Course Extinct
Christiansburg, VA 
Golden Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 130ft.   3 / 192ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Rollercoaster

1    4/18/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Hit your lines, and be rewarded with ace runs and birdy opportunities galore.

Much-appreciated and oft-used benches at every tee.
Cons:
Probably not the safest courses to play after a hard rain - built-in steps at
the steepest sections help alleviate this potential problem.

Lots of trash scattered about.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length of ~200', 2/3rds of the holes under that, and only the final hole over 300', your midranges will be your workhorses on this course.

With the massive elevation changes and the many hardwoods defining the challenging-but-fair throwing lanes, control is of utmost importance - typically, the tighter the hole, the shorter it is.

With the steep walks on and between many of the holes, you might be better served replacing your distance drivers with a walking stick.

You'll encounter most of the extreme ups (1,4) and downs (3,6) early. Middle holes 8-11 offer a welcome respite as you play back-n-forth across a plateau filled with the larger hardwoods at the highest portion of the course. Cross-slope 12-15 work you slowly down the hill. Walk downhill, cross creek, turn left to find tee-16 for an up-n-over slope challenge. Cross mini-valley #17 leads you to a (relatively) long-n-open left-turner to take
you back to the finish.

Great course to challenge your mental and physical stamina.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 185  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little course. First tee pad is GIANT and a trapazoid at that. All "white" tees are marked with a routed and painted sign for direction and distances. Very pretty course with really cool layouts and pin placements. GREAT use of elevation, for such a short course, it will make you work. There are plenty of holes where you will want to throw your whole bag. Tight line management is a premium here. I really liked hole 3. 20' out and 60' down. There is a tree with a disc stuck in it. When you get to the bottom of the valley you look up and it is like 80' in the air. Attention to erosion control is amazing. Thousands of stairs are carved and reinforced into the hill sides. 3 "tees" per hole with signage. Benches at almost every hole and every hole tee. A pretty little creek runs through and come into play but not a disc eater. I shot -11 my first time through. There are birdies on every hole... and bogey's. Hit a tree and you can go farther down a hill than the distance is to the basket. Slightly older but still in good condition DISCatchers. Ace runs are abundant.

Cons: There are a few things that I did not like about this course. For 1, no trash cans. There is a huge Teepad on hole 1 but then no more for the rest of the course. The teepads are in rough shape. Few are level and many are even less than 5'. I think there is one that is like 3' wide and 4' long. It is a shame, that they are not at least regulation 8'. i would suggest removing a tee location per hole and carving out at least 1 6'+ pad per hole. I understand why it wasnt done...the holes are so short, and the elevation changes make for a lot of tee pad leveling. Erosion control was great and the stairs awesome, however, the posts used to reinforce or hold up the erosion logs and step backings were almost always not pounded in fully. On one of the holes (hole 4 or 5) there were at least 100 stakes sticking 4-6" up above logs and steps. These are Extreme trip hazards. And if you fall you have a lot of little stakes to avoid. this could turn into a really dangerous situation. Especially when you get momentum down hill and you snag one of those stakes. You can see where they are worn down, so people are hitting them with their feet. A day with a cordless sawzall or chainsaw trimming all these tripper stakes would really make the course better looking and safe. A few holes have tough to distinguish fairways. The portajohn is tipped over. Some of the blue tee pads were just silly...like 50'. The course in spots seems crammed. With as many trees as there are, giant 80-100' kicks are possible, many tees. baskets, or fairways are within 30-40 ft of adjoining holes. Another Con...is that I played with the leaves down. This course would be SO pretty in the spring and summer. I wish I had seen it then.

Other Thoughts: Bring your thumber disc, midrange, putter, and tommy disc. Thats all you need. I would have played 2-3 times if I wasnt on a road trip. Great little course. Clean up the tripper stakes and the tee pads and I would give it a 3.5. I reviewed it as a beginner course, but probably couldnt give it over a 4 ever, due to the length. The woods are great and it seems like the course is a little crammed. There appears to be plenty of land, I kind of wish this course was 2-3000' longer. Great job on maintenance.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/2/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Close to the Virginia Tech campus - home course for the Hokies!
- A short, technical, wooded course with many birdieable holes.
- Course makes great use of elevation changes. A great hike through the woods.
- Makes for a quick round; can be played in about an hour or less.
- There are several unique holes (particularly #3) that give this course special character.
Cons: - High traffic. If you play during the school year, you're sure to encounter other golfers on the course. If you play slow, be prepared to let the more speedy golfers play through.
- Short distance of most holes allows for poor tee shots to be recovered for par. In other words, consistent accuracy is not necessarily rewarded unless the accuracy results in a birdie. Not much room to create separation during a competitive round.
- The par for Hole 18 is understated. Very difficult for a good amateur player to finish in 3 shots.
Other Thoughts: - For a full day of disc golf, play Golden Hills and then drive over to the 18 hole course at Randoph Park in Dublin and enjoy the full New River Valley 36!

Score Breakdown:
Variety:2 Balance:2 Strategy:3 Character:4 Fun:4 Avg: 3.0

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees and Hills Galore

2-4    10/21/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best use of elevation and TREES in unison that I've seen for some time! I like the fact that they didn't have to use length to make this course difficult and challenging. The short tees looked fun (I played the long tees which seemed many degrees more difficult- not due to extra length, but due to trickier shots). A few of these holes are truly memorable (#3 that is short but goes almost straight downhill; #18- a nasty tunnel dogleg that requires much accuracy). Bring your gentle arm to score well here
Cons: Though I love a heavily wooded course, many of the routes here (particularly on long tees), start to all look alike- we're talking about fairways that disappear and you are looking at tiny little gaps between trees that begin to feel like you're gazing through a microscope-a little taxing on the mind after awhile. Some of these throws just seemed weird.

Signs are aged and very hard to read. This goes for many of the gold and blue tee markers - they are barely visible in many places (and I couldn't find blue tees on #2 at all).

Hole #5 - very awkward hole (perfect example of previous statement) - where is the "drive" here? A wall of trees with very little fairway.

Lots of beer cans everywhere - I've never been able to figure out why someone can pack it in, but not find the room to pack it out. Shames.........
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that will force finesse and shaped shots. Long armed people will want to switch gears here.

The course was quite populated on a weekday evening (15 cars in the lot), but everyone was kind and offered to let me play through.

Some crazy plants on Hole #1- I was looking for a lost disc and came out with itchy raised bumps (poison ivy or sumac?). Beware.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.