Tahoe Vista, CA 
North Tahoe Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
-- / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Worth the Trip

2-4    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: JohnAmber
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Amazing views of the Tahoe area
* Good variety of holes and elevation changes
* Challenging but not frustrating
Cons: * It can be VERY hard to find your disk. I recommend playing with another person and make a point to watch each others' throws.
* Can be a bit hard to find your way around the first couple of times
Other Thoughts: Use your phone and take a picture of the map! It makes finding your way around this course much easier and much more enjoyable.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Epic challenges, epic scenery

1    9/19/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had been going up to Tahoe on highway 50 for so long that I forgot all about north Tahoe. The South Tahoe area had everything I wanted, great skiing, world-class hiking in the Desolation Wilderness, and of course several of the finest disc golf courses in California. Why go up north? Well, I finally did, and I am extremely happy that I made it to Tahoe Vista.

After paying an iron ranger and driving up into a nicely groomed park, one finds a big old sign explaining how the Tahoe Vista disc golf course is one of the finest examples of community partnerships and such. Nice message. The board is a bit rusted, but you could sort of make out the original map of the course, and imagine how nice that sign was before a few winters (and some vandal a-holes) beat it up.

The course begins on top of a sledding hill with a gorgeous view of the lake below. Take in big lungfulls of that wonderful pine-scented mountain air before beginning what I guarantee will be an epic round of golf. The course flow goes through a mixture of both long and short heavily wooded fairways, through a few long open fairways, and a good amount of up and down. This course really has just about everything. You need accuracy. You need a huge arm. You need to throw up, down, left, right, all in both short and very long arrangments.

The course ends with 2 very nice holes...Hole 17 plays straight down hill through a narrow fairway with an enticingly ace-able pin position in a clearing at the base of the hill. Hole 18 is a long fairway through an open gravel lot, and ending up way back behind tee pad 1. I don't recall the exact number, but this is a 1000'-ish hole.

There are nice bathrooms in the parking lot. Also lots of playgrounds and hiking trails around if you want to bring anyone who isn't really into playing an uber-challenging round of disc golf.
Cons: The course wasn't the easiest to navigate the first time around, but we didn't have to search very long since we kept our eyes open for tees and baskets as we went along.
Other Thoughts: This is a pro level disc golf course for big, accurate arms. The distances and accuracy required are pretty impressive, it made me feel inadequate at times, but my strongest emotion is to crave such challenges and try to meet them. This is not the best course for a new player, who I think would be very frustrated (rather than inspired) by the challenges at this course (I would instead recommend the Truckee course for newer players, which is only about 20 minutes away from TV).

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, great park

1    8/21/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: chonb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Such a beautiful site, great elevation changes, and some epic holes. It's going to be a challenge for all but the best players the first time you play it, but it's definitely a course that will reward return visits.
Cons: Bring a map! Especially the front 9, holes 4-6 or so, can be very difficult to follow. There are worn footpaths to the next tee, but there are so many little paths that it's hard to know where to go next.
Other Thoughts: Great place to lose some discs because the brush is so thick! I just wish I lived closer to enjoy this awesome set.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoe Vista

5+    8/14/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic.
A lot of variety on the course.
A good mix of distances and shot types needed.
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc on quite a few holes.
As others have said, #18 isn't the greatest finishing hole. It's a very tough dog-leg left, running through the counties rock storage area.
Other Thoughts: A really fun course. Some of the baskets are hard to spot from the tee, so it's tough to score well the first few times out. #17 has the best view of the Lake Tahoe courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Time

1    8/11/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was a good challenging course and one that I would recommend for the more advanced players. It took a lot of creativity and skill to find clean lines to the basket. The baskets were good quality and so were the tee pads. Multiple pins with Signage are always a plus too. So were the bathrooms and drinking fountain midway through the course.
Cons: Wasn't fan of 18 which played excessively long when other pin locations seemed available.
Other Thoughts: We hiked/mountain biked from Regency which was a quarter mile north of the course. It was closer to our accomodations and saved us the parking fee. Plus we enjoyed the hike.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, in an amazing setting

5+    10/11/2009   3/15/2010
Review By: cjskier
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Amazing location, in the mountains of north Lake Tahoe. Incredible views on some holes.
- Good variety of holes, about 6 holes have decent elevation changes.
-Back 9 are really nice, tightly treed holes.
-Good layout around the park.
-Has its own regional online message board, http://northtahoediscgolf.ning.com /
-Can't say enough about the setting.
Cons: -Some holes on the front 9 can be VERY hard to find your disc, even with a spotter.
-Some of the rubber tee-pads are not very level and smooth.
-18th hole, although a nice long finishing hole plays threw basically the dumping area for the park.
Other Thoughts: -Definitely a must play in your in the area. But do your self a favor and play all of the Tahoe area courses to get a real taste of what disc golf is like up here. Every course is VERY different.
-Afternoon mountain winds can really mess with your game...
-Watch where your disc goes carefully when playing holes 2-6, bushes and trees hide discs well.
-Enjoy the incredible views on whole 17!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    8/29/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: mackabean
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Good layout -- the holes flow nicely from basket to tee.
*Nice variety - a few long holes, a lot of short ones, challenging approaches guarded by trees. Some doglegs left, some right.
*Great map -- someone did a really nice job of creating a map with an aerial photograph.
*Hole 17 has a great view of lake tahoe
*Hole 18 is a nice finishing hole
Cons: *Terrain -- this is not my favorite terrain for disc golf. A lot of low slung bushes (manzanita I am told) that make it hard to find your disc. And a lot of the holes don't really have fairways per se.
*We couldn't find the basket on hole 6 -- supposed to be a really long one across the soccer field.
*The altitude definitely got to me, not so much while playing but afterwards. Definitely drink a lot of water while you are out there.
Other Thoughts: *Not an amazing course, but definitely worth playing. And I think it would be more fun the second time now that I know the lay of the land and am used to the vegetation.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful!

1    4/6/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: Tragic Comic
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice pads, beautiful scenery - goes without saying in Tahoe. New baskets.
Cons: Next to zero markers. If you haven't played this course before, here's what you do: I took a photo of the very nice course map at the course entrance on my phone and man, am I glad I did. Without being able to reference the photo, I would have been completely lost - it is not intuitive.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. Nice people out there and plenty of other activities - from soccer to basketball to baseball to playgrounds. The course is only 15 minutes from Tahoe City.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Baskets in great shape
-Decent teepads (not concrete, but very good rubber with elevated forms etc)
-Kiosk/Bulletin board with course map & upcoming events at hole one
-Course maps available at hole one (take one!)
-Great course flow
-many VERY cool/challenging/interesting/fun holes throughout
-Lots of elevation change incorporated well into the holes
-Bathrooms available at hole one
-I don't remember seeing ANY trash on the course whatsoever, which was kind of weird!
-Great mix of doglegs both lefty and righty
-Great mix of hole distances, from 250' all the way up to 750'.
Cons:
-Manzanita on quite a few holes, take care!
-There was some construction going on that affected two or three holes a bit, they've done a good job of working around it, hopefully things will be well again after the construction
-Dusty (high desert=unavoidable)

Other Thoughts:
North Tahoe is an excellent course! I was really happy to play here and I look forward to future rounds here when travel permits.

The course plays much like a mini-mountain course, there are many holes with quite a bit of elevation (hole 17 is almost straight down 350' or so) and the course itself is at high altitude, so you get all those quirky differences in disc stability that you would from a true mountain course.

The plays very fair between lefty vs righty, and also between big arm vs. shorter technical shots. There were plenty of birdy opportunities throughout the course, and also a few holes that a three was a really good score. I loved the whole course, start to finish, and I after one round I can't really think of any way that it could be greatly improved, it's just good, quite good. My playing partner, who is an Adv Woman golfer felt the same way, she loved the course as much as I did, even though it played considerably more difficult for her.

If you're in the area, play this course! If your not in the area, I think this course plus Bijou and Zephyr might make an excellent road trip!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.