Layout Extinct

Jacksonville, NC 
Northeast Creek Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: riqr Hole #12 (Taken 2/2009)
4 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 My "Home" Course

5+    1/17/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course offers different challenges throughout. The front 9 are fairly short, but technical before you get a few very long and open holes where you can "grip it & rip it." Finally, the last four or five holes are again short and though not quite as technical as the front 9, challenging nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: Course is about to undergo a complete redesign, so we'll wait and see what happens.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northeast Creek Park

2-4    6/4/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 58  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first course I ever played. Not hard enough to scare me off. lol The first few holes were tight but they were well laid out for the space they used. A couple ran along the road and you needed to be wary of traffic (especially the beginners like me and my group). The 1,001 ft hole was just a grip it and rip it til your arm falls off hole. Not hard as the fairway was a mile wide, but it was cool.
Cons: If it's crowded you really have to be aware. I also hate throwing around a parking lot near people's cars. 2 holes are near the parking lot here. A good balance of holes.
Other Thoughts: I go down to Emerald Isle every year and this and the other local courses will definitely continue to be on my schedule every year.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Duck!

2-4    9/26/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety and use of land that is available. Good teepads though they are on the short side so are the holes so you don't need a huge run up.
Cons: Front 9 is crammed into a tiny place. During casual play it is not any kind of issue but during a tournament there are discs flying in literally every direction.
There are several baskets visible all at once and until you know the course you can easily drive to the wrong one, though this is a one time issue it does magnify how close some holes are.
10 and 17 skirt the official disc golf parking lot which makes your car a target if you park here.
Other Thoughts: This course was round 1 and 2 of the USWDGC and also home of the 5th round on a temp. course. It is a shame that the back 9 of the temp. course can not be incorporated into the existing design to make a nice 18 holer...this course could easily hit a 3.5 or better with that piece of land as there were some amazingly good holes over there.
The course itself is fun and kind of split personality in the way it works out. You start in a tiny (around 3 acres) plot that holds 9 holes somehow and all are tight shots with random old growth trees all around.

The back 9 is the long part of the course (for the most part) and mostly goes down a high tension power line path. The 1001 foot hole was actually quite fun and with the wind and elevation change you can get some big d...I threw over 470' (I average 280') and my wife threw about 350' (averages 250') so it is cool to let it air out with no real obstacles or penalties (there is a road and OB fence but the fairway is huge).

The course as is is a fun course and the problems it has more or less is for group play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: D'money
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Short pretty easy front nine. I used a mid range roc the whole time. No waits no pressure to rush. Neetly groomed.
Cons: Back nine is way to long. One of the holes is 1001 feet, long walk. Also your first time bring a buddy who knows the course or you will have a hard time finding your way.
Other Thoughts: Over all it was a fun course, very good for a beginer.

  

1    4/16/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: buck_poszywak
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
Cons: Terrible first couple holes. You throw back and forth across a small wooded field. Most of the time you are throwing right at another player who is on a completely different hole than you. Some holes require you to throw straight at a common road.
Other Thoughts: I barely wanted to keep playing after the first couple holes

 Traveling through, played

2-4    3/14/2009   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Nice change from some courses I've played. Neat, clean pretty well laid out.

I love the long hole on the powerlines.
Cons: A bit tight and close on the front 9, can cause some back-ups. Not an issue the 2 times I played.
Other Thoughts: REAL nice to see courses like this. I live in Maine and they are mostly wooded, and not much fun during the 6 months of winter.

It's a lot of fun when I travel to play courses down south, as most are free:)

 Get it while you can

5+    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of open and wooded, tight and open, long and short, right-to-left and left-to-right, and good use of elevation.
Concrete pads, good signage. Permanent Rest Rooms. Very clean course, benches and trash cans.
This course requires distance AND precision, even though it requires distance OR precision on most holes, not both.
Some long Par 3's.
Cons: On the front nine the spacing is especially tight. So much so that you'll have to wait to throw for players from other holes to hole out.
Can be VERY hot in the summer. Bring a hat and some sunscreen and plenty of fluids. Not much shade on the middle nine holes.
The tee shot on Hole 3 will take you over the driveway to the park, as will several other holes. Make sure you time your throws to avoid any vehicle traffic. Hitting a car or truck will not be taken lightly by the drivers. The tee shot on Hole 10 will take you over a parking lot, be careful on that one.
The navigation and flow could be better. The concrete tees are on the short side, only six or eight feet. If you have a long run-up, tee-box shortness might be a distraction.
I'd like to see some more Par 4's and 5's.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I like this course. It is fun and requires a lot of different shots to score well. It's not boring to me because there is so much variety in shot selection. I will agree that they probably could have done better with all the space that they use. However, I hear a re-design is in the works!
If you can arrange it, or if you can hook up with some locals, get a guide to take you through this course for the first time. It will definitely save some frustration.
The club for this course is VERY active, so you'll almost always see members playing.
This course also has a lot of family activity. There are always kids out on the course, so be careful that it's clear before you throw.
Hole 13 is 1001 feet long and is considered the signature hole for the course. It runs down a High-tension Power lane and goes downhill toward the water. If you can throw a roller, you may do well. It is listed as a Par 6.
After a mostly-tight first nine, the course goes down a wide-open High_tension Power lane and then back up. This creates a mix of right-to-left and left-to-right throws. It also creates a lot of opportunities to "air it out" and get some distance. Be careful of the wind coming of the water, though.
There are no water hazards.
I hear that a course re-design is in the works before the course hosts the Womens US Championship. It will use the wooded part of the park across the street from the present course. If you haven't played this course

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 2 distinctly different 9 hole layouts

1    8/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 holes were interesting. Short holes but winds through the trees and was difficult to get near the pins for birdie putts. I wouldn't call it a wooded course, but the trees in the park were used effectively as obstacles. Bumped into some local guys who were very nice and helped us locate pins/tee pads.
Cons: The back 9 is really pretty lame. There is an open field with a strip of trees running down one side. More or less, all the pins were tucked into a line running up and down the tree line. Then you played down the field and then back up the field. Long holes but the back 9 lacks creativity resulting in relatively boring and unimaginative shots. Don't be fooled by the 1001' hole. It's just straight down a really wide fairway with very few obstacles in the way. Very little shade available, so be wary on hot summer days.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 by itself would've received a 3 but the back 9 really is not worth playing at all. Thus, the overall rating of a 2. That being said, it was nice to break up a long drive east towards the beach with a round of disc golf. Any disc golf is better than no disc golf, right?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not what i expected

1    8/1/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: Lovan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Cons: lol the 1001 ft hole maybe i just don't have the arm for it but was quite boring just playing down the power lines
Other Thoughts: The front 9 is def to crowded for me really have to watch for other people playing since there are quite a few baskets near other tee's. Maybe i was just spoiled by the castlehayne course i play every week

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/11/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: JasonP
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course. There is one really long hole that really males it all worthwhile. I live 45 minutes from the park and I would say it is worth the drive. The locals are very friendly.
Cons: Dodging discs!! Carefull, watch where you go!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.