Disc Golf Store
Tahoe Vista, CA 
North Tahoe Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great variety

1    6/27/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly wooded property with some open meadows mixed in. That makes for a really nice balance of tight technical holes and some where you have some more room to air out a drive. Most of the open holes still have lurking brush or trees if you really shank your drive, some have pins tucked up against elevation changes or thick rough to make the short game more interesting. There are some nice elevation changes throughout, nothing huge but enough that you get some tough uphills and a couple fun downhill shots. There are some really nice views from a couple of the elevated tee pads.

The variety here is quite good. There is a nice balance of left and right turning shots of various lengths and shapes, I used most of the discs in my bag on this course. You'll need a well rounded game to score well here, and there's enough rough to really punish errant throws. The tee pads are rubber, and were constructed exceptionally well. All were flat and solid when I played, it's nice to see rubber tees done well.

The map at the beginning of the course is nice to have, as are the nice tee signs and some next tee signs in a few places.
Cons: Navigation is tricky in a few spots, especially at the start of the course even with the map. The routing is a bit odd, with a long walk to hole 1 that was easy to avoid by renumbering the course to start at 10. There are some really ugly holes here, with graveled parking areas and dirt roads across or along the fairways. Hole 1 brings the parking lot and park road into play on bad shots. The brush on some of the fairways was thick enough to lose discs in, that gets old pretty quick.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging and interesting course. A little work cleaning up the fairways and signage would make this a nice destination course. Beginners will find this layout pretty tough and frustrating, there's enough length and punishment that less accurate players without a lot of distance might get frustrated. Experienced players will find a fairly complete challenge of their disc golf game. I definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the Tahoe area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult but not impossible

1    7/27/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice tees, generally good marking/signs at tees, map handouts on info board in pkg lot. Good difficulty without being impossible.
Cons: For someone not familiar with course, very difficult to see pins from tees. We usually had to spot a person halfway or more down the hole. Maps on info boards at each tee looked like overhead photos, with multiple pin placements marked with distance. No marking of par, and these photos tended to be somewhat faded.

Sometimes difficult to figure out which pin placement was in place, and didn't notice whether all holes had "A" or "B", etc., placement.
Other Thoughts: A very nice course for intermediate/advanced players without being impossible (like some of the ski run courses I've played, e.g. at Crested Butte).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The views alone make it worth the trip

2-4    8/28/2010   1/29/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Holes vary in length from ace-able distances, to a 1000+' hole in the longest placement
- Lots of elevation change, starting with a nice downhill on the first hole
- Mostly wooded with a few holes that realy open up and let you get some big rips
- Nice tee signs
- Rubber teepads
- Beutiful views of Lake Tahoe and the surounding mountains
- Multiple holes that could be signature holes on other courses
- Variety of shots required to play well
- Challenging
- Multiple pin positions that change some holes entirely
- Two loops that meet next to the parking lot so you can re-up your beer supply (or water if that's your thing)
- There's even a water hazard
Cons: - Walk up the hill to hole 1 (rewarded with the throw down the hill with the view of Lake Tahoe in the background to start with)
- A couple of places could use signs pointing to the next hole
- Could be a bit too challenging for players lacking accuracy or distance
- Water hazard can get prety nasty and brown
- If you shank it realy far right on hole 1 you could end up hitting a parked car
- Course can be slightly hard to navigate your first time, you can either get a map if there's one behind the board, or do like I did and take a pic with a digital camera of the course map on the board and just use it.
Other Thoughts: Tahoe Vista is an excelent course that just seems to get beter as time goes by. Alot of work has been put in just sence my first visit. Now I think it's a world class course that could challenge top pros as well as average joes. The tee signs are nice with an overhead picture of the hole showing all the pin positions with distances, when I was there last they were even marking the pin position on a piece of duct tape with the date. They have also done alot to get down the amount of manzanita on the course, not quite as much as at Zepher Cove, but they are working on alot of courses right now. This course is good enough that when I come through this spring or summer I'm going to play it yet again, and when I come through the next time, and the next time after that.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

2-4    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: JohnAmber
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Amazing views of the Tahoe area
* Good variety of holes and elevation changes
* Challenging but not frustrating
Cons: * It can be VERY hard to find your disk. I recommend playing with another person and make a point to watch each others' throws.
* Can be a bit hard to find your way around the first couple of times
Other Thoughts: Use your phone and take a picture of the map! It makes finding your way around this course much easier and much more enjoyable.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Epic challenges, epic scenery

1    9/19/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had been going up to Tahoe on highway 50 for so long that I forgot all about north Tahoe. The South Tahoe area had everything I wanted, great skiing, world-class hiking in the Desolation Wilderness, and of course several of the finest disc golf courses in California. Why go up north? Well, I finally did, and I am extremely happy that I made it to Tahoe Vista.

After paying an iron ranger and driving up into a nicely groomed park, one finds a big old sign explaining how the Tahoe Vista disc golf course is one of the finest examples of community partnerships and such. Nice message. The board is a bit rusted, but you could sort of make out the original map of the course, and imagine how nice that sign was before a few winters (and some vandal a-holes) beat it up.

The course begins on top of a sledding hill with a gorgeous view of the lake below. Take in big lungfulls of that wonderful pine-scented mountain air before beginning what I guarantee will be an epic round of golf. The course flow goes through a mixture of both long and short heavily wooded fairways, through a few long open fairways, and a good amount of up and down. This course really has just about everything. You need accuracy. You need a huge arm. You need to throw up, down, left, right, all in both short and very long arrangments.

The course ends with 2 very nice holes...Hole 17 plays straight down hill through a narrow fairway with an enticingly ace-able pin position in a clearing at the base of the hill. Hole 18 is a long fairway through an open gravel lot, and ending up way back behind tee pad 1. I don't recall the exact number, but this is a 1000'-ish hole.

There are nice bathrooms in the parking lot. Also lots of playgrounds and hiking trails around if you want to bring anyone who isn't really into playing an uber-challenging round of disc golf.
Cons: The course wasn't the easiest to navigate the first time around, but we didn't have to search very long since we kept our eyes open for tees and baskets as we went along.
Other Thoughts: This is a pro level disc golf course for big, accurate arms. The distances and accuracy required are pretty impressive, it made me feel inadequate at times, but my strongest emotion is to crave such challenges and try to meet them. This is not the best course for a new player, who I think would be very frustrated (rather than inspired) by the challenges at this course (I would instead recommend the Truckee course for newer players, which is only about 20 minutes away from TV).

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoe Vista

5+    8/14/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic.
A lot of variety on the course.
A good mix of distances and shot types needed.
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc on quite a few holes.
As others have said, #18 isn't the greatest finishing hole. It's a very tough dog-leg left, running through the counties rock storage area.
Other Thoughts: A really fun course. Some of the baskets are hard to spot from the tee, so it's tough to score well the first few times out. #17 has the best view of the Lake Tahoe courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Baskets in great shape
-Decent teepads (not concrete, but very good rubber with elevated forms etc)
-Kiosk/Bulletin board with course map & upcoming events at hole one
-Course maps available at hole one (take one!)
-Great course flow
-many VERY cool/challenging/interesting/fun holes throughout
-Lots of elevation change incorporated well into the holes
-Bathrooms available at hole one
-I don't remember seeing ANY trash on the course whatsoever, which was kind of weird!
-Great mix of doglegs both lefty and righty
-Great mix of hole distances, from 250' all the way up to 750'.
Cons:
-Manzanita on quite a few holes, take care!
-There was some construction going on that affected two or three holes a bit, they've done a good job of working around it, hopefully things will be well again after the construction
-Dusty (high desert=unavoidable)

Other Thoughts:
North Tahoe is an excellent course! I was really happy to play here and I look forward to future rounds here when travel permits.

The course plays much like a mini-mountain course, there are many holes with quite a bit of elevation (hole 17 is almost straight down 350' or so) and the course itself is at high altitude, so you get all those quirky differences in disc stability that you would from a true mountain course.

The plays very fair between lefty vs righty, and also between big arm vs. shorter technical shots. There were plenty of birdy opportunities throughout the course, and also a few holes that a three was a really good score. I loved the whole course, start to finish, and I after one round I can't really think of any way that it could be greatly improved, it's just good, quite good. My playing partner, who is an Adv Woman golfer felt the same way, she loved the course as much as I did, even though it played considerably more difficult for her.

If you're in the area, play this course! If your not in the area, I think this course plus Bijou and Zephyr might make an excellent road trip!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.