it a sad way to end my round.
Other Thoughts: First thing, I admit, this is not the course to tackle by yourself the first time through. Spotters and a local to guide me through would have certainly enhanced my experience here. I would love to see some navigational signs added here and there. Maybe a couple less blind basket positions.
In conclusion, If you're looking to test your disc golf skills and challenge yourself, I recommend North Tahoe. Just be advised, the course is not for the faint of heart.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: Okiewildcat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a good use of the land provided.
Teeboxes were provided with signs to show hole locations.
Cons: Signs showed hold locations however they didnt highlight the current pin placement
Having never played the course before I had some challenges finding the next hole. I enjoyed most of the holes especially the 17th however I wasn't a huge fan of the lackluster 18th hole. I thought they could have used the landscape versus just throwing down a road to get you back to the first hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course wasn't as scenic as Zephyr Cove but it did provide a good challenging course within striking distance from Reno

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult but not impossible

1    7/27/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice tees, generally good marking/signs at tees, map handouts on info board in pkg lot. Good difficulty without being impossible.
Cons: For someone not familiar with course, very difficult to see pins from tees. We usually had to spot a person halfway or more down the hole. Maps on info boards at each tee looked like overhead photos, with multiple pin placements marked with distance. No marking of par, and these photos tended to be somewhat faded.

Sometimes difficult to figure out which pin placement was in place, and didn't notice whether all holes had "A" or "B", etc., placement.
Other Thoughts: A very nice course for intermediate/advanced players without being impossible (like some of the ski run courses I've played, e.g. at Crested Butte).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just a fantastic course all around. Great views of the lake and mountains. The flow of the holes is great. Plays both forehand and backhand shots evenly, makes you work for every hole. I really enjoyed this whole course.
Cons: A few holes we had issues navigating. We tried taking a picture of the map with our cell phone to follow it. I would suggest this, only issue is it seems would be half the map seems to be burned haha.
Other Thoughts: I drove up from Sparks, NV and will be making the drive again. It is fantastic. Ran into a guy from Austin, TX up there, and even that trip was worth it. Would highly recommend!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoe Beauty

5+    9/20/2010   5/3/2011
Review By: swin21
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very scenic course. Lots to do in the area. Camping close by.
Cons: Parking fee if not local.
Other Thoughts: Typical Craig Getty course. Great variety and set up very logically. Good mix of tight holes and power holes. Very scenic. Check out #17 signature hole. Second best hole in Tahoe vicinity after #15 at Zephyr. Worth the visit. Discers need to do the Tahoe loop, a number of very good courses. Enjoy!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wild Woodsman Golf!

5+    6/30/2010   1/30/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tahoe Vista is yet another incredible course in the region! Once you drive into the course and up towards to the parking lot, you can just tell by your surroundings some epic golf is in store!
The atmosphere and crisp pine scented air is stimulating and a pleasant environment to throw plastic in.. and the Holes here at Vista don't disappoint one bit!
Hole 1 is at the top of sled hill shooting back down and the view is spectacular! The pin was nestled between two giant pine trees about 300ft away at the bottom - these shots are always fun!
Holes 2-4 are a very nice mix of holes with Hole 3 being a technical long right shot with a drop in elevation!
Hole 5 is one of the many Signature holes I believe; shooting from a semi elevated tee out of the woods into an open fairway with both Pin Placements being very difficult! One is out and up another hill to the right; a very hard run! The other is about 700ft to the left with the soccer fields being OB.. in either position it's intense!
Hole 9 is another very unique hole shooting from a tee with trees blocking left to a Pin on top of the hill next to the parking lot. With the OB behind it, it's a rough hole and even rougher just to get a drive to get up the hill!
There's a great mixture of Holes on the back but the ones that stand out the most for me are 14, 17, 18. Hole 14 having a Pin placement on top of a dead stump that's at least 6 feet high, crazy putting! Hole 17 a giant downhill shot with amazing amazing views! "Top of Tahoe" views that are similar to Zephyrs! Hole 18 is a shot out of the woods into another open fairway, except this fairway is 600+ft long! Very challenging Hole with wind; needing dead accurate drives!
Other Pros for this course are:
-Bathrooms on site, BBQ Pit, Pavilion
-Great Baskets & Putting Basket!
-Nice Tee Signs
-Good rubber tee pads (Getting better with time)
-Always great weather in Summer!
-Truckee Regional 15min Away!
Cons: The only con is that it snows there half the year!
Can be frustrating for new golfers (not a beginner course)
Other Thoughts: How does Getty keep doing it? Tahoe is quick-fast becoming another golf mecca in CA! With King of the Lake NT being hosted there this year... it's only going to get better! When you go to Tahoe you get some of the most epic views on this earth, the largest alpine lake in North America and you get to golf there! Awesome!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The views alone make it worth the trip

2-4    8/28/2010   1/29/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes vary in length from ace-able distances, to a 1000+' hole in the longest placement
- Lots of elevation change, starting with a nice downhill on the first hole
- Mostly wooded with a few holes that realy open up and let you get some big rips
- Nice tee signs
- Rubber teepads
- Beutiful views of Lake Tahoe and the surounding mountains
- Multiple holes that could be signature holes on other courses
- Variety of shots required to play well
- Challenging
- Multiple pin positions that change some holes entirely
- Two loops that meet next to the parking lot so you can re-up your beer supply (or water if that's your thing)
- There's even a water hazard
Cons: - Walk up the hill to hole 1 (rewarded with the throw down the hill with the view of Lake Tahoe in the background to start with)
- A couple of places could use signs pointing to the next hole
- Could be a bit too challenging for players lacking accuracy or distance
- Water hazard can get prety nasty and brown
- If you shank it realy far right on hole 1 you could end up hitting a parked car
- Course can be slightly hard to navigate your first time, you can either get a map if there's one behind the board, or do like I did and take a pic with a digital camera of the course map on the board and just use it.
Other Thoughts: Tahoe Vista is an excelent course that just seems to get beter as time goes by. Alot of work has been put in just sence my first visit. Now I think it's a world class course that could challenge top pros as well as average joes. The tee signs are nice with an overhead picture of the hole showing all the pin positions with distances, when I was there last they were even marking the pin position on a piece of duct tape with the date. They have also done alot to get down the amount of manzanita on the course, not quite as much as at Zepher Cove, but they are working on alot of courses right now. This course is good enough that when I come through this spring or summer I'm going to play it yet again, and when I come through the next time, and the next time after that.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.